We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location-Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location-Needs Updating”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Nice view, clean room and friendly staff. The property has been well kept, but you can only "band aid" maintance items and furnishings for so long. Decent place to stay if you are in a bind, but would not be high on my list to reccomend to friends and family. Most of the reviews are very accurate on the condition of the property.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

First, the good points. It was clean.

Now, on to the negatives. I booked this place via Hotwire, and my experience has always been, if I stayed to 3* and above, I'm always happy. This stay broke that streak. It is obvious that this property flew under the radar and was inappropriately rated. Hotwire lists comparable properties as being Holiday Inn Express, Hilton Garden Inn, and DoubleTree. Let's just say that there were not warm cookies waiting for me when I checked in here. Haha. I've never stayed at a Hotwire 3* Motor Inn, you know the kind of place you drive up to the door of your room...until now.

Walls: 1970's paneling and paper thin. I could hear conversations from adjacent rooms, and someone pounding on the far wall in the opposite room, apparently trying to coax their neighbors into letting them sleep.

Bathroom: Tile, like 1960's style. The bath is a stand up shower, with a 6 inch bathtub type of standing area. Not horrible, but clearly outdated and very 'campy' feeling.

Ceiling: Water damaged and wood strapping is screwed in to keep the ceiling from falling in.

Amenities: Hotwire lists this property as being a 'condo' and including a 'full kitchen'. Not exactly...not even close. A bathroom sink and an ice bucket is as close as you get. Two full size beds. 15" CRT tv that is starting to appreciate in value, due it is rarity. Early 1970's furnishings. None of the electrical outlets have 'ground' aka all 2 prong style. Not good for charging your laptop.

This biggest complaint I have is the inaccuracy of the Hotwire listing, which the owner blames Hotwire, but the property owner is the one who reports what amenities are offered...not Hotwire. Hotwire did offer to move us to a new property, but it was late and as this is a remote area, I'm sure we would've had to drive back into Petoskey and it just wasn't worth all that. Hotwire did give me $25 credit, or 'Hotbucks', because of the inconvenience. They also assured me that the star rating will be investigated and likely dropped, and the amenities will be updated to prevent this from continuing to happen.

If you're just looking for a place to crash, in a beautiful area of the state, this is fine. Just don't make much noise or the neighbors will get mad. If you require privacy, updated furnishings, or a hotel rather than a motel, then stay away from the 3* Hotwire listing for Harbor Springs that shows a full kitchen and 24 hour front desk, which happens to close at 11 until 8.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoffeeNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Hotwire could not have screwed us more. We go ahead and spring for the 3 star hotel bracket on Hotwire and they put us at the birchwood inn. We pull up after a long day of driving and the first thing we see is a run down single level motel. With dents and holes in the front doors. We check in and they say we are the only guests staying here. We get the room and there is paint peeling from the ceiling and rips in the sheets on the bed, and the bathroom is still yellow due to has not been updated for over 20 years. They put us in a different room it is a little better but I would still call it a grade under motel 6.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottcsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Please do not waste your money here. If hotwire puts you here try all you can to cancel. Paper thin walls somehow the neighbors called in a noise complaint at 10 am on us. We could hear them on the phone complaining about us. Beds were extremely small I'm only 5'9 and my feet hung off the edge. The bagels in the morning were still frozen.

By the way we were promised a kitchen by hotwire and there was NO kitchen trust me.

Seriously this place is awful.

If I could give it zeros I would. Especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacemd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

While older the rooms were clean and it was a unique blast from the past resort layout. Enjoyed our stay and we were glad that we stumbled off the road to find it. It was further from town than we realized. Beautiful location, northern Michigan non chain charm but it did have limited breakfast choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjfriesema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Ye, this place is old and I must say, run down. It was clean. The room where the breakfast was served was pretty nice. Very clean. This is an "up north" type inn. Our room was very spacious. We even had a small kitchenette. Our beds were comfortable. We went here because they accepted dogs, but then our dog didn't go. Anyways....we stayed on a top floor. When we got there it seemed as though we were the only people there, kinda sketchy. But it filled up quite a bit for a rainy fall weekend. The chairs in the roon need new cushions. The roof needs to be repaired along with the windows. It had boiler heat (says husband) so we didn't have to mess with one of those blower types of heaters that never work well. When people arrived, we could hear them, but when they went into thier rooms-you could not hear themn-very quiet. It really needs maintenence-roofs, posts, paint, etc. But I imagine that would cost a bundle. But with a influx of cash and talent, this place could really be something (but then we probably couldn't afford it). So, I would probably stay again. It is pretty country as others have mentioned. Very pricey area tho.

Room Tip: Top floor, 2nd door to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I just stayed at the Birchwood this past weekend for a fall color tour - took advantage of their Tunnel of Trees package for $80/night, which came with assorted dining and wine tasting discounts. Yes, the establishment is old; it's like walking into your up north family cabin. Scrupulously clean, comfortable, warm and inviting, but not flashy and brand spankin' new. Every staff person I dealt with was pleasant and kind. The Continental breakfast provides PLENTY; I believe some people need to research and educate themselves on what a Continental Breakfast IS. My stay was during a chilly northern Michigan weekend and I was cozy and warm in my room the entire time. I also had PLENTY of hot water for my shower, and so did my roommate, who showered after me. I believe there was only one unoccupied room in the place, so it was pretty booked up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
3.9 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
107 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
411 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
572 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
7.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 7291 S Lake Shore Dr, Harbor Springs, MI 49740-8925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and picture a place to relax at in Northern Michigan. Cozy chairs, field stone fireplace, tranquil courtyard. A place with history, wood beams, and lodge decor. Throw in warm hospitality that comes naturally from a seasoned staff and you will find yourself at Birchwood Inn. Built in the early sixties as a corporate retreat for New Era Potato Chips, Birchwood Inn has been carefully preserved by the Innkeeper with the lodge aura intended by the builders. We welcome individual travelers and group gatherings alike. Birchwood Inn is perfect for family reunions, destination weddings, sporting groups, seminars, and of course corporate retreats. The philosophy of the original builder, comfortable surroundings fosters friendships, is deeply held by the Innkeeper of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Harbor Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing