We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,clean,clean”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean,clean,clean”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Plenty of charm for the price...just love the area and this makes it affordable ....would definitely return...all the rooms are equally quiet off any road noise.....so much beauty to explore in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manbijthond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Birchwood Inn Harbor Springs is a dated, but clean establishment. It is probably the best value for the Petoskey area. If you are expecting an updated hotel, this isn't for you. However, this old inn is a classic, with a beautiful "sitting area" reminiscent of an old ski lodge.

The inn offered a basic continental breakfast consisting of toast, doughnuts, and bagels. They offered an outdoor swimming pool that was in need of maintenance and thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hypshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We loved our stay at the Birchwood Inn. It is a 'golden oldie'.......... we loved that the sliding windows in the room. We loved the decor in the room-- rustic/lodge look.
Our room was immaculately clean! Spotless!!! We loved the open windows at both ends of the room that allowed for the fresh air to flow through. The beds were very comfortable. We had a great nights sleep! Yes the bathroom is 'dated'.............but very in style re: retro! Loved the pink!
We loved the great room/lobby--the decor was so "Northern Michigan". The owners were so friendly and helpful (did not meet any other friendly owners of anything in Harbour Springs.......)
It was quiet, calm and relaxing. The property is large-great for kids to run and play. Nice bbq area if you want as well. I enjoyed relaxing by the huge pool. Has this property seen better days? Probably when it was first built------------yes it is dated. However- I would absolutely stay here again-- we loved the room! We loved the 'feel'. It is very quiet and tranquil. Also-- the price is outstanding considering that the Holiday Inn in Petoskey was $400.00 a night-and it sits on a busy highway right across from strip mall and Walmart!!! The Birchwood Inn is tranquil and relaxing. Go back in time and enjoy!! Laurie

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

One of worst motels ever stayed and i'm 67 They have't done any up dates since the 60s. Great location but that's it. Room was musty and some of the furnishings were dirty. Plumbing is terrible. Toilet plugged all night with no access to repairs. Door keys don'twork well. Closet doors don't open lights burned put. Staff was somewhat rude. Had to correct our charges . The owner needs to put some of his into renevations. Or they should be closed down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple days, with goal of getting away from the city to relax, which is exactly what we were able to do here. It's located several miles from the tourist areas, so we didn't have to deal with any of the crowds of Petoskey or Harbor Springs. Our room was very clean, and while it was small, it was exactly what we expected when we booked the room. The inn doesn’t have all the amenities of a large chain hotel, but anyone who stays at an independently owned inn shouldn’t expect a large fitness center or hot-cooked breakfast. We got exactly what we expected, which was a quiet place to stay, clean room, and a friendly staff that was accommodating. It was an excellent value for what we paid, and we would definitely stay here again when we’re in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked while I was driving from Florida to Michigan with my daughters to visit family over the 4th of July. Since I was driving, I booked on location only, and gave a non-refundable deposit of $129. When we got done with the family afternoon activities in Harbor Springs, I drove the few miles north to check in. I was sorely disappointed when I arrived, and ended up forfeiting my deposit and heading south to find a real place to stay. It was gross, that's the best single word with which I can describe it.

The best expanded summary of what you should expect? This is exactly the kind of place you would expect to find in a National Lampoon Vacation remake. In fact, I kept looking for Clark Griswold and Aunt Edna to come around the corner. At least if she had a basket of sandwiches that the dog had peed on, it would give some explanation for the smell that hit me when I first opened the door to what would have been our room. Of course, Clark would be trying to sell this place to the kids and Ellen because he didn't want to drive anymore for the day.

Don't get me wrong, the front desk lady is very nice, but the ONLY reason this place is still in business is because of the limited lodging options in the area, I guarantee you when people arrive at this place they look around, weigh the hassle of trying to find somewhere else to stay, and then finally swallow their pride and figure they can tough it out.

It's really sad as well, because this could be an awesome place to stay, but when you try (as the front desk lady did) to market yourself as a throwback to the '60's versus reinvesting in your business, you don't deserve to be in business.

Room Tip: Bring a tent - at least it's easier to air out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This place has seen better days. Needs major upgrading. Could go out of business anytime. The WiFi is free but sporadic. You have to drive 4 or 5 miles to get something to eat. No hot water on our last morning there. No staff to check us out in the morning until 7:30am.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebananaBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
3.9 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
7.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 7291 S Lake Shore Dr, Harbor Springs, MI 49740-8925
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and picture a place to relax at in Northern Michigan. Cozy chairs, field stone fireplace, tranquil courtyard. A place with history, wood beams, and lodge decor. Throw in warm hospitality that comes naturally from a seasoned staff and you will find yourself at Birchwood Inn. Built in the early sixties as a corporate retreat for New Era Potato Chips, Birchwood Inn has been carefully preserved by the Innkeeper with the lodge aura intended by the builders. We welcome individual travelers and group gatherings alike. Birchwood Inn is perfect for family reunions, destination weddings, sporting groups, seminars, and of course corporate retreats. The philosophy of the original builder, comfortable surroundings fosters friendships, is deeply held by the Innkeeper of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Harbor Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing