We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such thoughtful staff and a great clean affordable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Of Harbor Springs
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such thoughtful staff and a great clean affordable location”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is amazing. We booked a room on a whim several years ago just to be close to skiing and we have been coming back, religiously ever since.

The rooms are immaculate, the staff is helpful, courteous and super kind.

The daily breakfast is an enormous bonus. They even have a make your own waffle machine. The kids look forward to getting up and getting food each day before we hit the slopes.

This year they unexpectedly had to close the pool to fix the building that houses the indoor pool and spa --- but the management is so courteous that they called all 300 people who had reservations and offered them an opportunity to cancel without penalty. This is great customer service!

Skip the unnecessary expense of staying at the resort when you go up north to ski, this Best Western is worth every cent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allen5vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    88
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
166
161
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Ok when we booked this place there were no pictures indicating that the room doors led directly to the parking lot nor that the rooms are very small for anything other than two people. Upon check in we were informed that the pool had been torn out. Yes, those pictures that look ever so inviting with the crystal blue pool...yeah, it doesn't exsist. Anyway, if you're looking for an overpriced motel, this is the place. We reluctantly stayed here because of the late hour and no other options an listed to the drunks walk by the room all night. As a police officer, I can certainly point out that these types of rooms are far more vulnerable to theft than a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddog4173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Lora E, Manager at Best Western Of Harbor Springs, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbance you encountered from your neighbor on Dec. 30 We have provided you with a sizeable discount for that night, because we felt really bad about the inconvenience you were caused.
As to our pool, we did notify Best Western International of the closure and we tried really hard to contact all of our guest. We were not holding any guest the their reservation, Christmas week, if the guest was not aware of the closure. The building was taken down because it was unsafe.
Our prices have been discounted to reflect the pool being closed. We do plan to rebuild in the Spring and we are very excited about the new building.
As to the safety of our property, we have owned and operated this property for 35 years and have never had issues with safety. We do have 16 security cameras on the property as well as we live on the property. Our customers safety and comfort is our top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Gratiot MI, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This family owned Best Western is one of the best we have stayed in. Great on site owners that make you feel like home. New breakfast room last year. Very clean rooms with all the updates. If your like to ski this location is only 5 miles from Nubs Nob. If you are planning a trip make sure to include this motel for a base camp for any northern Michigan winter or summer outings. This is our second year staying with them and will be our destination at least 3 more times this winter ski season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Lora E, Manager at Best Western Of Harbor Springs, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you and Welcome back! Our customers satisfaction is our #1 priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to accomodate us for a late arrival. Breakfast was excellent, the beds very comfortable, the rooms very clean and the ski resorts close by. Although their hot tub was recently removed because of the owner's concern for their guests safety, they plan to rebuild it soon. Just a positive experience in every way, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is in a nice location with easy access to the highway to either Harbor Springs or Petoskey. The staff are friendly. The rooms are pretty standard but everything is in working order. It was comfortable & clean which is usually the first priority for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank moyomiloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay city mi, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice rooms and amenities. More hot breakfast items would have been nice, but great stay here!!!! extra outlets on night stand. small fridge. fast internet. keurig coffee maker. very comfortable. stayed there with a hockey team group and did not hear negative comments from anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Lora E, Manager at Best Western Of Harbor Springs, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for choosing our motel for your Hockey weekend. Your team was a very well mannered team. Please keep us in mind for future Hockey weekends or just family weekends in our area. The pool rebuild will begin in Mar-Apr sometime. Please keep an eye on our facebook page for updates and specials (facebook.com/bwharborspring).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Rooms were current, beds comfortable. good TV's. One of the best small-hotel pools I've seen. Very nice continental breakfast, including waffles and warm-up sandwiches. Staff friendly. Were there in December; heat a little difficult to control but OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salesrep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Lora E, Manager at Best Western Of Harbor Springs, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to let others know about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself. In your survey you mentioned our pool. We did have to close it for the winter because the building was unsafe. We took the building down December 17. We do plan on rebuilding in the Spring. Keep an on facebook (facebook.com/bwharborspring) for changes to our building and for specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
3.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
5.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
4.2 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Harbor Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Harbor Springs

Property: Best Western Of Harbor Springs
Address: 8514 Hwy M-119, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Harbor Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Harbor Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Springs
Harbor Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing