We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf package” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great golf package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went with a large group on a golf package it definitely was worth it. Hotel rooms are OK clean and fairly large. Got a lot of free perks from the casino, drinks, food discount, free play. Food was decent for the price ,staff was very friendly. Didn't win any money at the tables would be my only complaint. It was a long drive to get there so need to stay a few days to make it worthwhile. Nice bar area with big screens to watch sports while you unwind after golf.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    86
    36
    10
    17
See reviews for
39
101
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flin Flon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I sent one night at Island Resort and Casino. We were there on a stay and play (golf) package. The staff at Sweegrass Golf Course were knowledgeable and very pleasant. The course was in awesome shape. a solid 8 in our books. Check in at the hotel was fast and courteous. Our standard room was large and well cared for. The restaurant was very nice. We were there for all you can eat crab legs, which were meaty and plentiful. (Just a note that wine was on for half price, bonus). The casino was laid out nicely but did not pay out for anyone I saw there. Quite disappointing in that sense. All in all, this resort was terrific. Too bad the casino took all our playing funds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeRobbieLimoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVERSE CITY
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Island Resort and Casino, in Harris, MI, 15 mi. south of Escanaba in Michigan's upper peninsula has something for everyone. There are the usual slot machines, a huge variety;table games and a poker room. There are also five restaurants. The eateries range from fine dining to an ice cream shop to a seafood restaurant. All are good. There is a fine golf course, a swimming pool and gift shop. If you stay at the casino, you receive a generous Casino package, free drink, $5 of slot play and $5 off bingo. Since the UP is fairly barren of these kinds of attractions, the Island Resort could cut corners and still be fun, but they didn't. The owners did a good job controlling the smoke that is always present in a Casino. This Resort/Casino is worth a stop.

Room Tip: An oasis in Michigan's Upper Peninsula for fun and games
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had never been to this hotel/casino but what a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff,good food,room was clean,plenty of towels in room. Plenty of penny machines in casino. Easy to find. Right on Hwy 41. Ask for casino package. Eager to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got a stay and play package for $200 that included a room, golf for 2, food coupons and play oupons. The rooms were in the new tower and were very nice and spacious. There were even 2 recliners in the room. The beds were comfy, the pillows were pillows and the showere was very good. The casino was large with a good variety of slots. The course was awesome. We ate at the bar - nachos and wings and they were very good. The breakfast was very reasonable and also very good. Friendly staff everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were there for a convention. Hotel room in the new tower was nice and clean and roomy. However, the only way from the hotel to the convention rooms is through the extremely smoky casino. For a non-gambler and non-smoker this is bad news. Golf course looked nice but I didn't play. Food was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Odessa, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We found the hotel very nice for the price. The rooms were clean and for a smoking casino the rooms were virtually smoke free (we requested smoke free) which was nice. We ate at two of their restaurants and the food was very good for the price also.

Room Tip: We had a double non-smoking room. Our 4th floor room had a view of the parking lot but then there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy_Jackson1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Property: Island Resort & Casino
Address: W399 US2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing