We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Am Enjoyable One Night Stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Am Enjoyable One Night Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After visiting the other casinos in Michigan's Upper Peninsula over the years, we thought we would try the Island Resort for a night after never checking it out before. I had hoped to get a room in the new tower, as other reviewers had suggested, but at check in was told all the king beds in the new tower were taken (even though I had requested the new tower when making our reservation). But it was fine – we got one of the remodeled rooms in the older tower and was pleasantly surprised! The room was clean, very nice, and updated. Although somewhat small, the high ceilings made it feel more spacious (we were on the top floor). The bathroom was really nice with tiled floors and walls….it was "L" shaped. My only complaint might be, the toilet didn't have a lid and the shower seemed narrow (and the shower curtain was too long – which hung onto the floor of the shower).
The casino was decent size for a UP casino. I didn't like the fact that the hotel check in was practically in the casino and also, to get to the elevators for our room, we had to walk through the casino. It seemed odd pulling suitcases past people gaming. Like other reviewers had mentioned though – we didn't win. The machines paid (small amounts) at first but got cold quick. I never saw anyone win big…but then again, I didn't gamble very long.
We ate at the Fire Keepers restaurant for both dinner (which was a late – 9 pm) and breakfast the next day. Dinner was excellent. We decided to eat in the lounge area so we could watch the Detroit Tigers on the big screen TV there. Our waitress was super friendly and attentive. Food was very good – my husband and I had the perch and it was much better than expected (we've had perch at many, many places!). Breakfast the next day was fine – we both had the breakfast buffet. Very reasonable for a simple but nice breakfast buffet. I appreciated that they even had oatmeal along with the usual bacon, eggs, pancakes, and fruit.
Overall – a great one night stop for us. We had some fun, nice meals, and a super comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: If staying in the older tower, ask for a remodeled room. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H0CKEYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    86
    36
    10
    17
See reviews for
39
101
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wind Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took a bus trip here from Milwaukee. It is a smaller casino, but we had a great time. I wish there had been more table games open, because on a Sat night, they filled up quickly. There is a good assortment of slots--but mostly penny slots. We had 2 meals at the Coral Reef Grille, and both were EXCELLENT! The turkey club sub and Caribbean pulled pork sandwich were GREAT! And the prices were very reasonable for the amount of food you get. The rooms were updated, clean and SPACIOUS. The shower was FABULOUS! The only room complaint was the pillows are not very comfortable, but the beds are. They seem to give you a fair amount of points based on your play--especially on table games, which is rare. We will definitely visit this casino again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cappygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were on a bus trip to this resort and they stay here every year. The resort is very accommodating, great place to stay and gamble a bit. The new breakfast buffet is fantastic! Food was replenished frequently and very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed one night in transit on a road trip. At check in, they gave us some discount coupons for free drinks and discount dining. Not very busy, so not very smokey. We had a nice dinner, drinks, and did game a bit for fun. Good bed and pillows, and lovely bathroom. Staff at front desk was not so welcoming, and could use a bit of happy-customer-service training. But for the money paid, a good deal...clean, updated room, good food and easy stop. I booked online so we got a great Internet room rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went with a large group on a golf package it definitely was worth it. Hotel rooms are OK clean and fairly large. Got a lot of free perks from the casino, drinks, food discount, free play. Food was decent for the price ,staff was very friendly. Didn't win any money at the tables would be my only complaint. It was a long drive to get there so need to stay a few days to make it worthwhile. Nice bar area with big screens to watch sports while you unwind after golf.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I sent one night at Island Resort and Casino. We were there on a stay and play (golf) package. The staff at Sweegrass Golf Course were knowledgeable and very pleasant. The course was in awesome shape. a solid 8 in our books. Check in at the hotel was fast and courteous. Our standard room was large and well cared for. The restaurant was very nice. We were there for all you can eat crab legs, which were meaty and plentiful. (Just a note that wine was on for half price, bonus). The casino was laid out nicely but did not pay out for anyone I saw there. Quite disappointing in that sense. All in all, this resort was terrific. Too bad the casino took all our playing funds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeRobbieLimoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVERSE CITY
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Island Resort and Casino, in Harris, MI, 15 mi. south of Escanaba in Michigan's upper peninsula has something for everyone. There are the usual slot machines, a huge variety;table games and a poker room. There are also five restaurants. The eateries range from fine dining to an ice cream shop to a seafood restaurant. All are good. There is a fine golf course, a swimming pool and gift shop. If you stay at the casino, you receive a generous Casino package, free drink, $5 of slot play and $5 off bingo. Since the UP is fairly barren of these kinds of attractions, the Island Resort could cut corners and still be fun, but they didn't. The owners did a good job controlling the smoke that is always present in a Casino. This Resort/Casino is worth a stop.

Room Tip: An oasis in Michigan's Upper Peninsula for fun and games
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Property: Island Resort & Casino
Address: W399 US2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing