We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yooper Casino - Do You Feel Lucky ?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Ever visit a casino, and then complain because you did not win? Seriously?
Did you think they built those huge buildings on donations?

Anyway, for January of this year, they started a Friday nite room special for the hotel, at about 50% off the normal rate, so we decided to give it a shot. They also have a casino package, for each person in the room.

The casino package is $5 off a meal at any of the onsite restaurants, $5 in promo cash for the slot machines, a free drink coupon, for whatever you like, and $5 in promo cash for bingo.

Anyway, the personnel at the front desk were great, the room was great, the people in the Fire-keeper's Restaurant were great, we ate in the bar area. Ask for Gary...tell him Geno sent you.

That is all we can say, we had a nice swim in the small-medium pool, and spent some relaxing time in the hot-tub, and looked a the two(2) excercise bikes in the excercise room.

Did we win at the casino? No...that is why they call it gambling...BUT, it was fun, and after all, if you go to a casino, do you seriously plan on winning, or just spending some money for the same rush you feel when riding a roller coaster?

You know it will eventually end, you just put on your big boy underwear, and enjoy the ride....

Mahalo

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GenoMIchiganYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were part of a bus trip and stayed here two nights. The hotel is very nice with clean, large guest rooms and the bathroom was also large. Very quiet in the hotel portion itself. Agree that the pillows are extremely hard! The casino was very nice and roomy but too smoky for my taste. The staff were plentiful and very helpful. Not too keen on the breakfast buffet that came with our package. Not much to choose from. Wait staff was very nice. Stop by the ice cream kiosk. Great flavors to choose from and very generous with the size portions!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSWood2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Came on an overnight bus trip. We arrived early and our rooms were ready which was real nice. Room was in new tower and has lots of room, was very clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable but pillows were hard. All employees were helpful and friendly. Food was very good. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: New tower and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auctioneerDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this facility once we were checked into our room and were able to check out the place. With the exception of the front desk, everyone else we had contact with seemed to be extremely accommodating and more than happy to assist us with our requests and needs. The rooms afforded us plenty of space and were well maintained with the latest updates. The restaurants had good food and friendly service. The lounge provided a great oldies band for hours of enjoyable music. The casino offered a good selection of gaming choices. We didn’t leave with a suitcase full of money from our winnings, but we realistically didn’t have those expectations. I read some negative reviews about this resort, which gave myself some reservations of spending time here, however I was glad I didn’t take them to serious or I would of misses out on a very nice outing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler16340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After visiting the other casinos in Michigan's Upper Peninsula over the years, we thought we would try the Island Resort for a night after never checking it out before. I had hoped to get a room in the new tower, as other reviewers had suggested, but at check in was told all the king beds in the new tower were taken (even though I had requested the new tower when making our reservation). But it was fine – we got one of the remodeled rooms in the older tower and was pleasantly surprised! The room was clean, very nice, and updated. Although somewhat small, the high ceilings made it feel more spacious (we were on the top floor). The bathroom was really nice with tiled floors and walls….it was "L" shaped. My only complaint might be, the toilet didn't have a lid and the shower seemed narrow (and the shower curtain was too long – which hung onto the floor of the shower).
The casino was decent size for a UP casino. I didn't like the fact that the hotel check in was practically in the casino and also, to get to the elevators for our room, we had to walk through the casino. It seemed odd pulling suitcases past people gaming. Like other reviewers had mentioned though – we didn't win. The machines paid (small amounts) at first but got cold quick. I never saw anyone win big…but then again, I didn't gamble very long.
We ate at the Fire Keepers restaurant for both dinner (which was a late – 9 pm) and breakfast the next day. Dinner was excellent. We decided to eat in the lounge area so we could watch the Detroit Tigers on the big screen TV there. Our waitress was super friendly and attentive. Food was very good – my husband and I had the perch and it was much better than expected (we've had perch at many, many places!). Breakfast the next day was fine – we both had the breakfast buffet. Very reasonable for a simple but nice breakfast buffet. I appreciated that they even had oatmeal along with the usual bacon, eggs, pancakes, and fruit.
Overall – a great one night stop for us. We had some fun, nice meals, and a super comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: If staying in the older tower, ask for a remodeled room. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H0CKEYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took a bus trip here from Milwaukee. It is a smaller casino, but we had a great time. I wish there had been more table games open, because on a Sat night, they filled up quickly. There is a good assortment of slots--but mostly penny slots. We had 2 meals at the Coral Reef Grille, and both were EXCELLENT! The turkey club sub and Caribbean pulled pork sandwich were GREAT! And the prices were very reasonable for the amount of food you get. The rooms were updated, clean and SPACIOUS. The shower was FABULOUS! The only room complaint was the pillows are not very comfortable, but the beds are. They seem to give you a fair amount of points based on your play--especially on table games, which is rare. We will definitely visit this casino again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cappygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were on a bus trip to this resort and they stay here every year. The resort is very accommodating, great place to stay and gamble a bit. The new breakfast buffet is fantastic! Food was replenished frequently and very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
13.5 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
853 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Escanaba
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Address: W399 Us2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range: £64 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing