We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical golf packages and gambling all in one”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised on the cleanliness of the casino and grounds considering this casino is situated in an unpopulated area. Room was large, bathroom clean, and we required maintenance who came quickly to fix our cable box on the TV (due to a previous guest disconnecting to game).

The food Grille inside the casino was greasy but again for the cheap price it wasn't awful, just perhaps could be looked into. We ate dinner and breakfast there since the hours were convenient for us to eat before golf.

The Sweetgrass course was well maintained and challenging. And the cart servers stopped by us several times during our play, and were exceptionally friendly. Only negative were two golf course maintenance "boys" (probably 20) fighting and swearing with each other and one really wanting a knock down fight. Made me feel extremely uncomfortable as I believe it was unprofessional around a course of this caliber.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResortCasino, Marketing at Island Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as we truly appreciate hearing about our guest's experiences while at the Island. While we are glad to hear that the majority of your time with us was enjoyable, we are sorry to hear that you were made to feel uncomfortable while playing at Sweetgrass.

Customer service is our top priority at both the Island Resort & Casino and Sweetgrass as we want to ensure a "Total Experience" for each and every guest. So that we can further investigate this matter, we would ask that you please message us your contact information so that we may have someone from the resort contact you in person.

We thank you for your patronage and for bringing your concerns to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I along with another couple who are our best friends spent three days at the Island Resort and Casino. Our rooms were excellent. The golf course was very nice and challenging and the casino was large, bright, clean and had a good variety of games available. However, we had six meals at "in house" restaurants over the three days; 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches and 2 dinners. The lunches were very good. We had "build your own burgers" at the casino bar. The burgers, fries and onion rings were excellent. However, we had breakfast in two different restaurants and dinner in two different restaurants. The food was very mediocre, the service spotty and the servers and employees were very indifferent to our needs and wants. They were not overly friendly and willingly accepted mediocrity in the service and quality of food. We will not return to this facility again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mikeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResortCasino, Marketing at Island Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our dining venues during your recent stay here at the Island. Because customer service and satisfaction is our top priority, we would appreciate it if you could message us your contact information along with the specifics of your experience so that we can look into your situation immediately and place you in touch with the appropriate contact.

We thank you for your patronage and we certainly do not wish to lose you a guest. We are confident that a future visit tot he Island will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction and overall quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wife and I stayed there Friday, 7/11/14, and experienced nothing but a caring, friendly atmosphere. After being greeted with enthusiasm, we were explained the perks, then took the elevator to our room on the 11th floor. What a view! We went to the casino and, wouldn't you know it, quite a bit of money fell from my pocket to the floor, and I lost it. My wife got several security guards attention, but we couldn't find it. We had given up hope, when a wonderfully lady walked up to us, asking if we had lost anything. When we told her the amount, and the denominations of them, she opened her hands and gave me every last dollar! (If this had happened at any of the other casino/resorts at which we've stayed, the money, we are sure, would have been gone in 2 seconds.) After that, we were pleased with the value of the food at the restaurant and really enjoyed the portion of our free drinks. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience "gaming" in a friendly, "up north" atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 11th floor and provided an excellent view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I go there quite frequently. We used a credit card in there one day, and one of the employees stoled our identity! The casino did nothing to make things right? So if you play there don't make the mistake we made and use a credit card. Thanks Don:

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here in their camp grounds for five days.....it's a short walk from the camp ground to the hotel and casino......the campground it's self is level.....paved.....very quite.....clean showers......30/50 elect.....water and a dump site......at $20 a night you can't beat it......good restaurants in the hotel that are not overpriced......good place to camp

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ltkbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The casino's main floor absolutely reeks of stale smoke. There's no filtering it. For someone with asthma, it's a nightmare. I can barely breathe. I wouldnt be here if it wasn't for a family wedding. The smell carries up to through the elevator, which has no air conditioning. Sucks for anyone who gets stuck in the elevators there. The smell of smoke travels down hallways where rooms are and goes into rooms through the 1/2" crack on the door. Yay, my stuff all stinks now. Thanks. The pool is unclean, as well as the hot tub. You can see the dirt sitting in the bottom of both. The fitness center... that's a joke. There's three pieces of equipment. The gambling machines, mostly taken up. Don't bother booking a block of rooms for weddings, they'll split the group between the two buildings on different floors even though a block of rooms was booked for the party. The workers are pretty rude. When checking in, they'll move you around without your permission away from others in your group. You'll constantly see staff standing around talking to one another, rather than helping a guest. Overall, this place sucks, workers are lazy, and it stinks worse than Vegas casinos. I will never be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Really enjoyed my 2 days at this hotel and casino. The room was well appointed with comfortable beds. Very nice casino with a wide selection of slots and table games. Staff was very friendly. Good selection of restaurants from coffee bar to full-service dining room. I went there as part of a group, and everything was set for us. Generous casino "free" play.

Room Tip: This is sort of a get-away location. Elevators are quick, so it doesn't matter much which floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
879 reviews
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 10 in Escanaba
205 reviews
13.4 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Address: W399 Us2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range: £61 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing