We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for Good Food on the Island!”

Harsens Island Schoolhouse Grille
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mesa
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Place for Good Food on the Island!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our 2nd time; went with friends that have a home there. Had drinks and everyone had something different to eat. We all left full and happy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Gem with outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The tenderloin was outstanding as was the perch. The sweet potato fries are not to miss. Inside seating is very good, but if there is room outside, that is a great place. The service makes you feel like part of the family.

Helpful?
2 Thank HyattHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, homemade high quality!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I saw Schoolhouse grill on ' Under The Radar', and thought it would be an interesting place to take a drive to. I like to find different unique one of a kind places to eat. My wife and I went on Mothers Day. We both had the tenderloin , (which was melt in your mouth, the taste made our mouths water), and the garlic mashed potatoes ( also very good). My wife also had the crabcakes (homemade, very fresh, great ingredients) , which she really loved. Our salads where fresh and where served with homemade dressings. That is an important reaccuring theme: fresh and homemade ( not Joe Smoes bottle of...). As we waited and ate our salads, we watched what other people were getting and thought how appetizing the other offerings looked (thinking we would have to come back and try them). Everything looked good and was presented very nicely (Not thrown together). We tried (and loved) the caramel coffee cake with kitcat pieces on top (again this didn't come from a store or bakery). Their prices are very reasonable, l have paid more and not gotten this exquisite quality of food. We can't wait to go back to try their breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank johnriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must stop when on Harness Island”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Fabulous Fabulous ... Kristin and Tony are 2 of the best people around and their restaurant is amazing. Food is second to none. Kristin is a spectacular chef with a nuance all her own beautiful presentation and your taste buds will dance with glee!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth the ferry fare”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We've been wanting to try the Schoolhouse grill for a while so we hopped the ferry and went over for breakfast on a Sunday. The restaurant was preparing for a wedding shower so the dining rooms were not available. We were seated in the bar, which was OK given the circumstance. Service was friendly but a bit slow with the coffee. This might have been as a result of the bigger event upstairs but could have been better.

The food was quite good. I had the Captain's Breakfast. The in house bacon and ham were outstanding as were the homemade jams. Really a notch above anything in the area. My partner had the Farmer's breakfast which was also top notch. The one ding is the service. My breakfast also came with biscuits and gravy which I saw sit on the counter for 5 minutes. Of course on arrival they had cooled down to just above room temperature. Great flavor but served cold. I'm not sure why these were dished out to sit on the counter, rather than prepared on the way out of the kitchen.

Overall a very good restaurant. The food is well worth the ferry ride. If the service were brought up to the same standard as the food this would be an outstanding restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harsens Island Schoolhouse Grille also viewed

 
Harsens Island, MI
 

Been to Harsens Island Schoolhouse Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing