We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place !”
Review of American Host Inn

American Host Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
American Host Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

One of the nicest places I have stayed in. I highly reccomned it. Clean rooms and nice furniture.The bed was comfortable. Places to eat nearby as well. The sand dunes are only a few minutes away and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of the most important things needed for the ministry I am involved in is a place to stay at, for myself, with my wife, and people we are taking fishing with Downtime Ministries. Don and Dar have never let us down.Everything is always very clean, friendly service, this is a place I tell everyone heading that way to stay at. In these times these folks are a true blessing!

Room Tip: Very dependable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

As a family, we booked 4 rooms and all were in excellent condition. The owners were very friendly and because we were coming into town for an afternoon wedding (as guests), they set us up with an early check ins so we could get ready for the wedding. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The recliner in the room was nice and wonderful to relax in before the reception. Even though the lobby closes in the evening, they are still accessible if something is needed (although we didn't need any after hours attention). The hotel is very clean and it appears that they steam clean everything after having someone stay in the room. And the shower heads are way above your head which is great because the last couple of hotels we have stayed at, you had to bend down to get any water on your head!

We ate lunch and breakfast at the restaurant across the parking lot and it was delicious. Very friendly. If we ever had to go back to the area, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyinDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight last weekend. Rooms were spotless, Dan and Darlene the owners are great. They were very friendly and accommodating. The small restaurant across the parking lot is also great, delicious food Definitely will stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cordell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed here for ten days during each of the last two summers while I worked at festivals in Hart. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable, and the hotel is very quiet--great for sleeping after a long day of work or play! The hotel has a real family feel: it is owned by Don & Dar Poole and presided over by their poodle, Bear, so you get personal attention and feel like you are a person, and not just a head in a bed. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for the first time a month ago. This place is very very clean! The owners are very nice! We cant wait to come back next year! The bike trail they have is also very nice for adults and kids :) they treated us like family and we were so comfortable there. Rates were cheap as well which is a plus. Def coming back next year. We also receive a post card and a photo from them on our stay which was very nice :) home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleyneumeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stay here for a couple of nights once a year and look forward to it each year. This is because it is a clean, comfortable, and quiet inn. Most importantly, I have gotten to know the proprietors and am confident in their commitment to maintaining high standards for their guests.

Room Tip: My room this time was on the first floor. It faced west. One afternoon I enjoyed reading a Readers D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyWayistheHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart
0.3 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Host Inn

Address: 4143 W Polk Rd, Hart, MI 49420-8379
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Hart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hart
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Host Inn is located in Hart, MI just a few miles from west Michigan's famous Silver Lake Sand Dunes. We are a family owned and operated Inn with the goal to provide a clean and comfortable night sleep. We have received the Award of Excellence six years in a row. We are conveniently located east of US-31 at Exit 149. There is a family restaurant located next to our Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing