We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite car museum, so far, out of a dozen visited”
Review of Gilmore Car Museum

Gilmore Car Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ever expanding Gilmore Car Museum, hailed as one of the Top Five car museums in the nation, features over nearly extraordinary cars and motorcycles from all eras. The Automotive Heritage Center (about 150 vehicles) is Open daily year-round. The outdoor park-like campus of historic buildings (including 1930s gas station, working 1940s diner and several exhibit sturctures)are open April - Novemember.Museum exhibits range from cars of the 1890s to the classic Duesenberg, the elusive 1948 Tucker, to the muscle cars of the ‘60s and ‘70s. Located just off M-43 at Hickory Road near Hickory Corners (20 minutes northeast of Kalamazoo, MI)
Batavia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My favorite car museum, so far, out of a dozen visited”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This location was a little difficult to find (just north of Gull Lake), but it is certainly worth the effort. They have many weekend special events each year, and if you check their website, you will find your favorite make of auto somewhere on their schedule. I was concerned that by missing a special event and visiting them on a weekday, there might not be a whole lot to see. Wow, I could not have been more mistaken. They have modern buildings and new barns crammed with cars. I wanted to photograph them all, but they were so close together, it was difficult to get a good perspective. I went to the Henry Ford Museum the day before and thought it was good. But the Gilmore has more and better cars, filling an entire complex of buildings. Yup, I will be coming back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    33
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Plan your trip!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a destination place if you love anything automotive. This crosses the ages of all the hay days of cars. It does not look like they will stop expanding anytime soon. The cars in this museum are almost to perfect to be real. It took me years to get there and it will take me a month to go back. They even have a nice small collect of motorcycles. They need more motorcycles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, extensive display of vintage cars”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

While driving to this place we all noticed out buildings dotting the country side and stated that wouldn't that be a great place to have for our cars. Well, it turned out that these buildings were already part of the great collection, the Gilmore Car Museum. Everything here is done with quality in mind. Car displays were amazing, separate buildings to display certain brands, others with memorabilia.

Our only small complaint was that it appeared to just have opened for the season, the day was cool and cloudy, and some buildings did not have any heat turned on. Which made viewing somewhat uncomfortable. These buildings we rushed through.

We ate at the vintage diner which had so so food, but it was the ambiance that attracts visitors.

All in all, the Gilmore is a very well kept attraction and would highly recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BRahlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful day here. It was quiet. So much to see..I had no idea it was so big. It took hours. It was a sunny day but cool. I didn't know a lot of it was in barn like buildings with no heat so had left my coat. So I was cold. But we warmed up with lunch in the dining car and then did the main museum last. If you love old cars, car memorabilia, motorcycles...this place is a must!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank evanescencetabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Many unique items in collection, specially Franklin cars!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Gilmore Car Museum is well worth the detour from the highway. It has great car collection with many unique cars. Of special note, is the museum's collection of Franklin automobiles. Franklin was a manufacturer of air cooled cars and technological leader of it's time.
There are several buildings with different type of cars, as well a very interesting display of kiddy cars. It is an expanding museum, as they are building new galleries. Also on the grounds includes a working diner car.
Next door is a hidden gem- The Midwest Miniatures Museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ephesians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilmore Car Museum also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Hickory Corners, Barry County
 
Hickory Corners, Barry County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Gilmore Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing