We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gilmore Car Museum is the story of American on four wheels!”
Review of Gilmore Car Museum

Gilmore Car Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ever expanding Gilmore Car Museum, hailed as one of the Top Five car museums in the nation, features over nearly extraordinary cars and motorcycles from all eras. The Automotive Heritage Center (about 150 vehicles) is Open daily year-round. The outdoor park-like campus of historic buildings (including 1930s gas station, working 1940s diner and several exhibit sturctures)are open April - Novemember.Museum exhibits range from cars of the 1890s to the classic Duesenberg, the elusive 1948 Tucker, to the muscle cars of the ‘60s and ‘70s. Located just off M-43 at Hickory Road near Hickory Corners (20 minutes northeast of Kalamazoo, MI)
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,673 reviews
763 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“The Gilmore Car Museum is the story of American on four wheels!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can I say about the Gilmore Car Museum to get you to go if you haven't already and to get you to go again if you've been only once...? It's not just for people that love classic cars, 1940's drive in Diners, or 18 cent gallons of gas... that must have been nice!

It's easy to say all that, but what the Gilmore Car Museum is the story of America on four wheels... five if you count steering. It's about going back in time to understand what the climate of America was during the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl, the 2nd World War and the boom that flowed... It's about connecting to and understanding our past.

Happy Travels!

James.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    32
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow, what a place! Must see for any car person.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Reading all of the other reviews I think it's clear the Gilmore museum is a fantastic place to visit and based on the construction going on while we were there, it will only get better. Amazing collection of cars and all of the staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful.

We visited during the week so it was not very crowded which made it easy to see the displays.

Bet it's a neat place when a car show is held there.

Give yourself plenty of time to see it all. Not a huge food selection (it is a museum not a restaurant) so plan ahead.

Looking forward to returning some day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you love automobiles, you need to come here! Very large collection of antique automobiles and related items. Check out their special events before you go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizLv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“True dedication”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was heading from Chicago to Detroit and found a flyer at a truck stop for the Gilmore Car Museum.
Even the drive to the secluded location is nice, but once you arrive at the gates you become aware of how neat the grounds are.
The buildings are full of extremely well restored older cars, all tastes are catered for whether it be the early 1900's Model T's or the Roaring Twenties through the Cords, Dusenbergs or Auburns these cars are amazing, And it shows the differences between the wealthy and average workers as most original selling prices are listed.
For the high performance and hot rod person I am we too are presented with a great display of purpose built hot rods, Corvettes and a genuine Shelby Cobra 427.
An old diner from CT built in 1941 is in operation on the grounds.
Make sure you have plenty of time, there is loads to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Amazing museum”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I went to this museum on May 24, 2014. AAA discount tickets are $11.00 each. This museum is amazing. If you are a car buff or not you will LOVE this museum. We have lived our entire lives in Michigan and did not know about this hidden gem. I call it a hidden gem because it is out in the middle of no where. You will see cars that you have not seen before. I can not say enough good things about this museum. It was extremely clean and the displays are very well organized. There is a lot of walking from one building to the next so if you have a difficult time walking this may not be for you. There are food and drinks available. Also, a gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank countdowntovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilmore Car Museum also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Hickory Corners, Barry County
 
Hickory Corners, Barry County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Gilmore Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing