We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hot food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Silver Dollar Saloon - CLOSED

The Silver Dollar Saloon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Roscommon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hot food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband, his daughter and I went here this past Saturday night. It was super busy!! All of us ordered fish...they ordered the fish and chips and I ordered the perch. It came out fast, was piping hot and delicious! We each had large portions which is usually unheard of at most restaurants for the price! Would have given all 5 stars because of the crowd...it was extremely noisy! (Typical for a bar/restaurant though) Still highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    11
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only full service joint around Higgins Lake!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stopped her twice during our weeklong visit. First night (Sunday) there was a band (loud, so-so). Had burgers, fried mushrooms, beer and soft drinks. All was fine. Next weekday evening, we ordered terrible French onion soup, okay perch, okay burrito and flat beer. Service was awful. Stick to bar food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure of these trip advisor reveiws”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spending a week on Higgins Lake, was to hot to cook, found this restaurant and reviews and thought we would check it out. We were somewhat disappointed.
The issues that I will point out are the poor management and the choice of food quality.
The server we had a young man who was serious under trained,(restaurant impossible) When my uncle asked him if the saloon had Tanqueray Gin, he stated " No, we have regular gin" funny their Tuesday night special is Tanqueray specials. When I asked him what that was he said, "we will mix it with anything you would like, like Pepsi" When we asked him about tone of the most expenses menu items, the Perch, he could not tell us anything about it.
The food, was suspect. two of us had Rubens, the corned beef was processed pressed meat, the sandwiches had maybe three to four slices each. It came with a bag of Lays. The bread was nice but to thick. For $8.99. The wings were O.K., fair at best. The burger patty was pre-frozen. We had to ask for a water as the server only came by one to ask for drink refills.
So service was poorish, food not great. We had though of going there for the Friday night fish fry, but no. They lost that business. It was a Tuesday night, early and maybe 3 other tables had people at them, No excuse, need serious training and better fresh food choices when purchasing. Some one should take the owner and or manager out behind the wood shed, they have the potential for a gem, instead it is a cubic zirconia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RRowe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“Average, in a good way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Went for the (not all you can eat, though large portions) Fish Fry Friday, the day after the 4th. I had been here a handful of times, but several years prior. Everything about my experience was average, which in not a bad thing. The service and the food were good, though fried fish does tend to weigh on your stomach, but we knew what we were getting into. I was part of a large family/group and seating took about 45 minutes. We spent that time on the back (covered and screened) deck, where they claim to have specials on beers; $4 tap beer may pass as a special in a city environment, but it seemed a bit pricy for northern Michigan. I was interested in their Captain Morgan float special on Mondays. It passes a decent dive bar/restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Huge burgers and fried fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

They make excellent burgers that are huge. Deep fried fresh perch. Other species available but as a prominent sign reminds you 'all fish is fried'. Decent beer list. Excellent service. Can be busy on weekend nights as it's the only game in town. No quality healthier selections available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silver Dollar Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing