We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owner..place is NOT THE SAME”
Review of The Silver Dollar Saloon - CLOSED

The Silver Dollar Saloon
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Owner..place is NOT THE SAME”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have been going here for years and since the new owner has taken over many things have changed and not for the good. Food quality is NOT the best, pricing on booze is up and most of the best waitstaff are now working other surrounding places. When you spend a hundred almost every time you walk in and cannot say Hello to the patrons that are spending money in your establishment then I can go elsewhere. We are not children here nor are we rowdy...many of us that hung out there try to go Grayling to Spikes or Gray Rock.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeepgirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    11
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I eat here a lot and I am always impressed with the service and food. Recently held our employee appreciation night with approximately 80 people and was amazed at the level of service and food the delivered while keeping the general public serviced and fed at the same time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hot food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband, his daughter and I went here this past Saturday night. It was super busy!! All of us ordered fish...they ordered the fish and chips and I ordered the perch. It came out fast, was piping hot and delicious! We each had large portions which is usually unheard of at most restaurants for the price! Would have given all 5 stars because of the crowd...it was extremely noisy! (Typical for a bar/restaurant though) Still highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only full service joint around Higgins Lake!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stopped her twice during our weeklong visit. First night (Sunday) there was a band (loud, so-so). Had burgers, fried mushrooms, beer and soft drinks. All was fine. Next weekday evening, we ordered terrible French onion soup, okay perch, okay burrito and flat beer. Service was awful. Stick to bar food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure of these trip advisor reveiws”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spending a week on Higgins Lake, was to hot to cook, found this restaurant and reviews and thought we would check it out. We were somewhat disappointed.
The issues that I will point out are the poor management and the choice of food quality.
The server we had a young man who was serious under trained,(restaurant impossible) When my uncle asked him if the saloon had Tanqueray Gin, he stated " No, we have regular gin" funny their Tuesday night special is Tanqueray specials. When I asked him what that was he said, "we will mix it with anything you would like, like Pepsi" When we asked him about tone of the most expenses menu items, the Perch, he could not tell us anything about it.
The food, was suspect. two of us had Rubens, the corned beef was processed pressed meat, the sandwiches had maybe three to four slices each. It came with a bag of Lays. The bread was nice but to thick. For $8.99. The wings were O.K., fair at best. The burger patty was pre-frozen. We had to ask for a water as the server only came by one to ask for drink refills.
So service was poorish, food not great. We had though of going there for the Friday night fish fry, but no. They lost that business. It was a Tuesday night, early and maybe 3 other tables had people at them, No excuse, need serious training and better fresh food choices when purchasing. Some one should take the owner and or manager out behind the wood shed, they have the potential for a gem, instead it is a cubic zirconia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RRowe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silver Dollar Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing