We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Expensive - Customer Service Not So Hot”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunder Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillman
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Expensive - Customer Service Not So Hot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I had to go to Hillman for a funeral, plan to spend one night with myself and my two teenage children. We got a "suite" that sleeps 8. Bit of overkill, but it was okay. The room was clean, but very outdated. We have stayed here before, but only because this is the only Hotel in Hillman, and I wanted to be close to family.

No internet service from rooms, but we were offered parking lot seating, or to go to the restaurant/bar at 11:30 PM and sit there with the night clerk. no thanks. My 16 year old had to do school work, and I really didn't feel comfrotable leaving her in a room with the night clerk. When asked about their "dial up" service, the first clerk had no clue what to do, the second clerk said "Sorry it doesn't work, but if you want, you're more than welcome to come to the office and use our phone". Again, no thank you. When asked why I couldn't even make a local call using their "instructions", they said oh, we don't know, but you can give us the number, and we'll make the call and have it transferred to your room. Again, no thank you.

The price of $99 was overkill, but they wouldn't budge, even though we were one of four cars in their parking lot.

Someone really needs to build a smaller version of a Holiday Inn, or Comfort Inn in this town and give this hotel a run for the money. It really wouldn't take much - offer high speed internet, a pool, a jacuzzi, an exercise room, and a restaurant that doesn't charge $6 for two chocolate milks and a cup of coffee, and you'll be rolling in the dough! Went to the hilltop restaurant and had breakfast for almost as much as those two chocolate milks and a coffee cost us!

Got to love the monopoly!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddyBoysDad, Owner at Thunder Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
We will make a partial refund to this guest due to the lack of phone service, and Internet in the room. We had an electrical disturbance of some sort, lightning, or a power surge and lost the ability to dial out in some rooms and we were not aware of it or the cause. Most guests now use their cell phones, so the condition could have gone some time before we became aware, as the phone worked to communicate with the lobby or other units. That problem has been corrected. With regard to the Internet - getting good internet service in Hillman has been an ongoing problem. We hope to have fiber optic cable available in Hillman by fall at affordable rates - as part of a government stimulus program project. At that point very high speed, high capacity and very reliable Wifi will be available in all of our lodging units. There is no dial up service offered at the Resort. As mentioned we have several Wifi hot spots - our Clubhouse/Restaurant and in our RV Park. Room rates - the $99 rate is a discounted rate for the 700 sq ft suites (about the size of two standard hotel rooms). Normally the guest would also have been offered a hotel room with two queen sized beds and a bath for $59 to $69, if available (a "lock-off" from a larger two bedroom unit). There is also another small motel in Hillman that charges charges a little less and dates to the 1950s. Hillman is a town of 700 people. A smaller version of a Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn with indoor pool, exercise room, jacuzzi, restaurant, etc is not very viable and could not likely be supported by the community. The closest Holiday Inn is a 25 minute drive. It is well run - they offer more amenities and their rates are higher. Food Pricing - Our food is good and very moderately priced compared to any restaurant - it is certainly much less than typical "Resort Pricing." The other restaurant the guest mentioned does a nice job and is also very fairly priced. It is where we often send our guests in the shoulder seasons when our restaurant is closed or only open on weekends. Their breakfast entrees are priced about the same or even a little higher. Their beverages are priced a little lower - $.25 less for chocolate milk ($2. versus $1.75) and 71 cents less for coffee. Total cost for a breakfast would be about identical in either location. Our staff did make several suggestions and attempts to provide some alternatives on several of these issues - less than ideal perhaps, but the best available late in the evening. A funeral is a sad occasion and we regret that our limitations added to the level of stress. We are aware of those limitations and are dealing with a number of them as business conditions permit. Jack Matthias, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    35
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
64
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Another typical Michigan business trying to take advantage of the great people of this state.
They know the weather will be nice so they claim they are starting "Summer Rates" (The owners excuse to rape his patrons) and have raised their rates to $43.00 for 18 and a cart before the season even kicks off.(Memorial Day weekend) This course is mediocre at best and there are many better tests of your game up north for that kind of money. This is one course you dont want to waste your money on!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank rickl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddyBoysDad, Owner at Thunder Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
We have a lower early season rate and a late season rate. Our rates are based on playing conditions and the likely weather. By mid May the course has greened up, the leaves are out and the weather is likely to be cooperating. It was a good weekend for us and the rest of our customers seemed pleased. This seem like a bit of a rant. The gentleman is correct - there are lots of courses to choose from and I hope he found something to his liking somewhere else. If we really are "mediocre" it seems odd that he would even want to play here. Jack Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here, there and everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

I tried to book an Elk Ride with dinner for four persons a month in advance and was told that they were only accepting reservations with "lodging". The person I spoke to said she would speak to the manager to see if they would allow me to book without lodging and they would get back to me. I did not hear back from them and then e-mailed a follow-up inquiry 10 days later. Again, I heard nothing. It was as if I had to beg them to spend $350 dollars with them! I finally called the week before the anticipated date and was told "we only call if we have availability". I was told otherwise during my original call. It was amazing that during my final call to inquire that the person I spoke to completely missed the point that I was told they would call me back and they never did. She also said they had been booked for that weekend for "quite a while" which is not true because they was availability three weeks earlier (but again, only with lodging). I would like to know how many of those reservations were made without lodging after all. I wish Thunder Bay Resort all the best in business - nothing stays the same and unfortunately, if the time ever comes where they come looking for my business, I will not respond based on this experience.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank BigBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddyBoysDad, Owner at Thunder Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
You do not need to stay in our lodging to do The Elk Viewing, Carriage Ride, Gourmet Dinner and Wine Tasting, which is offered on select dates during summer, fall and winter. We welcome guests who are not staying with us when we have availability and about 35 % of the people who do the dinner ride are not staying with us. Usually it is not an issue. But there are a number of dates where we do give priority to people staying with us - Murder Mystery Weekends, Wine Lovers Weekends, New Years Eve, and when we have tour groups or other groups who have booked who have reserved a block of rooms and may release some of them shortly before arrival based on their final count. That may be short notice - less than a week. On winter weekends we do 2 rides a day - midday and evening on Saturday, and one or two a day on Sunday depending n demand. While I prefer the mid-day rides in winter (warmer, better lighting for taking photos), many guests view Saturday Evening as the prime winter ride, and those spots will be held for guests who stay with us until a few days before hand if we have not yet filled our lodging. We don't have a large number of lodging units - 34 and our objective is to fill them. If non-lodging guest have some flexibility we can usually keep them happy. Some people get very insistent and it is not always possible to keep everyone happy. I don't know the dates and the details, but we should have called this gentleman back if we made that commitment. I regret that we did not call him back. I suspect he may not have found the answer satisfactory as it sounds like we filled the ride with lodging guests. .Jack Matthias, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Thunder Bay Golf Resort has wonderful suites, villas, chalets, RV parking, etc. 18 hole golf course, package deals that include mystery dinners, and much more. Our group took the horse drawn carriage 1 hour ride through the woods viewing up close the many elk they raise. Arriving at a lovely cabin where we had a 5 course gourmet meal, all cooked on a wood burning stove and served with 5 wines. Our stay included the room, carriage ride to see the elkk, dinner, and breakfast. It is family owned and they are wonderful! Cross country skiing and Sleigh rides are offered in the winter to the dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilst1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

We found this gem while looking online for things to do on the East coast oF Michigan.
We would recomend it as a romantic couple getaway or even as a large family gathering/event. We went in October to see fall colors but it would be awesome in the winter too we think. Thunder Bay Golf Resort in Hilman, MI. is easy to find on ST RT32. We drove in on a cloudy Friday and had a nice Pizza dinner at the clubhouse with Hot applecider drinks.
We stayed in a Jacuzi Suite. Ours was a ground floor suite in the middle of a Chalet style building within walking distance of the clubhouse. The front room was occupied by two queen beds, a low dresser upon which sat a TV and a full sized closet with floor to ceiling mirrored doors.
Thru a door (closeable) was a compact Kitchenette. Apt sized Stove, Refrige, coffee pot and sink to your left side. A peek in the cabinets revealed somwhat mismatched dishes for a setting of four. On your right side was first a door to the jacuzi Tub/shower room and then a door to the bathroom with the toilet and a long countertop with one sink and a large mirror. Both the Jacuzi and bath rooms had heat lamps.
On past the kitchenette and bathroom thru another Closeable door was the living space.
This room is larger than the bedroom and has a small tabel and chairs, two recliners, a pullout couch, cofee table, side tables and a wall unit that conceals a full sized Murphy bed. At the back wall was an electric fireplace. This sounds like alot but it is a good sized room and even with the Murphy Bed open has plenty of space. Over the fireplace is a wall mounted TV. There is a door on the back wall that opens onto a porch that runs the length of the building. The view is lovely of the golf coursefrom the pourch.
In a separate largeGazebo type buliding next door was a Hot Tub free for use. We did not check it out as we had forgot our swimsuits.
The Beds were clean and firm.
On Saturday we drove into Alpena, MI and looked around at the marina and Old Town areas. Also took short drive south on US23 to see the Sturgeon Point Light House.
The Elk Viewing and Gormet Dinner Experiance:
Saturday evening at 5pm we met a large group of fellow visitors at the clubhouse and after a brief checkin we recieved a heavy wool blanket and headed outside to the awaiting carridges.
There were 84 people gathered and so they had 4 big open horse-drawn carridges with large bench seats and a roof. It was a cool evening but the ride is slow and the wool blankets keep you warm.
Once evrybody was aboard we started down the lane that passes the guest accomadations and cottages. Each wagon had a resort representative who told a short history of how they developed this activity over the years. We turned off the paved lane and crossed the Thunder Bay river on a wooden bridge. Once on the otherside we passed thru a 12 foot high gate and fence. Our guide explained that a motivated Whitetail deer can jump a 10 foot high one and so all the exterior fences are this high.
We wove thru the woods and spooked a large whitetail buck and doe as we crested the first hill. After a short while we saw thru the trees a group of elk on the next hill over. We rode somemore and came up on the otherside of that hill and saw about 12 elk cows and young bulls. there were a few deer in there too. Some more were seen as we crossed into the next section of the reserve. One very large Boss bull elk was laying down eating hay while two only slightly smaller bulls were sparing near a dust wallow only about 30 yards away. We stopped here, got out and took many pictures thru the fence.
After loading back up we traveled a short while more, thru the large gate on the other side and back a quarter mile thru the beautiful woods. A Large log cabin sat nestled in the trees. Wood smoke came from the chimny and carried the smell of something good cooking. The gusts all disembarked the wagons and we took pictures with the horses and in front of the cabin. once inside it was beautiful. A valted ceiling with elk antler chandeliers, quilts and nostalgic decorations abounded as well as many stuffed animals. There was one huge moose, two trophy deer, a beaver, wolf, bobcat and many more. Brightly lit and welcoming was the room. The one wall was taken up with a huge fireplace and sitting area and the other was a counter behind which was two large wood stoves. The meal was prepare in these beautiful antiques. The Meal was served in 5 stages and each was wonderful. Samples of local wine were offered as well as Michigan cherry coffee. Everything was hot and delicious. The crown pork roast was excellant!, it almose fell apart it was so moist and tender. During the meal the hosts came around and talked about the elk and showed us a real elk horn. It was lighter than you'd think for it's size. They demonstrated an Elk call and there was brief presentation of a product called Velvet Antler, a traditional dietary suplement made from elk antlers. Actually they mentioned this product several times during the ride and dinner. They are firm believers in it's ability to support your health.
The return Trip to the clubhouse in the dark was uneventful and somewhat quieter as everyone was very full and happy.

  • Liked — Large spacious rooms, quiet.
  • Disliked — Rooms were pretty dark at night, having a night light would have been nice.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodstock_n_Snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddyBoysDad, Owner at Thunder Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review. And also for a good suggestion - that the rooms are dark at night and could use night lights. We are putting in night lights in all bedrooms, baths and living rooms. While we are on an ongoing campaign to go "Green" and significantly reduce our energy consumption, safety and comfort are important issues. But adding 166 night lights in 34 units might seem like a step backwards, but we have found an acceptable solution. The new LED night lights are now affordable. While they are about double the cost of a conventional 4 watt nightlight, the savings in electricity pays back the higher cost in a little over a year - about 30 cents versus $1.75. And the bulbs last 10 years instead of 2 to 3 years. So we can light all the rooms in all our units for about $50 for the year. Energy conservation steps we are taking include compact florescent bulbs, LED exterior building and Parking Lot lighting, new very high efficiency washers and dryers, and Variable Frequency Drives on golf course irrigation pumps. The savings are significant and most pay for themselves in two to five years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillman
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Alpena
21.1 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
19.7 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
23.4 mi away
Churchill Pointe Inn
Churchill Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in Hubbard Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
21.2 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Resort

Property: Thunder Bay Resort
Address: 27800 M-32, Hillman, MI 49746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Hillman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunder Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on over 400 acres of Northern Michigan's stunning landscape, Thunder Bay Resort is the perfect retreat for your weekend escape! Complete with a state-of-the-art, Full-Service RV park, Deluxe Lodging poised on our pristine 18-hole golf course and a 160 acre Elk preserve, Thunder Bay Resort is truly a destination for all seasons. Enjoy the outdoors? Then take advantage of the amenities hosted by Thunder Bay Resort including snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, biking, hiking, horseshoes, and the Resort's award-winning, signature Elk Viewing Carriage Ride, Gourmet Dinner & Wine Tasting Event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Thunder Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Hotel Hillman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing