We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is a modern oasis in a traditional town. Our room was unique and comfortable with a king bed and a giant soaking tub. All the staff were extremely helpful and professional. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner in the restaurant located on the top floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelwise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Holland. Great to here you had a great stay. Thank you for writing a review and enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    115
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
100
193
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We were very excited to try this hotel after a stay at a similar hotel (modern, LEED certified ) in the suburbs of Chicago. The location to downtown holland was biggest reason we booked this hotel. Upon arriving to the front desk two staff members were helping a guest and the wait time to be asked to step forward was near 5 minutes.
Our room (414) may of been the smallest hotel room we have ever been in. The king bed took up close to 50% of the sq footage of the room. A small desk was in the entry way of the room. Tried to ask if we could upgrade to a larger room or possibly switch to a layout that worked for us traveling with a newborn. We were told they were 100% full and all rooms were the same size. No effort put into at least pretending to check and possibly accommodate us to a new room. Upon returning to the room and noticing the map on the back of the door, there was not a doubt in my mind that we got the smallest room on the floor.
The hotel was very nicely kept, and very modern. Like I said if you plan on sledding the day in downtown holland being a block away is a huge plus.
But the high price point (one of the more expensive hotels we've stayed at) does not warrant the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rusty0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for giving us a review. We are very happy you chose to stay with us, and it's unfortunate to hear your stay wasn't as great as you wanted it to be. All our king rooms do indeed have the same square footage, so with the exception of different layouts which might make others feel bigger, they are the same size. If you are ever in the Holland area again, we would be more than happy to get you into a room which you might like more. Thanks again and safe travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is very modern, clean, and "green". We liked the friendly employees, homemade scones for breakfast, and great room. We enjoyed a suite on the third floor with a big soaking tub and walk in shower. The beds are dreamy and bamboo sheets soft. The hotel has nice parking and within walking distance of shopping on 8th Street. We also ate at City Vu restaurant on top and enjoyed a pizza. Try the Mexican Hot Chocolate, it is great. If you are looking for a different experience, make a plan to stay at City Flats. We will return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and it was quiet. Our view was towards the parking, but still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our entire staff. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Pros: Location. Three blocks from the concert we were attending that night.
Cons: Make the rooms comfortable, convenient and pleasant to stay in. Include a reasonable breakfast buffet.
This hotel has a wacky, ultra modern decor which we thought would be fun and interesting to see. But like a work of modern art, the designers of these rooms valued modern and different over comfortable and convenient. If any of the designers had actually slept in one of these rooms, I'm sure they would have made many changes. For example, in order to turn off the bed side lamps, you actually had to get out of bed and walk over to the light switch on the wall! The bed had a soft, squishy mattress that felt like a hammock. Even with a better mattress, I wouldn't have slept well since every time the heat went on, it sounded like an 18 wheeler was driving thorugh the room. The goofy, artistic looking shower dribbled water down straight on your head, so if you didn't want to get your hair wet, you were out of luck since there were not shower caps. This was also the first hotel room I've been in years in the US or Europe which did not have a coffee maker in the room. You could go down to the bar/lobby and buy a cup of coffee for $3.00, which seemed less than convenient. The restaurant featured featured small portions of "trendy" but not especially tasty food served on tables covered with brown butcher paper! I ordered soup but couldn't eat it since they had only given me a fork and couldn't find any soup spoons! I could go on and on but I think you get the idea here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarpDivaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't what you thought it would be. Our design is very different from other hotels, and are sorry to hear that your room wasn't very comfortable for you. Most things are a matter of personal preference and unfortunately our softer mattresses and simulated rain shower heads just didn't work for you and we are very sorry. We will definitely check our in-room heating systems to make sure they are all working properly, since they do not normally work so loudly. Finally, we have chosen not to put coffee makers in the room because of energy usage and increased waste, but we always have complimentary coffee available in the lobby, 24/7.

If you have any other questions please feel free to email me at jack.peaphon@cityflatshotel.com and hopefully I can be of more help. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

City Flats is a fun, well run, eco-friendly hotel. The room we had (king single) was excellent. The design of the hotel is modern Scandinavian and is quite beautiful. Our room was set up like a small suite, with a sitting area and TV that rotated between sitting area and bed. Beer geeks will be happy to know that they hotel is only a block away from the New Holland Brewing Company pub. Rate included a small continential breakfast buffet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderdaysinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for choosing CityFlatsHotel. Isn't it great when you can just park the car and visit such a great downtown (and great beer!) just by walking? Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the City Flats hotel towards the end of a 30 day road trip across the country. I chose this hotel because it is one of the few LEED certified hotels that I have encountered, and my fiancé and I are both architects pursuing LEED accreditation. The hotel was extremely clean and obviously well designed, though we did feel as though a lot of the materials chosen were a bit "cold" or "hard". Regardless, City Flats was very accommodating and we appreciated the attention to detail put into the design and maintenance. We had hoped that our room would include a mini-fridge, but the concierge was kind of enough to let us use their staff fridge during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank architectsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you were so excited by, and personally attached to our LEED certification. Our hotel in Grand Rapids has also recently received LEED Gold certification as well. Thanks again, and en joy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is another review of City Flats, but totally better than my last visit. This just goes to show you that room selection is critical. Our last stay was in a handicap accessible room and we found it didn't excite us. The open shower was weird and the lighting was poor. This time I got a room with two beds and found it much brighter, the bathroom and separate shower were wonderful and overall, I think a much better sleep quality as well. The best thing was the incredible service. I was in town due to my mother being hospitalized and had no idea if I would be there one night or more. The front desk staff booked me for two nights and promised I could cancel the second night without penalty if I found out Mom was being discharged the following day. Great service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking area toward 6th street are quieter than those facing 7th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for reviewing the CityFlatsHotel Holland again. We are very happy your recent stay was enjoyable and you really liked your room. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
1.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing