We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco-friendly, comfortable and modern hotel with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly, comfortable and modern hotel with charm”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at City Flats in Holland two years ago for a wedding. The first thing we noticed is the clean, modern and eco-friendly aspects of the facilities. And then we laid on the bed and never wanted to leave. Those beds are incredibly comfortable. The sheets and blankets made a busy weekend away relaxing.

The staff are all very professional, but also warm and personable. The food in the bar and at brunch is all very good. You could easily just stay in the hotel and never leave all weekend. But it is really the best and only option you should choose for a stay in Holland. You can walk to everything you need, or just rent a bike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review! We are absolutely thrilled you have such a great time when you join us. You can visit our website if you were ever interested in purchasing the linens or mattresses. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    115
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
100
193
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent one night of our 10th wedding anniversary weekend at City Flats. It is pricey but the staff was friendly, check in quick and the hotel was clean. We were greeted with a "welcome" and "congratulations" card from the staff which was thoughtful. This hotel is environmentally "very green" which is good but even though the furnishings were lovely we, personally, felt it had a cold feeling. We had dinner at the 5th floor City View Bistro and the food and service were good. The asparagus soup was excellent! The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from Holland's shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizard90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Congratulations again! and thank you for choosing us. We are so pleased you enjoyed such a nice time on your special day. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were in town for a wedding and spent two nights here. First, the location is fantastic for walking to all the shops, reastaurants and breweries in downtown Holland. We even walked to the farm market on Saturday. Our room was amazing. I love that it was not a typical hotel room. The beds and sheets are amazing! However the sun came in around the edges of the curtains early so curtains that extend past the edges of the windows would be nice for sleeping in. I really love that the hotel is so Eco friendly and LEED certified. All the staff members we encountered were really friendly and very down to earth. And I loved the front row hybrid vehicle parking. I never had to hunt for a spot!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is so great to be able to park and just walk anywhere you want to go. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Enjoy safe travels this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The facility was very nice, everyone was very friendly and you can't beat the location for hanging out in Holland. Here was the problem: We stayed (on vacation) for 4 nights in room 402. The first morning, we were awoken around 7:00 am by thuds and screeches coming from the restaurant above us. We reported this to the front desk and they said that employees were not supposed to be moving furniture in the restaurant so early in the morning and she would talk to the restaurant manager. The next morning, everything was fine. We were able to sleep in. However, mornings 3 and 4, we were again woken up by the thuds and screeches. When we checked out, we mentioned this again. The agent at the front desk said that housekeeping reports to the restaurant at 5:00 am where they begin to clean. She said she would mention this to management. I hope this practice has changed and other 4th floor guests can sleep in if they want to. Unfortunately, we did not have that opportunity.

Room Tip: Request a room that is NOT on the 4th floor below the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We apologize that your sleep was interrupted by noise. I have sent this information to our management team who is reviewing the problem and will correct it. Our housekeepers definitely do not start cleaning the restaurant at 5am, so we are investigating the noise. Thank you again for writing a review so we can improve our guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best Bed I have ever slept in!! Amazing pillow and sheets...to the point that you wanted to buy them and you actually can online. Although my pocketbook said no. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 is we felt it was high price for the amenities available.No coffee maker in room although when we were checking out we saw free coffee in the lobby however, no one mentioned it upon check in. The hotel has a great location, walking distance to downtown. Great shops and places to eat in downtown you could easily spend the day. Holland is a wonderful town. Hotel was very clean. Construction was under way in the lobby. The modern decor was very unique. Shower had issues sprayed up and on back wall. They do have a gym, no pool. Restaurant on site although we didn't try it.

Room Tip: Ask if construction is done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have decided not to have coffee makers because of our LEED certification and the extra waste and energy they take and sanitary reasons, however we the complimentary coffee and tea is available in the lobby 24/7. Our construction should be done this week, and when it is we will have an all new outlet will will serve hot breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Run-down and tired, we were looking for a relaxing weekend and remembered our old friend, Cityflats. We booked a room for 4 with the hotel directly, and were given a rate of $199/night plus tax and other fees.
We stayed June 13-15. If you are coming soon, be sure to ask if the hotel is still under construction. The construction is in the main lobby area, but this creates more than just a noise problem. Upon our arrival the workers were hard at work, we were shouting to hear the woman who was checking us in and she was shouting instructions back to us. She let us know the work on the hotel will stop around 6pm and they do not work on the weekend, good news for us! My husband noticed that they had left their tools all over, and a hammer was near the opening of the elevator. He pointed it out to them that this was not safe and someone could trip. Instead of saying 'thank you' they chewed him out. The hotel staff did nothing or perhaps felt powerless to do anything. We also noticed a foul odor in the hotel. We were told they were downwind from a treatment center, yet they opened the hotel doors for some fresh air. My husband suspects that a tile broke and the odor is sewage gas. Be sure to ask if the smell is gone if you are staying here in the near future. The smell is mainly in the lobby area and in the hallway, we stayed on the fourth floor and it was not as strong in the room, however, we were motivated to buy a $15 scented candle from the nearby shopping area. If you already have reservations here, it would be smart to bring something to mask the odor.
The hotel mainly caters to business travelers who stay mid-week. The last time we stayed the hotel was deserted. They have a theater room we enjoyed immensely. We realize it mainly is for business meetings but when no one is using it the hotel graciously has let us watch a movie in there. We brought a few movies and wanted to see one, especially Friday since it was windy and cold outside, nixing our outdoor plans. The problem was that the construction workers put their supplies in the theater room. The manager was supposed to come in first thing Saturday morning, at 8:00 am. Then we were told she was not going to be there until 11:30pm Saturday evening. We were leaving Sunday morning so there was no point to talking to her this morning. The front desk staff were very nice and felt bad, but they are powerless to change anything. From our viewpoint, why not store such things in the lower level? An empty hotel room? A rented U-Haul? They are the only hotel in town with a theater room and it was completely useless to their guests. If you are a business traveler counting on this feature, it is important that you call to be sure you can have this room! It seems reasonable to let customers know about the construction in advance, or offer a discount since they are unable to deliver the relaxing experience that most guests would expect. We were given $30 off our bill, but it seems dishonest and greedy to let people come without any warning, then make them deal with the situation.
The room itself is modern and nice. There is no mini fridge or microwave. We had two double beds facing opposite walls, each with its own tv. There is a large desk and plenty of storage. The bath products smell yummy. We like that they shower, toilet and sink/mirror area are all separate, allowing a family to all get ready at the same time. The shower does not have a lock or door, it has a clear-and-green sliding door. You also may want your robe and slippers, the floor is vinyl tiles.
One more recommendation: avoid the fourth floor. We were planning on sleeping in Saturday, I usually sleep like I am dead. Instead I was awoken around 7:30 am to something heavy being dragged across the floor. Since the restaurant is above us, I'm assuming they were moving tables. I don't know if the walls are thin or if the workers were loud but I could hear a man and woman conversing and the tables being moved. We thought the fourth floor would protect us from the construction noise, but since the workers were gone on the weekend, I would recommend weekend guests stay on a lower floor, but midweek guests stay on a higher floor, at least during the construction.
The staff is friendly and want to help, but they are not given the tools to help. Someone made excellent choices with the décor of the hotel, the products guests use while they stay, the location. The staff seems like they want to help, but the management is going to drive people away. They should have a discounted "construction" sale, but instead they try to get away with charging full price, making improvements during the busy summer travel time. They are unavailable when they are supposed to come in and avoid customer issues by not showing up until it is too late to deal with them. It also is a poor decision to take away the only feature that makes this hotel unique: the theater room.
We had been dreaming about returning to this cool hotel, now I don't think we will ever return.

Room Tip: Call and ask if the construction is still going on (mid-week). If it is, the theater room will not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review, we truly use these to better our guest experience and your comments will be gone over with our leadership team. We are very sorry the construction inconvenienced you so much. It is a short project taking place in the lobby which will last about 2 weeks (with one week now finished). They are gone by about 4pm on Friday, so no one should have been bothered over the weekend. We would always love to give the Theatre Room for guests to use, when it has not been rented or is in use, such as was the case during construction. Unfortunately, there were very large pieces of equipment stored there that cannot go into our basement because of the size (since they won't fit down the stairs or elevator). If you return to Holland and stay with us again please let us know in advance and we would love to reserve the Theatre for you. Our General Manager did reach out to your husband Friday since she had to change her schedule on Saturday to cover for a sick employee, but if you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us again, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved this hotel. The rooms were impeccable, and very modern in the decor...extremely roomy and not all cookie cutter rooms like chains are. We had 4 rooms due to our daughter being married and we loved each room. Very quiet and in an exceptional location...right across from the Holland Brewery which delighted the college kids. We would love to come back and stay again when we can enjoy more of Holland. We found this hotel to be exceptional and hated to leave our room. Great time! Stay here!

Room Tip: The rooms are all great, very roomy and you wont be disappointed. This hotel does not seem to be set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, we truly appreciate it! Congratulations on your daughter's wedding! We would love to welcome you again soon when you can visit Holland at your leisure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
1.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing