We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roach Hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have recently had a terrible exprience at the ValuePlace in Holland Michigan. I called and the girl on the phone made it seem like she was giving me a great deal and wasn't charging me a deposit. I was charged $226.00 for the week. I spent the first day and night (Monday) with out a working light in the bathroom. The floor in the bathroom and kitchen were filthy! I found roaches in the kictchen! So, I called front desk and told them, I also told them how sticky and dirty the floor was and asked if they would swap out the towels because I was going to use them to clean the floors. I went to front desk to exchange towels and see what they would do about the roaches, no apologies were given! Instead the girl got defensive and told me that sometimes if they use to much cleaner the floors get sticky. The towels were dark brown and black from all the dirt I cleaned up! I called again and asked about roach spray,i was told maintaince has it and will do it in am. Why not aplogize and offer another room?! Day four, I went to the front desk to find a different girl working, so I asked her if they had sprayed for the roaches and asked her what they could do. She was very rude and again no apology! She acted like I was lying and told me that this is the first time she has heard of roaches in that room. I told her that moths were in my shower as well and I was very concerned they( the roaches) would get in my things and I didnt want to take them with me.Nothing was said or done! So after a long week at a new job, my six year old daughter and I wake up early on saturday to roaches all over the kitchen walls (we took pictures) and I was hoping on relaxing today! I called extension 500 for someone to come look and spray but I was just hung up on! We aren't eating in or hanging out in the room due to the situation! I would've liked another room or a refund so we could've went somewhere clean and bug free! I've worked in the hospitality industry for over 15 years myself, and I'm mainly upset over the lack of concern or resolution! Wish I had a good experience and could've stayed for the month. But I dont feel comfortable in this environment with my family and now I feel forced to find somewhere else to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Value Place prides itself on maintaining a clean and safe environment for our guests. I apologize that your stay did not meet those expectations. We have scheduled service with a pest control company to investigate this issue. Please send the pictures you took so we can look into this further.

Sincerely,

Value Place Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    28
    3
    3
    17
See reviews for
24
5
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Jen and Nicole went over and beyond to ensure me a great stay! Handicap room was very convenient. I will recommend to my friends. Very affordable and easy access to shopping and my friends. Rooms were very clean and handicap friendly. Very convenient to all locations that I wanted. Grounds were kept up and really clean.

Room Tip: get reservations as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79john79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Please be aware when staying at this hotel. The staff is very unfriendly and DO NOT do their jobs. Most of the time they are complaining about their pay and their general duties. I stayed here and my smoke alarm was blaring through the night I COULD NOT reach ANYONE after 45 minutes of the alarm going off I started to wonder what would really happen if there was a fire, would I die? Also I was in 3 different rooms that were INFESTED with bed bugs. Was totally shocked because this hotel was super clean. The photos I have could be of some use to the local news I'm sure. This place is constantly having a BRAND NEW staff every month or so. Also if you have children please keep them away from here! My 5 yr old was so badly bitten by bed bug we thought he had chicken pox until we took him to the doctor then we searched our room and sure enough an infestation was in our bed and head boards. Also they allow sex offenders and felons to reside here even though they state in the policy that its strictly forbidden. Over all the stay was a nightmare and they will chance the prices on you EVERY week and if you dont like it they pretty much tell you to efff yourself. THIS STAFF SHOWS NO COMPASSION AT ALL!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariah105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I've stayed at many hotels across the US, and I can easily say this is one of the best. I've been here for one month and plan to stay at least one more. In addition to being clean to almost a military standard (they even wash the blankets and bedspreads), it is very well managed. The staff is consistently professional and attentive. Having dealt with many hotels, I'm used to sometimes having to deal with staff who just don't really care about their jobs. It's the opposite here. They wear uniforms and perform their duties very efficiently. While relaxed and very friendly, security is also taken seriously, and I feel very safe here. It is uncommon for a place this inexpensive to keep standards consistently this high. Smoking is kept in a designated area so it's not blowing into the windows, and there are no drunks or dealers wandering around. The staff do regular patrols through the building and lots 24 hours a day, which prevents this type of thing from happening--which is usually a problem in inexpensive hotels. I haven't seen the police here at all in the last month. I like the fact that they are able to keep the place safe and comfortable for everyone while being very friendly as well. That's not always an easy thing to do. I think the ability to balance the two is a great reflection on the management as well as the staff. In addition to being inexpensive and very well managed, it's also one of the best locations I've seen--relative to what's nearby. There are two grocery stores across the street, Target and Walmart are a short walk, and the cabs are inexpensive and reliable. There's a mall across the highway, and pretty much anything I could ever need is immediately nearby. I almost moved into a regular apartment complex today, but decided that I just don't want to give this up. It's just an amazing deal, it's clean, safe, adjacent to everything, and gives me everything I need.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First off, I thought it wasn't such a bad deal when I made the reservation, when I arrived to my room I noticed the room had a strong odor, but assumed it must of been from their 99 cleaning process. Of course I could hear the door slam and people talk but it was still cheap. I only rented my room for a week and two days before I was scheduled to leave, Wednesday, I found out that the office was going to be closed for Good Friday. I spoke to a manager that same day and was told that there would still be somebody on call so I may check out and get my 100.00 deposit back. When it was time for my departure I called their after hour office number and the guy on the line asked me if I could wait till the next day to check out so I explained to him that I had a train to catch and I just needed to check out and get my deposit. After over 5 minutes of arguing with me on the phone he finally told me to call back when I'm ready to check out. I DID JUST THAT and he ignored all 15-20 of my calls. it was 7:30 am, nothing ridiculous. I had no choice but to leave the keys on the counter and take off because my train left at 8 am. It's been almost a month since my stay and after all those run around the staff pulled over the phone I barely got them to pull my file and I'll hopefully be getting my deposit soon, HOPEFULLY. Also about a week after I checked out my daughter showed symptoms of thrush, the doctor said she probably got it a little over a week ago. She just turned 8 months old and had never gotten thrush until then. Our stay at the Value Place, Holland, MI was the only environmental difference around her at that time. So if you plan on taking small children there, be weary about what she/he touches. Like I said, I thought the smell was from their cleaning process, but I'm not too sure if they actually clean or just make it look clean. So over all service was terrible, value was descent, sleep was o.k, cleanliness seemed good, but wasn't, room was convenient; came with small stove, fridge, and microwave

Room Tip: don't stay too close to the main door, my room was right next to it and all I heard was people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleLilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I am Dutch and rented a room for my 20-year old sun at VP for 4 months, starting August 2011. Reservation process went smooth and i negotiated a good deal. I joined my sun upon arrival and we got a good reception. Our one bed + sofa room was occupied, but we got an upgrade to a two bed studio. That was good news, as he could keep that room till the end. Apart from some problems with the tub (clogged), my sun had an excellent stay up to the end, just before xmas. I have been there 3 times in total and did not regret our decision to leave my sun there for a couple of months. It is not a 4 star Hilton, but it provides great value for the price you pay. Recommended for long stayers!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We are pleased to hear that you and your son had a great experience with us at Value Place! We wish you well in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

First let me start by telling everyone I never write reviews and this is the first one I have ever writen.
- The beds are hard as a rock
- I requested non-smoking and after trying a couple of rooms, I was still put in a room that smelled like an ash trey
- The Male night manager is a "PSYCHO", I am the most non-confrontational person and he went nuts yelling at me when I broght my concerns to his attention. Plus I saw him yelling at another guest while leaving the building another day. I'm not sure how he is not fired yet.
- There are odd noises and banging pipe noises that will keep you awake all hours of the night
- They will hit you up with multiple hidden charges
Run away , don't walk from this hotel. Pay just a little more for a place that knows how to treat their guest

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Thomas_Edwards34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland

Property: WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland
Address: 2630 Van Ommen Dr, Holland, MI 49424-8315 (Formerly Value Place Holland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites NAME (formerly Value Place NAME) is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. Kitchens in every room. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. - Front desk opened and staffed Mon. - Fri. 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM | Sat. 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM | Sun. 3:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Pet-friendly Hotel - Daily housekeeping included in nightly rate. - Private bathroom in each suite (ADA and ADA w/ Roll-In shower available). - Guests can book by the night. Weekly and extended stay rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Grand Rapids Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Holland Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing