We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottonwood Inn is such a treasure, we can't wait to go back!”
Review of Cottonwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottonwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Holland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Cottonwood is a charming retreat in the beautiful town if Holland, MI. Liz, the innkeeper, is so gracious and welcoming. Cottonwood Inn is impeccably clean, yet warm and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The first morning we had Belgian waffles loaded with fresh strawberries, sausage on the side. The second morning we had a blueberry cream cheese French toast bake with bacon on the side. Snacks, coffee, water, tea were always available and orange juice with breakfast. Holland offers plenty to do, we enjoyed a day of resale shopping and didn't even have enough time to stop at all the shops or any antique stores! We did visit the Holland Museum and was given a private guided tour by Bob- it was wonderful. The downtown is true Norman Rockwell-esque with lots of shops, boutiques, and eateries. We'd love to return to Cottonwood Inn again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyandJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

There is nothing better than waking up to fresh brewed coffee, a hot fire, and great conversation with Liz the innkeeper. All the little extras did not go unnoticed, from dinner and shopping recommendations and information of the areas main attractions. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, peaceful beautiful home, the kindness heartfelt. I would highly recommend the Cottonwood Inn and can't wait to go back!! Jayne

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonwoodInn B, Owner at Cottonwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Jayne, It was great to meet you and have you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed your time here. Looking forward to seeing you again some day if it works out. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed in the cozy John Calvin room, complete with a comfortable bed, fireplace and private bath. The room offers a quaint setting inside and the house offers a larger relaxing gathering area. Liz, the owner, is sweeter than seems real, accomdating and very helpful in suggesting locations and restaurants to visit. It is conveniently located close to the water and lighthouse. My stay was outstanding!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonwoodInn B, Owner at Cottonwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Carolyn, The pleasure was all mine. I truly enjoyed having you stay. Blessings to you! Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived not knowing what to expect as we have only stayed at one other B & B. We will be returning to the Cottonwood Inn again soon. Liz the owner was really helpful suggesting places to visit and eat. The breakfast excellent. If all B&B's were this good hotel's and motel's would be have a hard time staying in business.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonwoodInn B, Owner at Cottonwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear David, Thank you for your kind remarks. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and your wife and look forward to meeting again in the future if it works out. Blessings to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have Celiac disease and was so pleased to learn that Liz, the owner, is a dietitian and truly understood what I could and could not eat. Plus, she is a wonderful cook! Liz suggested very nice nearby restaurants and activities as well. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. It was nice to be in a peaceful neighborhood but still close to town and the lake. I also received a primitive rug hooking demonstration (which I was super excited about). Liz knits and spins (as in her own yarn) too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K7162DFMichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonwoodInn B, Owner at Cottonwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay (and your primitive rug hooking demonstration). It was great to meet you and your husband. Hoping we get to meet again some day. Blessings to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cottonwood Inn for two nights, just after Christmas. We live only a short distance away, but the quiet and tranquil setting seemed light years away from the noise and chaos of our everyday lives. We enjoyed sitting in the upstairs loft area and reading on the sofas. We stayed in the Jonathan Edwards room and enjoyed it very much. It's very cozy, with cool sloped ceilings and exposed beams. It is also the only upstairs room with an attached bath. The timber frame architecture of the Inn is great, and the interior design is very subdued. Very tasteful. Breakfast was great, with a fire in the fire place both mornings. Liz is a gracious host and seemed to have thought of everything. Holland is our hometown so we were not concerned with sight seeing, but it is close to downtown which is full of unique shops and restaurants. It is also close to Lake Michigan which you can access at a number of points between Holland and Saugatuck. We enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonwoodInn B, Owner at Cottonwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Chad and Lindy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and sharing pictures. Blessings to you both and hopefully we will see you again! Liz and Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had an awesome time. The inn keeper is very nice and sociable if you desire conversation. Very secluded in a nice little wooded neighborhood. It's no more than 20 minutes from downtown and many of the sights around holland. The breakfast was amazing as well. I definitely plan to go back and stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
920 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pigeon Creek Inn
Pigeon Creek Inn
#3 of 10 in Holland
45 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 19 in Saugatuck
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Holland, MI
5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Inn

Address: 4690 Cottonwood Dr, Holland, MI 49423-8926
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Holland
Price Range: £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic Christian Bed and Breakfast just minutes from downtown Holland, Saugatuck, beaches, lighthouse, parks and many other attractions. Sit back and relax with a cup of premium fresh ground coffee or tea in one of the many common areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing