We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, Pleasant, & Picturesque”

Windmill Island Gardens
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Windmill Island Gardens is home to de Zwaan windmill, the last mill allowed to be transported from the Netherlands. de Zwaan still functions by grinding locally-grown grain into flour that is sold to visitors and local businesses. A highlight of visiting is a tour of this historic working windmill. Visitors can enjoy music from our antique Dutch street organ given to the City of Holland by the City of Amsterdam after World War II. Children can also ride on our antique carousel from the Netherlands. There are several other replica Dutch buildings and shops. The Island is home to beautiful gardens which feature tulips in the spring followed by beautiful annuals and perennials throughout the summer. Please note that the Island is open seasonally, April 15 - October 1, 2017. Last tickets sold at 5 pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Pretty, Pleasant, & Picturesque”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The tulips are gone but there are other flowers blooming and keeping Windmill Island picture perfect. We wandered through the greenhouse and the cute shops. We enjoyed walking the paved road around the windmill. Do take the time and tour the working windmill (about 25 minutes). It is informative and we learned just how ingenious people were 250 years ago.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    253
    118
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The weather was cold and drizzly but all the people who worked there was warm and friendly. The ticket lady offered to come out of the booth and take our picture which we did. For the $8 fee you can spend a couple of hours and enjoy yourself. The windmill tour was very informative. Climbing up to the top was not too much effort and you should do it. They had a great gift shop. We enjoyed the movie and walking around very much. It was a little early for the tulips but I am sure they would have been beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holland Culteral Alliance”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Organ, windmill, and carrousel were sent as gifts from the original Holland. Flowers were fantastic. Tour of the working windmill was great. Thank you volunteers. Beautiful!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zibblezort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My GPS could not find Windmill Island but we didnt give up! After going around in circles for 15 minutes we found it! The landscaping, flowers, grounds are beautiful. The girls dressed in period wear were friendly, offered to watch our dogs if we wanted to go up to the the top of the windmill!
Purchased a handmade wooden bowl in the gift shop. Took tons of photos!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is a must see in Holland”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Gardens are beautiful if you catch the flowers just right. We did this in early May on way to the tulip parade. Toured the working windmill. It is the only working windmill in the US. Brought over from Holland. They sell flour to the local restaurants. It is fascinating to tour all the floors. The guides explain the workings of each floor. Best to go as soon as you arrive & then visit the rest of the grounds. When we came out, there was a long line waiting to go in. Worth the visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windmill Island Gardens also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Windmill Island Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing