We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Lake Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Ranch Resort
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lake Ranch Resort is a good place to stay. It is on the lake. It is walking distance to Lake Michigan (about a half mile). The resort is a complex of condos. We had our family reunion there. We had rooms 9, 13 and 23. 9 is for two people. 13 is for 4 people and 23 can accommodate 8 people. Each place was nicely decorated. No you don't receive shampoo and bottled water with your room but you get so much more. We had refrigerators, kitchen sinks, beds, bathrooms, and it was all very clean! The entire place is clean. The pool, the gas grills, the gazebo, the picnic tables and the landscaping were all clean, neat and well maintained. The management could not have been more helpful and welcoming and more importantly hands-on! They care about the resort and the condition of the resort reflect that. Get your groceries from the WalMart or Meijer in town. Cook on the gas grills right on the docks to the lake and eat dinner at the picnic tables while you watch the boats go by. The pictures on the resort website are accurate. Our room number 9 was exactly the way the picture shows right down to the blanket on the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cab101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Nice place with good location. My husband caught the biggest bass if his life 25 feet from the door of our room. A bit more flexibility on guests and parking would have been appreciated, but had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I read some reviews prior to going to Lake Ranch Resort and my expectation was lower than it should have been. This is a great place to stay but you have to have the right expectation. This is a converted older motel. We stayed in room 23 and the manager at the place could not have been more professional than he was. He did a great job and even brought us a stick of butter for the steaks we grilled. The pool is great for a small place. If you are someone who likes to stay at high end resorts or need all the amenities of a 5 star resort, then this place is not for you. It is exactly what it sells itself to be, great location, converted motel, hometown feel, very relaxing and all the amenities you would need for a getaway. The kids loved the place. The only feedback I would have for anyone requesting room 23 is the windows let in a lot of sun so sleeping in is tough so bring a couple towels to pin up to darken the room and you can hear everything between the two rooms. We had 7 and used the coach and all had space to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We traveled to Michigan without reservations and found ourselves driving for a while searching for a place for an overnight stay.
We came across this motel -stopped in and decided to stay.
Although the rooms are very dated and the door lock did not work the rooms were very clean.
I thought the price was a little steep for the dated rooms.
Bring your own toiletries. No shampoo or hair conditioner provided. Bars of soap were included though.
It's located right on the water but not much else around as far as grocery stores. There is a general store nearby but very limited selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnsonDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My Mom and I were looking for a place to stay near the beach for one night last minute. The man at the desk (don't remember his name) was very helpful. We received a reasonable rate for our night stay. We were able to park our car in front of our room. The room was nicely decorated and nautical themed. Clean. On a marina with nice chairs outside and a pool. I would recommend this place to other travelers. Definitely eat at the Ottawa Beach Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newaygo, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Met here with two other couples for my daughters wedding in town. This was as close as the in town stuff with out all the hassles of being in town. Great little rooms and very nice grounds to hang out. We had room 6 that is a little bigger with a sitting area and bar and kitchenette. We were only there 2 nights but easily could have stayed a week. Our friends had the basic rooms but everyone just hung out at our place as it had parking lot side AND infield side with a view of the lake. This place is not on any ones radar. I work in Holland sometimes and many friends at the wedding live in Holland and had NEVER heard of this place. Very well kept secret. In mid September it was cheaper than the basic hotels in town too. Plus it is right next to the dunes and a nice little pub.

Room Tip: get a room with infield view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caveman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay close to the State campground where our family was camping. This is a tired, old resort with a lot of personality. I felt like I had stepped back in time. The grounds were very nice and well maintained. The fellow guests were friendly. My only complaint is the smoke from the campfires at the campground across the street filled the parking lot outside of our room and we had to close our window or inhale the smoke from the campfires all night. If someone has asthma, it could be a problem, or I guess you could just turn on the air conditioning.
As long as you are not looking for modern or fancy, it should suit you and the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerryMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
824 reviews
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
4.9 mi away
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
#11 of 18 in Holland
422 reviews
5.0 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ranch Resort

Property: Lake Ranch Resort
Address: 2226 Ottawa Beach Rd, Holland, MI 49424-2331
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daily rentals, motel/hotel/condo rooms, 1 and 2 BR kitchenette units, swimming pool, boat slip rentals, virtual tour, located on Lake Macatawa close to Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Ranch Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing