We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food & Lovely Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe

Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 229 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm in love with European culture and food. So, when I heard about Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe, I just had to go. I ate the Wiener Schnitzel and it was simply delicious. I felt like I was back in Vienna. It's pretty expensive, so I recommend dropping by during lunch hours so you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for your meal. Lunch is quite a bit cheaper.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alysia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    121
    43
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

While the server was pleasant, service was unbelievably slow and the restaurant was not particularly busy. The food was good but not memorable.

Helpful?
Thank PATDOWN168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey- not sure what the inside looks like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

When we went on a Friday night, the restaurant was booked for a wedding reception. Good for them, but interesting choice during the summer peak season. Outdoor seating was on the street where they had about 8 tables.

Food was good, but pricey for what you get.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DadDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The tables.. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The tables have to be the most uncomfortable table I have ever tried to use to eat dinner. I went with my grandmother for girls night and we both were pleased with the food, the service was okay but it's hard to enjoy when you have no where to put your feet for the goofy bars under the table.

Helpful?
Thank Rssorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Oily pasta, inattentive service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ate al fresco, which was really great on the street in Holland. The people watching was fun. However, the waitress was also people watching, and greeting her friends as they passed by, so she took her sweet time getting us our food, and it was somewhat cold by the time we got it. She didn't come back to check on us, either. The entrees we had tasted okay (I LOVED the taste of the mashed potatoes, even though they were luke warm) but my pasta was super oily, to the point where there was a pool of grease on the bottom of the plate. The taste was fine. The prices were sort of medium, not too outrageous, but not a bargain, either. I might return, sit inside, and order some of the more traditional Austrian/German fare just to try it. I would hope for a different server.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing