We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room/great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Rochester, MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great room/great stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

From the minute I checked in, until we checked out our stay was great. I was a little confused about the room, what it would look like when we got there but we absolutely loved it. We got the whirlpool/fireplace suite and it was delightful. The room has a king size bed in one area (no door)with a TV and hutch, then in a separate living space is a small eating area, and whirlpool tub. Then the larger living area with a pull out couch, two arm chairs and fireplace with a TV on the mantle. The fireplace cranked out some serious heat and we ended up opening up windows to get it cooler. I'm not sure why the hotel doesnt have pictures of this room online, it was wonderful.

The hotel was very clean and smelled pleasant. Every person we came in contact with was wonderful, never had a problem. Breakfast was typical...waffles, oatmeal, cereal and fruit.

The location is great. Meijer/Target at end of street. Shopping center across the street. 6 miles from downtown.

We will stay again if Im back in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenl0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    94
    65
    43
    40
See reviews for
162
117
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We booked this hotel through online and we were excited after reading all the positive reviews. We were vacationing for a long weekend with another couple. We stayed 3 nights and I have to say we enjoyed our stay except on Sunday morning when our friends knocked on our door with a live bed bug crawling on a napkin. Of course you want to freak out but we went to their room and found another on the ceiling. It doesn't matter how nice everything is when you find bed bugs you now have visions of bugs crawling on you at night. Managment was not shocked or surprized which makes you think they are aware of the problem. They offered no apology for it. They refunded our friends for 2 nights and they allowed us to wash our clothes in hot water before our departure. It was a terrible inconvenience and it took hours to wash our clothes which meant we got a late start leaving for home. I think management could have done a better job. We had to repeatly ask for soap and for quarters for the washer and dryer. I would not go back. They need to get the bugs under control.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms around the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2travel242099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holland hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel is the BEST find from trip advisor!!!! Was half the price of literally NEXT door big chain hotels. CJ was working the front desk and was so friendly! Good sense of humor. The room was beyond what I expected and beds were so comfortable. We stayed in room facing the front parking lot and not much noise. CJ did say that there was a bear looking into out room so dont freak out. I LOVED IT> Breakfast was the typical continental. Very clean hotel. Would definately stay ther again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of August 2012, as we planned a weekend trip to Saugatuck. We booked our stay here after reading tripadvisor reviews, and the hotel definitely met our expectations. We knew we were at the right place when we saw the bears climbing up the hotel. Yes, a bit unusual, but I must say, the bears on the side of the hotel have a quirkiness that I just came to love. I mean, come on, how many hotels can you walk up to that just bring a smile to your face. We almost wanted a bear outside our window for better pictures, and if you look closely, a raccoon? meets you up front.

Although the heart of downtown Saugatuck was only about 15 minutes away, for the price, we couldn't complain. Room charges were $139 plus Michigan and Holland city taxes bringing the price to about $155/night (Much better than downtown Saugatuck).

The people at the front desk were pleasant to deal with and very informative. We had a nice size room that was nice and clean, and had a mini-fridge and microwave.

The continental breakfast was just okay, as others mentioned. But nothing to complain about, it was free.

We would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This property was apparently a Best Western at one point, though you really couldn't tell. The hotel was clean, with a fridge and microwave in the room. The pool and workout facilities looked good, though I didn't get a chance to use either. Many restaurants and shops in the area. The decor was a bit too woodsy and whimsical for me (the carved wooden bears "climbing" the front balconies for example) but really, it wasn't objectionable.

I'd stay here again if in the area, although the racism comment by one reviewer is disturbing. There are three other hotels very close by if you feel there is a threat of racism ruining your trip at this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frompitpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I love this place! If your ever in Holland Michigan and your looking for a great value!! The Holland Inn and Suites is the place to go. The rooms are Large and clean.... bath tubs have jacuzzi.. The staff is helpful and friendly. I stay here every time I am in Holland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonstieglitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were just driving through Michigan and got tired. We knew nothing about this hotel. We stopped late at night. Got a great rate on our room. One of the cleanest hotels I have seen. Room very good size, had fridge and microwave. Had a nice pool (we did not use). Wifi did not work in our room, but it was late so I did not ask for help. Beds firm, but really clean. They offered a simple breakfast, can't complain since it was free, but I have seem more offerings at other place. Nice location we could walk to have dinner. Overall very happy and surprised since I did not research before our stay.

Room Tip: We had a first floor king very nice had two door, one to interior of hotel and one to parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Address: 2888 W Shore Dr, Holland, MI 49424-9526 (Formerly Holland Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience scenic Lake Michigan and the tranquility it offers at our newly renovated beach town hotel. Named one of the happiest places in the U.S., You can discover Holland and its historic Dutch culture with the fascinating Dutch Village shops, restaurants, and galleries located just half a mile from here. There is no better way to begin your relaxing vacation than at our hotel with luxurious amenities that include, oversized guest rooms, pillowtop mattresses, deluxe hot breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center and business center. Don't forget your pet can come on vacation with you in our special pet-friendly rooms! From our award-winning downtown to our beautiful lakefront, you'll fall in love with Holland's small town charm and big city amenities. With restaurants in walking distance such as Buffalo Wild Wings(R), Panera Bread(R), and Johnny Carino's(R) and shops nearby this Hope College preferred Holland hotel is in a prime location. Whether you have an adventurous side or if you are looking to unwind during your visit to Holland, there are many fascinating options for everyone. Enjoy your day boating, fishing, hiking, swimming, golfing, shopping, at the museum, or just sunbathing. Holland has many adventurous places to bring the kids as well including Crazy Bounce, Critter Barn, and DeGraaf Nature Center. We are conveniently located near many business travel destinations like Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Magna Donnelly, Gentex, and Brenner Oil. Book your memorable stay now at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Holland
Holland Inn And Suites
Holland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing