We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold off until Best Western Plus changeover is complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is my second review of this hotel; we stayed almost exactly three years ago when it was a Best Western. The Holland Inn & Suites is currently unaffiliated with BW, but is in the process of becoming a Best Western Plus (as of 2/17/14). In the meantime things are in a bit of flux, and I can't fully recommend the hotel until the BW+ changes are finished.

When I called for special pricing on getting two rooms, I was charged $10 above internet rack rate for the double-queen room. I have no excuse for not questioning that; I figured the freebies being thrown in made up for it (chocolate/wine/bubble bath). The goodies were offered with our King suite, but we had to inquire about them 3 times before receiving them, no one at the front desk took note that we were waiting on them.

We were disappointed to find that the workout room/gym/fitness center is currently completely closed. The pool and hot tub are open (24 hours, too!). The rooms are being re-carpeted, refurnished, and redecorated. One of our two rooms had a strong smoke smell "covered up" by strong cleaners. Towels were scarce in the King room. The television's HBO didn't get good enough reception to be watchable. The light above the sink/mirror didn't work. The desk didn't have a chair.

The continental breakfast buffet was sparse -- cream cheese but no bagels, instant oatmeal but no hot water, no danishes of any kind, no bananas, 2 kinds of dry cereal, waffle maker, some small donuts, English muffins with grape jelly or peanut butter, bread, some Activa yogurts, clemetines and apples, apple juice/oj, coffee. We went out for breakfast, which was not our original plan.

The 1st floor rooms open to the parking lot, but the doorways are not at all shoveled out (but the doors open in), and if you manage the snowbank to go into the room you'd be tracking snow all over their new carpet (no rug by the door to the outside). The grounds were littered with cans and other trash, and a lot of ice.

BUT the beds were very, very comfortable! The lobby is rustic, clean, and well-maintained. The front desk clerks were available, helpful, and friendly. The check-out process was smooth. The wireless service was good. Once the Best Western Plus changeover is complete, this will probably be a very nice place to stay in Holland, MI once again.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about amenities you are interested in during this transition to make sure what you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Made travel plans way ahead of time, as always, but when we got to Holland Inn, not only was our room NOT available, but we were told a lie about why. And it took a long time to find out why. Ever hear about a Michigan law requiring rooms be given to firefighters (especially when fighting a nonexistent fire - google search). To be fair after waiting a while, a foreigner came out and said he got us another room and we just needed to follow him. Scary right? We moved on to Muskegon and found a lovely room at Fairfield Inn. Nuff' said!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank ilovemichigan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We visited my hometown of Holland, MI and selected this "3-star" hotel. Holland prides itself on being a clean city. I'd been to this property years ago when it was a Best Western. At that time, it was decent. We checked in and entered our room and could not believe how run down and filthy it was. We went back to the front desk to try and get a refund. The manager insisted on upgrading us to the master suite. Exhausted from a long plane ride and a bit desperate, we took a look at it. It was just as bad. We cut our losses and left. As the old saying goes..."a picture is worth a thousand words".

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycouplefromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We've stayed here a couple times and this property represented reasonable accommodations for the price. Unfortunately our last planned visit was scrubbed due to a messy lake effect snow storm. Thinking the cancellation policy allowed me to cancel by 3pm, I called ten minutes to three and requested to cancel. After a little hesitation the clerk confirmed the cancellation. Great, except I subsequently received a voicemail stating the room could not be cancelled because their policy was 3PM and 24 hours before day of arrival. They're right - I had misread their policy. Still, I was irritated that I was initially told they cancelled the room and to top it off, I was double-charged for my missed night - an error they quickly promised to resolve.

Lesson for me - read hotel cancellation policies more carefully. Apparently the industry is moving away from the 6pm day of arrival policy.

To reiterate - this hotel is a fine place to stay for those looking for budget accommodations in Holland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The major bonus here was having access to the exercise room long after what your usual hotels would allow - same went for the pool and hot tub if you wanted. This is important for me because sometimes I get back to the hotel late and don't get to enjoy the amenities. I also got a great price on the room and the staff was very friendly. I'll definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndigoOdysseyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is disgusting for many reasons. First of all, when I turned on the shower, the water hit the shower curtain and the water ran yellow. I shudder to think what was on that shower curtain. The whole room smelled like mold, and the hallway smelled like smoke. Housekeeping banged on our door before ten am which I found tacky and rude. I will NEVER stay here again. Pay the extra money for one of the nicer hotels around.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eas7190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

They were kind enough to give me a better then Triple AAA rate. The rooms are much more bigger then most hotels I stay at. As a business traveler I need a nice desk and working internet and Thank God they sure have that as well unlike other hotels I go to. They have a pool and hot tub thats open 24/7 which is a bonus! Other hotels close it @ 9pm. I would recommend this spot and will be staying here in the near future. Oh, and a great cute front desk lady! :)

Room Tip: Best room is 204, it has a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orlito E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.0 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Doubletree Hotel Holland
#11 of 18 in Holland
797 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites

Address: 2888 W Shore Dr, Holland, MI 49424-9526 (Formerly Holland Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience scenic Lake Michigan and the tranquility it offers at our newly renovated beach town hotel. Named one of the happiest places in the U.S., You can discover Holland and its historic Dutch culture with the fascinating Dutch Village shops, restaurants, and galleries located just half a mile from here. There is no better way to begin your relaxing vacation than at our hotel with luxurious amenities that include, oversized guest rooms, pillowtop mattresses, deluxe hot breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center and business center. Don't forget your pet can come on vacation with you in our special pet-friendly rooms! From our award-winning downtown to our beautiful lakefront, you'll fall in love with Holland's small town charm and big city amenities. With restaurants in walking distance such as Buffalo Wild Wings(R), Panera Bread(R), and Johnny Carino's(R) and shops nearby this Hope College preferred Holland hotel is in a prime location. Whether you have an adventurous side or if you are looking to unwind during your visit to Holland, there are many fascinating options for everyone. Enjoy your day boating, fishing, hiking, swimming, golfing, shopping, at the museum, or just sunbathing. Holland has many adventurous places to bring the kids as well including Crazy Bounce, Critter Barn, and DeGraaf Nature Center. We are conveniently located near many business travel destinations like Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Magna Donnelly, Gentex, and Brenner Oil. Book your memorable stay now at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Holland
Holland Inn And Suites
Holland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing