We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like coming home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dutch Colonial Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dutch Colonial Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Holland B&B and Inns
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like coming home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I spent a lot of time researching the perfect place to stay for a 5th Anniversary get-away with the hubby. Holland seemed ideal. Then the search really began! I kept coming back to the Dutch Colonial Inn as a good choice. We are so glad we chose this B&B.
Neither of us had ever experienced a B&B, so we were nervous about the experience. We need not have worried. From the moment we arrived (slightly early) Pat made us feel welcome. The tour of the home was a delight, the furnishings breathtaking. But, it was Pat who made the experience all that it was. Coming home after dinner out, the most heavenly smells were coming from the kitchen. Turns out that was part of breakfast for Sunday. Breakfast both mornings was tasty and PLENTIFUL! Goodness, the food was amazing. Pat even noticed the kiwi & melon I left in my cup and made sure there was none in the next morning's cup!
Every single thing about the Dutch Colonial Inn is top-notch and made our 5th Anniversary celebration special! From the Autumn decorations, the personal touches, the cookies, the common room, to the breakfasts and Pat herself, we were truly blessed to have picked this B&B for our first go. I have and will recommend this place to anyone. I am already trying to get something set with the Mom-in-Law for November. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyMac2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wonderful furnishings and décor contribute to a great B & B but when they also offer great innkeepers like Pat and Bob, it is a winning combination. We and another couple choose to stay two nights in the southern area of Holland this time as we also wanted to be closer to Saugatuck. We had the Jenny Lind room (suite) with a nice siting area, comfortable bed and a spotless modern bathroom with a nice stall shower and giant Jacuzzi tub (which we did not use).

Since this B&B is in a nice residential neighborhood, there are many places to walk and enjoy the beautiful homes. Pat makes a wonderful breakfast and Bob adds to the enjoyment with his friendly humor. Breakfast usually lasted well over an hour and it was great. Pat made some good suggestions for a place for dinner and “The Piper” had the best Walleye ever. Based on our great experience, I have a notion we will be back to the Dutch Colonial Inn for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MITraveler307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Let me start by saying this beautiful, spacious,historic home is immaculately clean! Not a speck of dust or water spot could be found, anywhere!! The owners were out of their home during our two night stay. We were greeted and cared for by Sarah, the most loving, dear young woman, who definitely has a servant's heart. She was always ready, waiting to meet the needs of her guests and she's a terrific cook. The table was beautifully set and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Stuffed French Toast, fresh fruit salad, Spinach Quiche, Coconut Coffeecake, sauteed Sausage with Caramelized onion and Apples....and fresh, hot coffee starting at 7:30am. The location of the Inn is perfect for visiting downtown Holland, all the best known Dutch attractions, Big Red Lighthouse, Lake MI and Lake Mac', Saugatuck, Grand Haven. You won't want to stay anywhere else in Holland again!

Room Tip: The suites are super spacious, but so is the size of the entire houses' community areas, so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Holland Michigan is a picturesque small town that offers a quiet getaway destination for 2-3 days. The Dutch Colonial Inn (DCI) is a B&B just South of downtown in a quiet neighborhood. The owners, Bob and Pat, are outstanding hosts, both eager to please and totally knowledgable about things to do in Holland. Words that describe the DCI include: immaculate, charming, and warm. Breakfast was excellent, as you would expect in a well run B&B. The restaurants we visted downtown (recommended by Pat) offered tasty food (German and Irish) and were good value. We also experienced street performers on Thursday evening (no traffic on main street) and a free concert Friday evening in Kollen Park. VERY family friendly crowds in both locations; well behaved, as you would expect in the Midwest. All in all, the DCI is a great weekend getaway spot for a couple. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the Master Suite; it's on the first floor, beautiful and the bathroom is fabulous for a B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMoCadaphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPage County, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

As the address indicates the Inn is close to downtown Holland, which is a destination in Western Michigan. The facility is spotless and extremely well appointed, an old house which has been expanded and updated over the 25 years of it being a B&B. The owners were extremely accommodating as we arrived well after we had expected to arrive and the breakfast food and conversation was terrific.

My only suggestion in this age of multiple technologies is to add accessable electrical outlets in the room, especially for the folks that use CPAP machines along with computers, phones, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 633sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, GA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay at Dutch Colonial Inn after reading so many nice reviews. They were right on target. Our room was lovely and the hosts were very nice.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrJann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Decided to take our 1 yr anniversary weekend trip to Holland MI. We have been celebrating for about a month. Maui, Holland and finish in Vegas. Neither my wife or myself have ever stayed in a B&B. After researching, I settled on Dutch Colonial Inn. One of the best decisions I have ever made. (Beside my wife) ... The atmosphere and overall experience exceeded our expectations. Pat and Bob are excellent hosts. Friendly, warm, and funny!

We stayed in the Tulip Suite. Very charming.

If you ever need a B&B in Holland MI? Dutch Colonial is it!

Thanks Pat and Bob for making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim-Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
1.0 mi away
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
1.4 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Colonial Inn

Property: Dutch Colonial Inn
Address: 560 Central Ave, Holland, MI 49423-4846
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dutch Colonial Inn Bed and Breakfast originated as a family residence. The initial structure, built in 1928, served as a wedding gift for the bride and groom. We offer beautiful guest rooms and elegant suites with king or queen size sleeping accommodations. All rooms have private baths with tiled shower, most with a double jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The inn's wonderful atmosphere is perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, birthday celebration or just a getaway. Spacious common areas include a delightful wicker-clad sun porch and a living room on the formal side, yet cozy enough to unwind in. Warm weather permitting, the white wooden rockers on the open front porch invite you to relax and rock as the world walks by. Our delicious full breakfast pampers you, yet provides a healthy and hearty homemade feast. Awaken to fresh brewed coffee, the fragrance of homemade muffins, coffeecakes and ham/sausage egg casseroles. Close to beautiful downtown Holland and just a short drive from one of the most beautiful beaches in Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing