We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DID NOT CLOSE DOWN WHEN THE SHOULD HAVE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margarita's Mexican Restaurant

Margarita's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 230 Restaurants in Holland
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DID NOT CLOSE DOWN WHEN THE SHOULD HAVE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We went once again as we loved their food.. The service was poor, we were brought our 3 dishes all at different times....
The nex tday my son had a sore stomach and in a few days his wife did also. My son got real sick with headache, threw up, and continued with stomach problems.. His lasted for about a week, hers last about 4 days and was not as serious as my sons. I did not get it at all.

What we found out that we had gone on a Friday night and that Tuesday both customers and workers were getting sick. He was forced to close done by the health dept on Sat. and over 200 had reportef to the health dept. There were some that went to the hospital. He also had some citation on the cleanleness in the resturant.

He did clean up and chaged a few things BUT we feel he should have shut it down WED-- NOT wait for the health dept. to shut HIM Done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I keep returning, and always love this place. The service is personal, the wait staff is knowledgeable, and is willing to make adjustments to the menu to please the customer.
The senior citizen menu is the least expensive in town for the amount of food. Try the Senior Burrito, or Taco Salad. Any Fajita choice is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in Holland, Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

You don't really expect authentic Mexican food in Holland, Michigan; however, look no no further than Margarita's if you want some delicious, traditional home-style Mexican food. The restaurant is located off the beaten path just outside of historic downtown Holland. The staff were very friendly, the portions were generous and the service helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some like it hot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great home comfort food. True Mexican and fantastic Tamalies

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MIWingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

It was clean. The food has always been good. Good service. They will order you food the way you like it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margarita's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Margarita's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing