We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff not trained to handle group reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff not trained to handle group reservations”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our group booked a block of rooms for a trip in July. The contract was signed and faxed, and our leader called 3 separate times to follow up. She was told we were all set. Upon arrival of the first members of our group, we were told we did not have rooms, and the hotel was booked full. The staff made various excuses, and kept passing the situation off to others. The manager was "busy" or running errands. Half of our group ended up scrambling to find other accomodations elsewhere. There were multiple events going on that weekend, so it was difficult and stressful. The remainder of our group was given rooms for the first night, with no guarantee we could stay the next nights. The room itself was as expected, comfortable bed and clean. Door keys frequently didn't work and had to be exchanged. The hotel is close to hwy 31, but not close to the downtown and lake area. It is located across from a vacant strip mall, so not very asthetically appealling.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lobby and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMac323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations and assure you that we are working to fix this issue for future groups. I do hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to show you what we really have to offer as a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    142
    106
    55
    27
See reviews for
196
128
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Challis, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed two night, check in was very easy and the staff was great. Room was very clean, beds are the best. Pool could be cleaner lots of sand on th bottom. My room key would not work so I returned to the front desk and they recoded it, still would not work so we just used my wifes key. They did tell use up front that breakfest room was being updated and closed with breakfast in the lobby. First morning we tried to have breakfast but there was way to many people in the room so we did not even try the 2nd morning. Location is hard to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We know that it is alittle crowded in the mornings for breakfast but we know that when we are done with the breakfast renovations that you will love what we have done. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one night at the Country Inn by Carlson in Holland just after the July 4th holiday. This was our first experience at a Country Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local restaurants and activities.

Upon entering the hotel you can see the cozy fireplace, which was lit. Seemed odd for July but it created a great atmosphere. There is also a bookshelf where you can borrow a book to read. The two story hotel does not have an elevator but it was not an issue as we were staying only 1 night and didn't have a lot of luggage. I could see where this might be an issue for the elderly or someone with several bags of luggage. If stairs are an issue you might want to request a first floor room when you make the booking.

The room was very clean, modern decor, and the king bed provided a comfortable night's sleep. Air conditioning worked great, which is always important in July! The bathroom was roomy and clean. One staff member mentioned the rooms had recently been renovated and that the breakfast area was scheduled for renovation starting soon. Breakfast was offered, but I had only coffee before we checked out. Coffee is offered in the lobby all day and evening, and you will find the yummiest fresh baked cookies next to the coffee throughout the day and evening.

This is a great hotel and the staff provided wonderful service. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimFromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn! We are pleased that you truly enjoyed your nights stay with us. We are thrilled that you loved the newly renovated rooms and we know when you return to see us you will love what we have done with the breakfast and lobby renovations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I booked through Hotwire and had a nice stay here. We ended up with an accessible king room.

Unfortunately, there was a family reunion going on a the hotel and we were right down the hall from the room where the party was set up. It was a bit noisy on the first night. The guest across the hall from us brought a dog even though dogs were not allowed. It would not have bothered us, except for the fact it would bark every time someone walked past the room, which was quite often since the party was right down the hall. We ended up calling the front desk and so did the couple staying in the room next to the dog. It took some time, but an employee came knocking on the dog's door. The owner's were not in the room at the time so it didn't help at all. I'm not sure what ended up happening with the dog. I didn't hear it after that night.

The room was clean, the breakfast was decent. No hot breakfast yet, but they said it will be coming. The beds were really comfortable and we slept well. The location is odd. Google maps tried sending me on the highway entrance ramp to get there. We knew that couldn't be right. It's behind the outlet mall and next to the movie theater.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vz5dzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I apologize for the issues you had during your recent stay and ensure you we are working hard to correct these items for our future guests. I do hope that you will give us another chance to show you what we really have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Took a trip to Holland this past weekend to drop my daughter off for a 2 week summer camp. The staff was very friendly and called me to make sure the room was to our liking. I really liked that and don't get that kind of service from 4 and 5 star hotels so it was a nice surprise. Our room was clean and nice. I believe the hotel just went through a rennovation and it looked great. We ddin't try the breakfast but the coffee and cookies were both top notch. My family of 4 would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again for choosing the Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was the only hotel available in the Saugatuck/Douglas area over a holiday weekend, so our expectations were not high. This place exceeded our expectations because the room was decent sized, the furnishings were new and in good shape, the hotel was quiet, the continental breakfast was simple but adequate and the location was on the edge of town, but easy to get to. There is no DVR or pay per view available, but there is a movie theater in walking distance. The free wifi was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were exceeded. Our goal is to make this your home away from home and it sounds like we are getting there. We can't wait to see you on your next visit to the Country Inn Holland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The rooms/hallways are fully renovated and nice, but the rest of the hotel is not (Paint!). The advertised Hot Breakfast is not! Anything you can toast is a continental breakfast. None of the eggs, waffles, or breakfast meats you would expect from a true Hot breakfast.

Checking was the real problem. They had one person at the desk during check in, and it took an hour, and the night auditor coming in to get us and the party ahead of us into our rooms. The clerk had given us the King bed and the couple the two queen beds. All that was required was switching the rooms, but the clerk couldn't figure out how to make it happen in the computer. She elected to check in other guests, while "figuring" out our problem. The night auditor had us both on our rooms within 5 mins of her arrival.

Per staff the hotel renovations will be over soon and they will have Hot breakfast. No evidence that they had it previously, so they really need to change their advertising.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedwayJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I want to apologize for the experience you had with us and assure you that it is not how we run our hotel. We are starting the breakfast renovations today and we hope that when they are finished you will come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Address: 12260 James St, Holland, MI 49424-8613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing