We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside Canoes”

Tubing Platte River
Interlochen, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riverside Canoes”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hats off to the guys at Riverside Canoes!!! Went down the Platter River yesterday starting at Riverside Canoes. EVERYONE was out on the river. I watched Riverside put in several large groups and still had time for our small group, but gave us the treatment of royalty. At the end of the trip, at Lake Michigan, we had Riverside workers their to greet us. It was unbelievable on how quick those young men were to clear the boats, tubes and kayaks out of the landing to make room for more in coming. NOT ONLY did they remove equipment quickly, they were also helping people out of their boats (and not just their own rentals) and helping them unload their stuff from the boats quickly, without being pushy or rude. I watched as they also picked up trash from the ground when passing with a free hand! There were other rental places there taking their time and not helping out, even with their own equipment. GREAT JOB RIVERSIDE CANOE!!!!! You are awesome right down to the ice cream!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We call this the lazy river and we actually launch away from the comercial part of this. We don't pay the 15.00 for each tube rental fee and we bring our own. It is about an hour of fun and beauty as you float down the river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honor,MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Platte River”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Platte is a lovely place to ride an inner tube or SUP, kayak, or canoe. You can put in at the National Park's small-boat launch, near the bridge. Allow a couple of hours, but do NOT bring glass bottles and do NOT get drunk and leave your trash!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The Platte river itself is pretty shallow. Having to lift my butt or get off my tube got old pretty fast, lol, but it is clean and fun. The view of Lake Michigan and Sleeping Bear dunes is first class. Nothing in Michigan beats that view!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TM1972PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
369 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Great Family Outting”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've been in TC for 6 summers now. Have never done this until now. Definitely should have done it sooner!

Just a relaxing 2 hour float down the Platte River. I don't think it gets over 3 or 4 feet deep the entire trip (most of the time it was a foot or two), so no worries if you can't swim.

There were people kayaking, canoeing, doing the tubes, etc. so you can go down the river any way you'd like.

Given it was our first time, we were 'rookies'. When we do it again, we'll copy some of the other families / groups we saw. They had floating coolers, with lunch and snacks & 'adult refreshments'. Just stop at some sand bar & pull out lunch for everyone - fantastic idea!

At the end, you are at Lake Michigan. Plan ahead to spend some time there. The view is amazing. Not a great sandy beach (mostly gravel) but great!

All in all, just a fantastic day. If the sun is out don't forget the sunscreen - you're floating / baking on water for a couple hours!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tubing Platte River also viewed

 
Honor, Benzie County
 

Been to Tubing Platte River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing