We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Pure Michigan”
Review of Honor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honor Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here on a recommendation from a family member and we could not have felt more at home. Our room was very clean and cozy. There was nothing to want for because Chris and Bob made sure we had everything we needed.
Chris and Bob have the hospitality of true northern Michigan folk who love the country that surrounds them and take pride in what they do.
We loved the area because of the proximity of it being so close to many things we wanted to do and were so glad when they had the space for us to stay a night longer then we planned.
If you want excellent value for a stay, this is the place. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MajaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Honor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

We like to stay in little independent vintage motels like this whenever possible. The Honor Motel was perfect for us--it was extremely clean, and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

We took our canoe with us, and planned to do some canoeing, hiking and sight-seeing in and around Sleeping Bear Dunes. When we checked in, Chris asked us what our plans were. She quickly whipped out a map and began showing us local points of interest, and giving us tips on getting to and from various locations. When we couldn't fill our Camelbaks in the small bathroom sink, she happily filled our packs for us and added ice, too.

We were in unit 16, which is a small queen room with a mini fridge and microwave, located around the back of the motel. It was perfect for my husband and I. The location of the motel itself was also perfect, as it put us within an easy drive to most everything we wanted to see and do.

If you're looking for a fancy-pants hotel with a spa and room service, this place is not for you. But, if you're looking for CLEAN, comfortable accommodations, at a reasonable price, and fabulously friendly folks, this little motel can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MizMunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were nicely remodeled, with modern conveniences. It was quiet and peaceful, which was a nice change from other hotels we've stayed at with screaming kids and loud partiers. The rooms were clean and the grounds were beautifuly landscaped. We loved being just minutes away from Lake Michigan, canoeing and other activies without staying directly in the middle of the crowded tourist areas. They even have an old fashioned drive-in theatre just down the road. It was really fun to watch a double feature there and bring back some good memories of our drive-in days. The motel staff was very friendly and efficient. And we loved that the owners, Bob and Chris are so friendly that they make you feel like family. We would definately stay here again when we return to the area. Sharon and Bob B. , Novi, MI

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naturelover1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Honor Motel is an outstanding little motel!! Great location for everything you'd want to do in Northern Michigan. The owners were fantastic in accommodating us. The rooms were very well maintained and spotless!!

My only gripe is that the bathrooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurphMan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was an impromptu fall foliage trip to northern michigan with our greyhound. Really appreciated that they had certain rooms for pets and how well kept and clean everything was! We especially noticed their attention to details, like: a motion light on the outside, solar lights along the walkway, small refridgerator and microwave in room, fall decorations outside the rooms and even a remote for the air conditioner! Everything smelled so good too - thanks to the owners for all they do. The price was excellent and it was close to the Sleeping Bear National Park and Boone's Long Lake Inn - so what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

stayed here based on the reviews. the amenities were as expected. This place was CLEAN to start with and that is the MOST impt. aspect of any critique given all the news about bedbugs these days! the staff very nice!

but to put things in perspective, the walls are REALLY thin. The couple next door snored all night and i heard it every night i was there.
The beds have seen better days, not bad but definate sags in the center of the beds which is a pet peeve of mine so this may not bother everyone.

I was there for 3 nights and the room never saw a vaccuum while i was there - lots of leaves came in with shoes as the weather was not the best, no mat outside the door to wipe feet.
I expected highway noise and got it, but it calmed down quite a bit at night and wasn't a problem
location was convenient but for where i went i probably should have stayed in Empire.
i wouldn't discourage anyone from staying here but it has its idiocinracies....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PALsIMHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and had a lovely time. The rooms are furnished with your standard motel furniture, except it is immaculate. I even felt comfortable walking in my bare feet. Spotless. You could tell even the bedspread had been washed.

Great location close to all the tourist attractions for Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes, Crystal Lake, Interlochen, the Leelanau Peninsula, Platte River, etc. Very friendly owners, great pricing (especially for the area, which is priced ridiculously!). We will definitely be staying here again.

The only thing I would say...well, not negatively, but more as a caveat is that if you are staying in one of the rooms at the back of the motel, I believe the water heater is shared with the other rooms. I had times of freezing cold bursts when I was taking a shower that I assume were from another room using the hot water. Honestly, that wasn't a big issue though. I LOVED the fact that their hot water is HOT and there was plenty of it! When I want a hot shower, I want it hot, not lukewarm and you find the temperature of the water in many hotels set to lukewarm. Do be careful if you have kids - it's seriously hot.

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honor
3.7 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
11.0 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cedar Ridge Cabins
Cedar Ridge Cabins
#1 of 6 in Honor
29 reviews
10.2 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
272 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Motel

Address: 10800 Main St # (US-31, Honor, MI 49640-9598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Honor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic "Mom & Pop" establishment offers traditional motor lodge accommodations with a personal touch. You will find 17 clean, comfortable and modern rooms with all the amenities in a beautiful small town country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Hotel Honor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing