We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations exceeded.”
Review of Honor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honor Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded.”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

To be honest having seen the cost of accommodation in this area I wasn't expecting much given the price but actually it is very good. The rooms aren't huge but they are nicely decorated, have air conditioning/fridge/microwave/TV/WiFi, and they are clean as a whistle. The bathroom is compact but perfectly adequate.

For cheap and cheerful accommodation in this area you really can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
30
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Clean and reasonable, the Honor Motel is a reliable place to stay. It's not the Hilton, but it's a good no-frills motel with friendly owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed there for three nights while visiting family.
Not bad; not great.
The worst thing is that the walls are classic wood frame motel: thin!
We could easily hear normal speaking voices in the adjoining rooms.
Fortunately they were neither loud nor late, but you're at the mercy of your neighbors.
And the shower in the small bathroom was vintage cruise ship.
The lights in the room were dim, but there were no room darkening shades so the room wasn't dark at night.
Finally, the king bed was pushed to within a foot of the wall on one side (and was anchored), making access difficult and leaving no room for a night stand or reading light
So, we managed, were not uncomfortable, but I'm not sure that we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkbrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here on a recommendation from a family member and we could not have felt more at home. Our room was very clean and cozy. There was nothing to want for because Chris and Bob made sure we had everything we needed.
Chris and Bob have the hospitality of true northern Michigan folk who love the country that surrounds them and take pride in what they do.
We loved the area because of the proximity of it being so close to many things we wanted to do and were so glad when they had the space for us to stay a night longer then we planned.
If you want excellent value for a stay, this is the place. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MajaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We like to stay in little independent vintage motels like this whenever possible. The Honor Motel was perfect for us--it was extremely clean, and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

We took our canoe with us, and planned to do some canoeing, hiking and sight-seeing in and around Sleeping Bear Dunes. When we checked in, Chris asked us what our plans were. She quickly whipped out a map and began showing us local points of interest, and giving us tips on getting to and from various locations. When we couldn't fill our Camelbaks in the small bathroom sink, she happily filled our packs for us and added ice, too.

We were in unit 16, which is a small queen room with a mini fridge and microwave, located around the back of the motel. It was perfect for my husband and I. The location of the motel itself was also perfect, as it put us within an easy drive to most everything we wanted to see and do.

If you're looking for a fancy-pants hotel with a spa and room service, this place is not for you. But, if you're looking for CLEAN, comfortable accommodations, at a reasonable price, and fabulously friendly folks, this little motel can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MizMunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were nicely remodeled, with modern conveniences. It was quiet and peaceful, which was a nice change from other hotels we've stayed at with screaming kids and loud partiers. The rooms were clean and the grounds were beautifuly landscaped. We loved being just minutes away from Lake Michigan, canoeing and other activies without staying directly in the middle of the crowded tourist areas. They even have an old fashioned drive-in theatre just down the road. It was really fun to watch a double feature there and bring back some good memories of our drive-in days. The motel staff was very friendly and efficient. And we loved that the owners, Bob and Chris are so friendly that they make you feel like family. We would definately stay here again when we return to the area. Sharon and Bob B. , Novi, MI

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelover1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Honor Motel is an outstanding little motel!! Great location for everything you'd want to do in Northern Michigan. The owners were fantastic in accommodating us. The rooms were very well maintained and spotless!!

My only gripe is that the bathrooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphMan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honor
3.7 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
11.0 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cedar Ridge Cabins
Cedar Ridge Cabins
#1 of 6 in Honor
28 reviews
10.2 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
267 reviews
10.2 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Motel

Property: Honor Motel
Address: 10800 Main St # (US-31, Honor, MI 49640-9598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Honor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic "Mom & Pop" establishment offers traditional motor lodge accommodations with a personal touch. You will find 17 clean, comfortable and modern rooms with all the amenities in a beautiful small town country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Hotel Honor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing