We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, its a place to stay.”
Review of Honor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honor Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, close to sights attractions and great food! Rooms are small. With kids, too small. Bathrooms are smaller yet. All are VERY clean! Internet and cable are great! For couples, it would ideal...except for the fact that the walls are paper thin. Do not say or do anything you wouldn't do or say in public! Quaint, clean and convenient...just be quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanishingpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have stayed a few times at the Honor Motel and have been very pleased with cleanliness and overall accommodations and the staff is very friendly and pleasant. We intend on staying again soon when we visit MI again soon. Love the area, and this is a pleasant escape and a nice alternative to a "chain" motel/hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our room was squeaky clean. There were more tv channels available than most hotels we've stayed at in downtown Chicago. The shower wasn't too powerful, but had a soft spray - just the right thing to have available to relax after hiking on the dunes. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Definitely will be making a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property or higher floor because it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SUSAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip for the weekend. After doing a lot of calling around this place had a cancellation so I scooped up the vacancy! I figured with as popular as this area is it can't be that bad. I was not disappointed! We called to let Christine know we would be late and she arranged for us to be able to get into the room and have a key gotten to us after the office was closed. The room had comfy beds, a microwave, a mini fridge and a coffee maker! How many places offer all of that anymore without added fees! The bath room has a shower only, which was fine for us and a added bonus of a bottle/wine opener on the wall *L*. The adorable motel is located right at a cross roads that takes you to several of the Lake Michigan destinations. The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is that the motel is a bit out dated decoration wise but also that it is close to busy(ish) road so we didn't leave the windows open during the cool nights and used the AC instead. We didn't use it, but there is a fire pit with chairs in the back for guests. I would use this place again and recommend it!

Room Tip: Make use of the mini-fridge and microwave to save $. We brought hard boiled eggs, pre-cooked sausag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dethinwntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This small old fashioned motel reminded me from the outside of places we stayed when I was a girl in the 40's and 50's. However, it has been modernized and freshly painted, and inside it was pleasant, exceptionally clean, had very comfortable beds and a very small but modern bathroom. The owner was very pleasant and helpful, and the property, including the grounds, was was very well taken care of. It was nothing fancy but very appealing considering it is a small, simple motel. My only complaints were that it would have been helpful if the bathroom had another towel bar or even hooks and not such a tiny shelf to put toiletries on, and that the advertised refrigerator was very small and had no freezer compartment. Otherwise it was a delightful place to stay and in a convenient location to Sleeping Bear Dunes, Traverse City, Interlochen Music Camp, and many local sights and activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tag1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have stayed at the Honor motel 3 other times over the past 5 years. I have never been disappointed. It is a very cute, appealing, clean, well kept motel. Kris, the Manager goes over and above to accommodate guests.
The room was clean and well stocked with towels, shampoo, soap etc.. There is also a fire pit on the property and picnic tables to sit and have lunch/dinner at. Not only are the rooms kept up well the grounds are beautiful and well manicured. Did I mention the inside of the rooms are freshly painted, bright and cheerful?
I highly recommend this motel. It is perfectly located to Traverse City. Only a short 20 minute ride. The other good thing is you may bring your dog for a small fee. I cannot say enough good things about the Honor Motel and Kris the Manager.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichiganVacagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My family and I stayed here two nights. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. It had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a flat screen television. The baseboard heater worked extremely well at taking the morning chill out of the room. The shower is a small, cabin type, but worked fine with plenty of hot water. It was nice being able to drive right up to our room.

The property is along a main road (US-31) but we didn't notice the road noise. There's a fire pit behind the motel that we enjoyed roasting marshmallows (and pine cones and sticks) at. The motel is a reasonable drive from just about everything we wanted to see/do: Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Gwen Frostic's prints, C&M Rock Shop, Empire Beach, Crystal Lake, etc.

A couple good food options in the area were Papa J's (a 50's style diner) and the Lumberjack Bar & Grill. The kids ate for free at Papa J's on Sunday. Both are within walking distance from the Honor Motel.

The Honor Motel is a nice place to stay and we'll definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you're truly bothered by road noise, perhaps a room in the middle or back might be more to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank philvirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honor
3.7 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
11.0 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#2 of 3 in Empire
277 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Ridge Cabins
Cedar Ridge Cabins
#1 of 6 in Honor
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Motel

Address: 10800 Main St # (US-31, Honor, MI 49640-9598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Honor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honor
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic "Mom & Pop" establishment offers traditional motor lodge accommodations with a personal touch. You will find 17 clean, comfortable and modern rooms with all the amenities in a beautiful small town country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Hotel Honor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing