We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houghton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheridan On The Lake B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Houghton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were most fortunate to have stayed for two nights recently with Bill and Barbara at their beautiful home on the lake. The experience was first rate from beginning to end. Their location is a great jumping off point for exploring the Keweenaw Peninsula, an area of the UP rich in natural beauty and history. Barbara provided us with some excellent suggestions for our self-paced tour of the area shortly after breakfast on our first morning. This region is already a bit "off the beaten path", so Barbara made sure that we had the "local knowledge" to maximize our time in the area. Breakfasts were incredible. Both Barbara and Bill took great interest in each one of their guests, and treated us with such warmth and hospitality that you left feeling as if you'd known them for years. So, if you're considering a trip to this area of the UP and pass on the opportunity to stay at the Sheridan On The Lake B&B...you're going to miss a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent two nights at Sheridan on the Lake and had an excellent experience. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the location on the lake is perfect, breakfast is delicious with great portions, and Bill & Barb treat you like family. The nightly rate is also very reasonable. We are looking forward to staying at Sheridan again during our next trip to the Houghton area. Do yourself a favor a stay at Sheridan on the Lake!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This B & B is a real pleasure; It has what everyone would hope to find when staying at one. Wonderful host and hostess, great breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful surroundings, lovely rooms with private bath,and more amenities than one would expect to find in one place. Bill and Barb are gracious and helpful. The lake adds to the entire atmosphere. We will be sure to try to stay there again when we are in the area.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View Loft.first, but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Barb and Bill will supersede any expectations. The linens are top quality as is their hospitality and everything they do for their guests. We were given exceptional service including breakfast bags and traveller coffee cups for an early morning departure. I even left my own feather pillow which they kindly forwarded to our home address. Huge thanks for such a pleasant visit. Sincerely Susan and Robin

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sctolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Oh my what a wonderful place to stay! Liken this to staying at your own well designed, superbly furnished, artfully decorated and delightfully festooned lake home with family memories. You're a few paces from the lake across an architecturally pleasant property to sit among the swimming ducks, crooning loons and soaring eagles as the sun rises and you sit comfortably on the jutting dock.
But the best of all were the breakfasts, artfully presented, tastefully variant and locally flavored. Barb and Bill seem more like super accommodating close friends than the master hosts they are. Terrific experience and superb value in every way.

Room Tip: Lake view suite was like owning our own condo on the lake with perfect privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Sheridan on the Lake B&B is the perfect place for a Keweenaw Peninsula vacation. Barb and Bill make you feel like family, and the house, location, and breakfast were all outstanding. The views from the dock are beautiful, sunset and sunrise, and the bed was great after a few nights roughing it in the north woods.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sheridan B&B for 2 nights while we explored the Keweenaw Peninsula on an anniversary trip. Bill & Barb have a beautiful home and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and accommodate all our needs. We stayed in the Lakeview Room which includes not only the bedroom but a private bath, family room area with fireplace, patio area, and sliding door out the back to the lake and dock. The king size bed in the room was the most comfortable bed we'd ever slept in, and we plan to e-mail the Briggs to find out what kind of bed it is! Sitting on the dock while we relaxed and watched the stars was a highlight. There are times when the Northern Lights are quite visible from the lake (Portage Lake) if the weather is just right.
See: http://www.geo.mtu.edu/weather/aurora/
Also: http://www.gi.alaska.edu/AuroraForecast/NorthAmerica/2013/06/16

Barb is a fabulous cook and our breakfasts were totally 5 Star. I even took a photo of breakfast one day since it was SO beautiful, graced with exotic flowers from Barb's own personal garden. Barb spent considerable time with us the first morning after breakfast providing us with travel info and tips on the area all the way up to Copper Harbor, options of things/places to see including where to get the best buy on local items, and travel directions and driving times. She even provided us with travel brochures for the area saving us lots of time.

Just an FYI- Houghton is a quaint community yet has some nice options for shopping and eating. It's the perfect location for basing out of to explore the far northern part of the peninsula since as you get farther north there are limited options for decent hotels and restaurants. We easily explored the area north of Houghton all the way up to Copper Harbor in one big day, returning to the B&B that evening to enjoy time out on the lake. We LOVED our time and Sheridan B & B and highly recommend it! Hope to return some day!

Thank you Bill & Barb for helping make our anniversary trip so special.

Room Tip: The Lakeview Room and included rooms allow much more space to spread out, and it has fabulous access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
10.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
41 reviews
2.9 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
22.7 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan On The Lake B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan On The Lake B & B

Address: 47026 Sheridan Pl, Houghton, MI 49931-9049
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Houghton
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary cedar shake home is nestled in pine, oak and birch trees on the shore of Portage Lake at the gateway to the Keweenaw Peninsula. Each room has a private deck overlooking the the lake, cable TV, VCR, A/C, sitting area and private bath. Full sit down breakfast and Finnish sauna. Walking/biking trail out the front door; golf course nearby. None smoking. No pets. Wireless internet access. Cash, check and Visa/MC accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing