We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place in Houghton”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houghton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheridan On The Lake B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Houghton B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
241 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in Houghton”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived at the B and B -- a little difficult to find but once there -- greeted by name -- shown the house -- beautiful place -- had the downstairs rooms -- shower was a little small but pressure was good and was fine -- just outside the town so relatively quiet and close to a decent steakhouse -- there was a sauna on site though did not have the time to try it out -- sat on the lovely dock with the chairs provided enjoying the sunset -- watched a family of eagles flying about and fishing -- Good night sleep -- lovely breakfast in the morning -- shared breakfast with a lovely couple for the UK -- Hosts were interesting people -- would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Location and grounds are to die for. Hosts were super people.
Meals were excellent and well thought out. Very quiet and beautiful few of the water. If you pass up an opportunity to stay here, you are missing an awesome chance of a live time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were most fortunate to have stayed for two nights recently with Bill and Barbara at their beautiful home on the lake. The experience was first rate from beginning to end. Their location is a great jumping off point for exploring the Keweenaw Peninsula, an area of the UP rich in natural beauty and history. Barbara provided us with some excellent suggestions for our self-paced tour of the area shortly after breakfast on our first morning. This region is already a bit "off the beaten path", so Barbara made sure that we had the "local knowledge" to maximize our time in the area. Breakfasts were incredible. Both Barbara and Bill took great interest in each one of their guests, and treated us with such warmth and hospitality that you left feeling as if you'd known them for years. So, if you're considering a trip to this area of the UP and pass on the opportunity to stay at the Sheridan On The Lake B&B...you're going to miss a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent two nights at Sheridan on the Lake and had an excellent experience. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the location on the lake is perfect, breakfast is delicious with great portions, and Bill & Barb treat you like family. The nightly rate is also very reasonable. We are looking forward to staying at Sheridan again during our next trip to the Houghton area. Do yourself a favor a stay at Sheridan on the Lake!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This B & B is a real pleasure; It has what everyone would hope to find when staying at one. Wonderful host and hostess, great breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful surroundings, lovely rooms with private bath,and more amenities than one would expect to find in one place. Bill and Barb are gracious and helpful. The lake adds to the entire atmosphere. We will be sure to try to stay there again when we are in the area.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View Loft.first, but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Barb and Bill will supersede any expectations. The linens are top quality as is their hospitality and everything they do for their guests. We were given exceptional service including breakfast bags and traveller coffee cups for an early morning departure. I even left my own feather pillow which they kindly forwarded to our home address. Huge thanks for such a pleasant visit. Sincerely Susan and Robin

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sctolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Oh my what a wonderful place to stay! Liken this to staying at your own well designed, superbly furnished, artfully decorated and delightfully festooned lake home with family memories. You're a few paces from the lake across an architecturally pleasant property to sit among the swimming ducks, crooning loons and soaring eagles as the sun rises and you sit comfortably on the jutting dock.
But the best of all were the breakfasts, artfully presented, tastefully variant and locally flavored. Barb and Bill seem more like super accommodating close friends than the master hosts they are. Terrific experience and superb value in every way.

Room Tip: Lake view suite was like owning our own condo on the lake with perfect privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
2.9 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
22.7 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan On The Lake B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan On The Lake B & B

Property: Sheridan On The Lake B & B
Address: 47026 Sheridan Pl, Houghton, MI 49931-9049
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary cedar shake home is nestled in pine, oak and birch trees on the shore of Portage Lake at the gateway to the Keweenaw Peninsula. Each room has a private deck overlooking the the lake, cable TV, VCR, A/C, sitting area and private bath. Full sit down breakfast and Finnish sauna. Walking/biking trail out the front door; golf course nearby. None smoking. No pets. Wireless internet access. Cash, check and Visa/MC accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing