We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very neat place”
Review of 5th and Elm

5th and Elm
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Houghton
Restaurant details
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very neat place”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Really loved the 5th and Elm coffeehouse in downtown Houghton!
It is just steps from everything in town and only a quick walk from Michigan Tech University. The coffee and tea was both very good and food items are high quality. It is a cool, fun atmosphere and a great place to spend an hour or an entire afternoon. I recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urbanperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprise find in Houghton”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

While exploring downtown Houghton, we found 5th and Elm and stopped in for lunch. While it took a long time to get our order, the wait was worth it as the chicken quesadilla was full of flavor. The Reuben was piled with corned beef and filling. If you are in a hurry, you might want to go elsewhere but if you have the time the wait is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place is very competent in terms of baristas. They have soy milk and didn't hit you too much for the extra. It was a very good latte. I didn't try the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckeroo536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I always get my coffee from 5th and Elm whenever I am on the UP. They only have one blend (black and tan), but they do it very well. Always the same cup of Jo. Their staff is also very friendly and good for a chat of things happening locally.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just delicious and kitchy to boot!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stopped in here for the frozen yogurt, and stayed for the delicious sandwiches. I was a little disappointed that they were out of hummus, but then I ordered a Chicken Cordon Bleu sandwich on ciabatta, and man, was it good! Lots of tender chicken and melty, oozy cheese on very fresh bread. We ordered at the counter but they brought it to our table with a smile.
I loved all the bicycle tire wall/fence outside. Very cool place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOe333_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 5th and Elm also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Hancock, Upper Peninsula
 
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to 5th and Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing