We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Center - Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed at this property 2x over the last month for business in the Houghton area. While it is a nice, clean hotel, the business center could use some attention. On both occassions the printer did not work. Wish they would get that fix and perhaps updating the computer and key board too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meechigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Extraordinary attention to detail and level of personal service for a budget chain. Front desk staff were at Four Seasons level. High quality chocolate chip cookies and coffee available 24/7. Gym had equipment which was a pleasure to use and staff was totally accommodating with access hours. Room was huge and well appointed. Two large-screen TVs, refrigerator and microwave.

The facility is new, with a fire going in the lobby fireplace 24/7.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear EvanSmythe,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and your feedback and hope we can serve you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our room was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was substantial and satisfying with some healthy choices available. Many restaurants nearby and a Walmart just down the street for any last minute needed food or items. We will stay here again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceberg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Sue B,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel. Good location. Fun place to eat next door with bowling and sports bar. Definitely a flagship property for the Country Inn.

Stayed here for the Lake Superior Pro Rally. Great event.

Really helpful sincere staff. The whole community is very friendly. It's noticeable. Just really good people in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gymkhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Gymkhana,

Thank you very much for posting your excellent comments and 5 star rating. Its guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Actually we have stayed at this hotel a half a dozen times since March 2013 due to a having a student at Michigan Tech. Each trip the hotel has been clean, quiet and accommodating.

If you have a student...make sure that you make your reservations for popular events well in advance. If you are just visiting the area it may be worth checking the University website so that you avoid busy times such as graduation.

It may be a small thing, but I believe that the fact that they have their container of chocolate chip cookies filled at all times shows their attention to detail. As a frequent traveler I can say that it is depressing to drag into a lobby late at night only to find all the cookies gone because they set out one batch at 2pm.

The bedding is updated, the towels are adequate and the toiletries are better than average.

Breakfast contains the basic hot and cold items...and the obligatory waffle maker. If you don't have time they have to go bags with fruit, a granola bar and a water bottle.

The pool area is well kept and the hot tub is, well, hot.

There are a number of places to eat right around the hotel, both fast food and sit down restaurants. Walmart is right next door.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank ValaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear ValaJackson,

Thanks for your many visits and for posting your detailed review. I am so glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay, with the best in accommodations and service, and cookies. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Country Inn and Suites was like a luxury hotel after spending 2 nights in Silver City AmericInn.

Nice, clean hotel with pleasant staff. Beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet although located near a WalMart.

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytrippers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Daytrippers76,

Thanks for including us in your recent road trip plans, and for taking the time to share your comments. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and really appreciate your business. I hope you will be our guest again the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We traveled to Houghton to spend a couple days with family. We stayed a Friday/Saturday night. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly. Our room was next to a stair; but was still very quiet. It was clean and well stocked. Our King size bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Marie H,

Thanks for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Houghton. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and appreciate your five star rating. I hope we can serve you here again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
41 reviews
11.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
23.8 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton

Address: 919 Razorback Dr, Houghton, MI 49931-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: £93 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Houghton
Country Inns & Suites Houghton Hotel Houghton
Country Inn Houghton
Houghton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing