We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Julie's Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Houghton(Houghton)(Great Value!)
US$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown(Hancock)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
13
24
15
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
24
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townchain hotelsmichigan techbreakfast itemsplace to sleepplenty of parkingbed was comfortablecleaning staffwould stay againmotelcampuspillowsschoolsongrilldesktrail
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 57 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights to attend a conference. Even though the rooms have been up dated there is not much attention to the general appearance or safety. For instance, the banister wobbles as a person grabs for it and there are no grab bars in the showers. The stairs had not been swept for some time. The first day our room was not cleaned and the second day we did not get towels. By the time we left we were getting proper service. However, the heating and a/c worked.

The staff was pleasant and helpful but needs some training. The new management is overworked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saluki66686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and your visit in August 2012. I would first like to explain that due to franchise agreements and the recent drop of the Budget Host name, we had restrictions on accessing certain media and therefore the delay in my response. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the inn and our team for the problems you encountered during your stay.

Regarding the missed housekeeping, I was actually under the assumption we had determined there to be a miscommunication between your husband and my employee on what was needed that day. My maid was a trainee at the time and I do recall shadowing her. We obviously made a mistake in our interpretation. Again my apologies.

You titled your comments “work in progress” and I thank you for realizing that. Having recently dropped the franchise and becoming an independent property, this past spring and summer was dedicated to just that - work. New queen beds, refrigerators, lamps and easy chairs have been added to all double rooms. And if you recall, the reason the porch was in disarray at times during your stay was because my “staff” of nieces and nephews were in the process of painting the new wooden railing that had been installed in April 2012. This issue is one that we had taken seriously and is resolved. As far as the subject of grab bars in the showers, there are grab bars in some showers in rooms on the first floor, but not in all rooms at this time. I did not know that was an issue for you and had I known, the possibility of moving you to a first floor room was an option.

I thank you for the kind words about my staff being friendly and helpful. I recall thanking you for your patience during your check-in because it was my front desk clerk’s first night on the job by herself and you were her first check-in ever. She was a bit nervous and your understanding was appreciated.

In closing, the new management has 25 years of management in the hospitality industry under her belt. I may have to disagree with your observation but thank you for the input.
Once again please do accept my apologies and know that we appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My friend and I stayed in this hotel during a trip to Keweenaw in August 2011. The price was good ($55 for a double). The rooms were a bit dated, but not in a bad way. Thermostat and A/C worked excellent. Location is close to town.

The hotel no longer has a pool; it has been converted to a flower garden, but it is very pretty.

Speaking of very pretty, the owner, Julie, is quite a nice looking woman and VERY knowledgeable about the local area. We asked her for some advice on places to swim and she gave us about eight suggestions. She even was able to give us information like, "About forty miles up US-41 there is a dirt turn-around on the right side of the road. Turn in there, go down the path, and there is a river with a swimming hole that you can jump in." We followed her instructions and found the swimming hole, just as she said!

So, she is very knowledgeable about the area. Rooms are small but clean, no bed bugs (in mine at least), good amenities and great place to stay, it you don't mind the 70's wooden paneling on the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phicampiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hello Boys – I totally remember chatting with you gentlemen in the parking lot prior to you leaving on your Keweenaw adventure. I’m so glad to hear you were able to find the swimming hole in Eagle River. Having been born and raised in this neck of the woods has many advantages for me in running my small business. I am also happy to share with you that since Spring 2012 we are fully independent, no fancy franchise, just the “mom & pop” that many of my guests have come to appreciate. We are slowly renovating many rooms (replacing the paneling with dry wall) and updating the furniture and lighting. All rooms now have refrigerators, free WIFI, desks, easy chairs and continued wonderful housekeeping by my staff....with NO bed bugs. I thank you for your time in reviewing our property and invite you to come see us again soon - the same friendly smiles await you at the front desk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We stayed here one night while traveling through the Upper Peninsula. The hotel is a few miles south of town, on US-41, which is a little farther out than I expected. It is arranged as a typical motor court, with a row of rooms on three sides of the square and parking and the pool in the middle. There were a few second-story rooms on one side, but our room was on the single story side.

The room was nice. It seemed to have relatively new carpet and furnishings and it was clean. The doors were heavy, solid wood that made us think "1950's" but not in a negative way. The room was quiet and had a thermostat that worked well. Everything was comfortable.

The tiny bathroom was really tiny, though. To get to the toilet, tucked in a corner between the stand-up shower stall and the sink, one had to be careful. Tall people would have great difficulty squeezing into the space without getting bruised. The shower head was low too, and the shower stall did not allow much room to maneuver. New towels would be appreciated, as the ones we had were very thin. Also, the cold water taps had a lot of air and rust in them when first turned on. This could have been because we were there at the very beginning of the summer season; maybe no one had stayed in the room all winter.

The owner was the only staff member we interacted with and she was friendly and helpful. During breakfast in the lobby/office, she made conversation with us. Breakfast offerings were minimal: small sweet rolls and coffee only. The outdoor pool was not yet open for the summer, so we didn't use that.

This place was a good value, although a little far away from the rest of town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews