We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel was average -- rooms need updating. TV had HBO, but no sound on
HBO! (other channels were fine)

Breakfast included. Drink vouchers given - but for a very limited selection
of drinks. (It is clearly a gimmick to get people to go to their bar. Other
restaurants/bars nearby are much better.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
32
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

People at the Franklin are really friendly and the deal we got was great....a large K bed and a nice comfortable couch that could have been pulled out for an extra bed, a circular table with chairs, large, new LCD tv, small refrigerator/freezer, and nice bathroom with all the amenities, except a jacuzzi ...all for $98. This price also included a wonderful full breakfast meal, served by nice waitresses...this restaurant is on the 7th floor with large windows overlooking the river on which the hotel is located, plus we were given 2 coupons at check in for free drinks at their upstairs bar. OUR room was spotlessly clean (Hurray for that!!) with nice up to date furnishings that were better than average for this price....and this rate was for their High season. We came with friends, and all of us said we would definitely return here.
This hotel is very convenient for seeing all of the nearby area and also adjacent to the main street of town, a quaint street with 'old town' architecture buildings....along with many good restaurants to choose , or you can just take the elevator to the hotel's nice 7th floor restaurant for dinner. We didn't go there only because hotel food is often overpriced and often just so-so. But the view from up there was very nice.
Anyway, we are sure you will enjoy it at the Franklin Square in for a night or longer....it is a great stop over location for much of the Keweenaw Peninsula area.
This hotel is also close to Michigan Tech. University, but not so close as to be over run with college students.

Room Tip: We were on the city side view and we got more room for the money than our friends located on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfunretired2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We found this hotel to be perfect for a family reunion. The view from the lounge can not be beaten and the staff was friendly and helpful.
We took advantage of the free breakfast and drinks, the sauna, hot tub and the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveledtocalumet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is our third visit to Houghton and we've never stayed at this hotel before....and we never will again. The smell is horrible. All I can say is, I wouldn't be surprised if there is a morgue on the premise...that is how bad it stinks. It is seriously nauseating. The rooms are old and outdated. The beds sag in the middle. The pool is in a creepy dingy basement with NO windows. The parking is terrible and extremely inconvenient. The wifi is a total joke. I am giving it a "1" because at least....so far the staff has been nice and professional. I blame myself for waiting until the last minute to book a room because this was the only hotel left with vacancies--now I know why. I paid over $100 for this room and expected it to present as such. VERY BAD!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake...the road side is sooooooooooooo loud you'll never get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teal3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom60, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear teal3100,
I was quite sad to see your review regarding your obviously very unhappy experience at our hotel. Firstly, anytime a customer is displeased with their room, our front desk staff is happy to reassign them to a more suitable room that accomodates their overall needs. We are in the business to serve you, but we can't do that if we are unaware of a problem.
I am truly sorry that your entire experience with exception of the staff was not satisfactory.
If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me or our general manager, Brian Waters, by calling our hotel at 906-487-1700.
Thank you,
Jan Lubinski, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here many times over the last 12 years. Great downtown location and great views of the canal and the ski mountain in the winter. Use your free drink coupon in the 7th floor lounge and enjoy the view and the live music or comedy on the weekend! The rooms are a little outdated (some carpets and comforters need replacing), but the bathroom had been updated in my room and was nice. The rooms are clean and spacious, and some have a fridge. In the winter, ask for a room on the upper floors (or on the street side) so you won't hear the snowmobiles behind the hotel at all hours of the night, mainly on the weekends. The snowmobilers and hockey teams can get a little loud inside at night, again mainly on the weekends. The staff is very friendly. The workout room is small and equipment is old but still functional, and tanning beds are also available (but I've never used them). There's also a swimming pool and hot tub, but the last time I tried the pool the water was really cold. I haven't eaten at the restaurant recently, so I can't comment on the food. But the Franklin Square Inn is downtown, within easy walking distance of The Ambassador (pizza and beer), the Library (great beer, ok food) and the Suomi (amazing pancakes).

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors or street side in the winter to avoid the snowmobile noise at night (mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

After a recent death, A group of us (including an elderly cat) stayed in this hotel for over a week while arranging and preparing for a memorial service. We could not have been the easiest group of people because our nerves were shot and emotions were raw. The service men and women at this hotel, including the restaurant located on the top floor went out of their
way and showed us so much kindness and caring that I can honestly say, I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to this area.

The accommodations were as good or better than expected and the location made this hotel convenient to everything that we needed to do.

In addition, the hotel shuttle (which you have to make sure you book ahead of time) was very handy for the different people that came in for the memorial. I can't say enough good things about this otherwise sad trip.

Thank you,

Room Tip: We had a view of the river, which is the back side of the hotel...It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I am paying $89 a night. What does that get you, oppressively low ceilings, a weird musty smell, polyester comforters, super crappy tv, bad wine at the bar, and whatever you do, don't fall for the free breakfast or $2.99 menu breakfast, it was disgusting. Beautiful view and in edible food, Luke warm, weak coffee. This hotel has a great downtown location but is in serious need of a big overhaul. Buy some decent bedding at least and get some new carpet. I can't wait to check our of here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.6 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Property: Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing