We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 October 2012

As some of the other people have mentioned, there isn't much of a view from the hotel rooms, but we had a very nice stay. The room was large and newly remodeled - everything was very clean and comfortable. No issues with construction. Very quiet location.

The sign is a little hard to spot from the road as you enter town, but it's right by the Shopko.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorbina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stopped here while waiting for the ferry to Isle Royale and on the night we got back. Even though they were doing major remodeling, and that is usually not a good deal when we stop at hotels, this worked. Desk was efficient and friendly, breakfast was what we have come to expect at an express. Rooms look new and are very nice. We had a room with a view of a mountain of loose rocks, very curious, but it is a mining town. Better than the usual parking lot view. We are two families so we reserved a regular room and an adjoining a suite. Worked great for us.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking huge mountain of rocks are on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a newer hotel in the commercial strip area of Houghton. It is easy to find and get to, and there are several restaurants and shopping close by. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations. The lobby was under construction. It was a little messy, but didn't really impact the use of the space. I had a newly remodeled room, which was very nice. The bathroom and furnishings were all very nice. The breakfast was also very good with a decent variety. My reason for not rating this very good was due to the construction. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here because it was free with my husband's hotel points, but it was under construction in the lobby so it was messy and noisy. Its a bit out the way from downtown Houghton too. The room was fine; there just wasn't much else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizHWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Due to tripadvisor I was aware that this place was under renovation. When we arrived we had to step past two workmen to get in the front door. Once in we checked in and found our room was nice and clean too. We had two queens non smoking. The lobby of the motel was kinda torn up but the next morning we had a nice breakfast here I got two ham ans cheese omelets and bacon. They also had bagels,eng muffins,cereals,fruit,coffee and juices served in a nice room with flat screen tv. We say the renovations were not a big deal but of course I woulda preferred them to be complete before we got there. I suppose a construction discount is asking too much......

Room Tip: Get one facing the front as the back ones face a huge rock pile...if view is your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Yes, the rooms are clean and quiet but the lobby and landing are taped off with plastic sheets draped around. The construction crew came into the breakfast area at the same time we did. Needless to say they knew their way around and most of the eggs and saugages were gone by the time we served ourselves. What were left we're the driest scrambled eggs ever! Glad we got a good night's sleep or we would have complained!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Flowbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

They seem about half done. The main lobby is still torn up. Lots of equipment in the parking lot. But on a weekend the place is very quiet and the Internet is blazing fast. We were in a room that was not yet renovated and it was just fine, clean and comfortable. We got a great rate, better than what the posted range is here so we aren't complaining.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houghton, MI
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
43 reviews
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: £97 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing