We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Accomodating and pleasant staff. Large , Clean updated room. Nice pool with sauna Good breakfast typical of chain. What you would expect. Location is near shopping and restaurants away from center of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliketoeateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is always good to hear from our guesta about their stays with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here in June 2013. The room was very clean and comfortable. All furniture is up to date and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, what you hope for in this type of hotel. And since I need to provide at least 200 characters, blah, blah, blah, blah.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I recently stayed here with my sister and my two little boys(2 & 5). I reserved a two queen room and asked for a rollaway bed. When we arrived, we found out that the pool was closed because it was being painted. That was disappointing. However, we were given a large room which included a pull out sofa. The room was on the top floor at the end of the hallway which was great with two energetic boys! The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great staff, clean room, clean pool area. I would for sure stay at this hotel again, no complaints. When we arrived the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful. The most important thing to me is how clean the room was and it was very clean. The pool area was large and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the backside. Just be aware that there is no view, excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogeyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

When we arrived at the Houghton Holiday Inn Express we were greeted with gift bags since we were Holiday Inn rewards members. What a nice treat! The hotel was being remodeled which can be chaotic but they did a good job not letting it get in the way of guest comfort. The room was great- newly remodeled and clean. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which is adequate to fill you up with many choices. Staff was courteous and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadtriptheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback for us. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Houghton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We were up in Houghton to visit our son at Michigan Tech. It was our first family weekend and also Homecoming weekend so most hotels were filling up fast. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn since it is just up the Hill from the school. The rooms were recently remodeled - spacious and very clean. The check in was very fast and the front desk was very friendly throughout our entire stay. We stayed for a couple of days and we had no issues at all. The continental breakfast had your typical eggs, pancakes, cereals, muffins. Good selection of tea and coffee creamers which is a big plus for me. Plenty of parking, beautiful area, restaurants and shopping very close by. For being packed with all the travelers the hotel was very quiet and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

As some of the other people have mentioned, there isn't much of a view from the hotel rooms, but we had a very nice stay. The room was large and newly remodeled - everything was very clean and comfortable. No issues with construction. Very quiet location.

The sign is a little hard to spot from the road as you enter town, but it's right by the Shopko.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorbina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houghton, MI
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
43 reviews
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: £97 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing