We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Houghton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in Houghton”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We've stayed in Houghton so many times, and we've come back to the Holiday Inn Express for most of those stays. The staff is friendly, check in is quick and easy, the rooms have always been clean. This last stay was no different. Though everything was up to "snuff", the reason for the 4, versus 5 point rating is the fact that the bath fan comes on automatically when you turn on the bath light.. Petty? I suppose, but I like a HOT shower and a WARM bathroom when I am done showering. The bath fan sucks out all the heat in the room----I end up cold (wah!). I am an adult, quite capable of turning on a bath fan to clear the humidity in a room------WHEN I'M DONE. The fan was VERY loud, and since there was no outlet in the bathroom to plug a night light in, it meant switching on that LOUD FAN in the middle of the night-thus waking up dear hubby. This is small and petty, but a big turnoff to me.
The rest of the stay was very nice-and quiet too!
I will always stay here, but the fan----well, that's gotta go!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    65
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
44
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

There are not a lot of hotels up in this area, but this is one of the nicer ones. Ask for a room in the front as the rooms in the back just face a rock pile. The staff at the hotel were all very nice. My was average size and was clean. It had a refrigerator which was nice. The rooms come with breakfast which included hot and cold choices. It's enough to get your day started. The gym is small but adequate. My one complaint about the gym is that there is no air conditioning in there. This seems to be typical for this area. There is a nice pool, but I did not use it. There is a business center with one computer. Overall, it's not fancy, but it is a comfortable hotel to base yourself out of. There is shopping near by which includes a grocery store (Econo Foods), Shopko, Dollar Tree and a Walmart..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressHTN, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for the very nice review on TripAdvisor! I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciate the time you took to place the review. We are just beginning to expand into this forum of communication so your favorable review is a great start for us! I hope you will stay with us again when you find yourself in Houghton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many of times, as it is easy to get to when we visit Houghton.
The sheets on one of the beds had a huge stain on it, so had to have Housekeeping come and change it.. and they did not seem to happy about it!
This time, I was not happy with the breakfast- they eggs were slimy and they never refilled the orange juice one morning.
There were a few times when we were at the pool, that our key did not work when we got to our room, and had to run to 3rd floor and back 2 times.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerijo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about the issues during your stay. I have given the comments to our department heads to address with our staff. I appreciate the feedback from you as it is an valuable measure of our performance. I apologize that you had to experiance an unpleasant stay with us. I would like to contact you to discuss the situation further. I hope you will return in the future and allow us an opportunity to provide you with the pleasurable stay you should have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We arrived at the hotel at about 8:30 at night, and experienced a quick and easy check-in. The person working the desk that night and all staff we spoke to at the hotel were all helpful and friendly, providing many suggestions on places to eat and things to see. We reserved the 2-room suite, which had a somewhat unusual setup but it still worked well for us. The main room was a very large room that comfortably fit the bathroom, a queen bed, a small table and chairs, a large desk, a sofa bed, TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. The second room, separated by a real door, had a queen bed and TV. The sink was in the main room, not separated by a door, so this could be something of a problem if someone was trying to sleep in the main room while someone else was washing. The room was clean and in good repair though. There seemed to be a lot of attention to detail by the staff, down to the handwritten notes we received a few times thanking us for staying. The exercise room was typical for a small hotel, with a couple of treadmills, elliptical, and a rack of free weights. Everything appeared to be in good working order though. The breakfast had a reasonable selection of cereal, bananas, toast, bagels, muffins, cinnamon buns, biscuits & gravy, and eggs. The staff did a good job of keeping the food stocked and the breakfast area clean. The shower had great water pressure. Wireless was free and worked well. Due to their location, they don’t get newspapers until 1:00 pm, so no paper in the morning (not even from the previous day when I asked). Like with many newer hotels, it’s very easy to hear people on the floor above. Our room was between the pool and a stairwell, and we couldn’t hear noise from either of them, but I could hear every footstep in the room above. Also, quite a bit of light from the parking lot lights filtered around the curtains, so while not unbearably bright, not completely dark either. Overall though, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usroadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Stayed here one night while on business in the U.P. (see also reviews for Holiday Inn Marquette, HI Express Iron Mountain, and Comfort Inn Ironwood).

This is another relatively new, typical HI Express that meets all expectations. It's a couple of miles from the center of town, but there are restaurants and a grocery store nearby.

The room was clean, fresh, and in good working order. No surprises at breakfast - so all was good.

The Internet worked well and the staff was friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed here when we took our son up to MTU. It is close to campus. The hotel is very clean and the service was excellent. Very comfortable beds!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,288 reviews
430 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Houghton on business in January, 2008 (and have stayed there previously as well). Overall, the hotel is a solid value. It has a good location, the rooms are clean, with the amenities you'd expect at a Holiday Inn Express, and the staff is helpful.

The hotel's fitness center is decent, though not remarkable. The elliptical machine was too squeaky to use without driving yourself crazy from the noise, but the treadmill worked fine. The hotel's business center could use some serious work; the printer was very inconvenient, as it jammed unless you fed every page separately. Even then, each page came out crooked.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing