We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Houghton(Houghton)(Great Value!)
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown(Hancock)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
82
69
33
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
69
33
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herefurniture storecomfortable hotelparking lotpancake machinemichigan techcinnamon rollsstaff was friendlywould stay here againbusiness tripfitness roomrooms are cleanample seatinggreat visitquiet roomking roomhot tub and sauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Having stayed in several area hotels, my family voted this one the best. Located at the top of the hill across from several dining and shopping options, the roaring fire was a lovely welcome on a cold winter's night. We needed an additional room and the front desk was incredibly helpful. Rooms were large and clean. Bed was a bit soft but still a good night's sleep. Will stay here again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressHTN, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate it. We always strive to make our guests stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the whirlpool as well while you were here. It is very nice to relax in the warm water while you watch the snow fall outside. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times on business in the Houghton area and have never been dissapointed - or overly thrilled for that matter. It’s nothing to get exicted about, but it has always been clean, quiet, and the staff is very accomodating and friendly. My only real complaints are that the hotel lacks a hard-line internet connection (wireless only) and could really stand to update it’s TV’s from the old box-type Zeniths that somehow found their way into almost every hotel in this area to something slightly more modern . The hotel is located in a large parking lot near a Perkins and about ¼ mile from an Applebees and Walmart. “Downtown” Houghton and Michigan Tech are both less than a 5 minute drive away. This is basically your typical Holiday Inn Express. It’s nothing fancy, but certainly acceptable in basically every regard

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our stay at theb Holiday Inn Express was rather pleasant, but only for what we needed. The reason we stayed here was for a family reunion, so we were only at the hotel for a little while at a time. Otherwise, everything we could manage to do at the hotel was fine. The breakfast in the morning, (the only meal they serve) was well stocked, as someone was always replenishing the food quantity. The food itself was good, but not excellent. They serve a variety of eggs, toast, crepes, cinnamon rolls, and cereal, plus bananas so you really have almost everything you need to start your day. There is also a fridge down there where you can get milk, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. The room was also fine, but the beds were not comfortable at all. The pull out couch especially, was terrible. Otherwise, nothing else seemed to be wrong as the maids gave you new towels everyday, cleaned the room, and offered a hershey kiss by the bed. This is not the most fancy hotel to exist, but overall, its the best you will find in Houghton.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardeddragonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was our first time at a Holiday Inn Express and we were impressed. The hotel is located in an odd spot on the city’s southwest side in behind a Perkins and next to a furniture store. It overlooks a busy highway and is backed by a huge hill of rock. The room was great, albeit on the second floor which made it a bit tricky with our two smaller dogs. Very clean and roomy. The view from the window was of the man made hill of rock. The beds were super comfortable. The free breakfast was the typical frenzied expericnce with people faced with free food unable to make adult decisons. The quality of the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We've stayed in Houghton so many times, and we've come back to the Holiday Inn Express for most of those stays. The staff is friendly, check in is quick and easy, the rooms have always been clean. This last stay was no different. Though everything was up to "snuff", the reason for the 4, versus 5 point rating is the fact that the bath fan comes on automatically when you turn on the bath light.. Petty? I suppose, but I like a HOT shower and a WARM bathroom when I am done showering. The bath fan sucks out all the heat in the room----I end up cold (wah!). I am an adult, quite capable of turning on a bath fan to clear the humidity in a room------WHEN I'M DONE. The fan was VERY loud, and since there was no outlet in the bathroom to plug a night light in, it meant switching on that LOUD FAN in the middle of the night-thus waking up dear hubby. This is small and petty, but a big turnoff to me.
The rest of the stay was very nice-and quiet too!
I will always stay here, but the fan----well, that's gotta go!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews