We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Stayed here for one night with my husband, daughter and our 2 very tiny grandsons. Nice, clean well-appointed property. Staff was pleasant, friendly and accomodating. Pool and fitness area was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was tasty and well-stocked. We arrived early and they were wonderful about getting us checked in quickly, even though they were fully booked -they even had the baby crib all set up. Refrigerator in room was great for baby's food and snacks. Nice, thick fluffy towels and comfy beds. Cookies, donuts, coffee and hot chocolate was a nice late afternoon touch. Good location also. Honestly, absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    64
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
42
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Very nice hotel. Very accomodating and the breakfast was very nice. Centrally located to reach all the snowmobiling destinations. Plenty of local restaurants to go to that are very close to the hotel and very close to a Walmart or ShopKo and a grocery store, in case you forgot something. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Having stayed in several area hotels, my family voted this one the best. Located at the top of the hill across from several dining and shopping options, the roaring fire was a lovely welcome on a cold winter's night. We needed an additional room and the front desk was incredibly helpful. Rooms were large and clean. Bed was a bit soft but still a good night's sleep. Will stay here again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressHTN, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate it. We always strive to make our guests stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the whirlpool as well while you were here. It is very nice to relax in the warm water while you watch the snow fall outside. We look forward to your future visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times on business in the Houghton area and have never been dissapointed - or overly thrilled for that matter. It’s nothing to get exicted about, but it has always been clean, quiet, and the staff is very accomodating and friendly. My only real complaints are that the hotel lacks a hard-line internet connection (wireless only) and could really stand to update it’s TV’s from the old box-type Zeniths that somehow found their way into almost every hotel in this area to something slightly more modern . The hotel is located in a large parking lot near a Perkins and about ¼ mile from an Applebees and Walmart. “Downtown” Houghton and Michigan Tech are both less than a 5 minute drive away. This is basically your typical Holiday Inn Express. It’s nothing fancy, but certainly acceptable in basically every regard

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our stay at theb Holiday Inn Express was rather pleasant, but only for what we needed. The reason we stayed here was for a family reunion, so we were only at the hotel for a little while at a time. Otherwise, everything we could manage to do at the hotel was fine. The breakfast in the morning, (the only meal they serve) was well stocked, as someone was always replenishing the food quantity. The food itself was good, but not excellent. They serve a variety of eggs, toast, crepes, cinnamon rolls, and cereal, plus bananas so you really have almost everything you need to start your day. There is also a fridge down there where you can get milk, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. The room was also fine, but the beds were not comfortable at all. The pull out couch especially, was terrible. Otherwise, nothing else seemed to be wrong as the maids gave you new towels everyday, cleaned the room, and offered a hershey kiss by the bed. This is not the most fancy hotel to exist, but overall, its the best you will find in Houghton.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardeddragonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was our first time at a Holiday Inn Express and we were impressed. The hotel is located in an odd spot on the city’s southwest side in behind a Perkins and next to a furniture store. It overlooks a busy highway and is backed by a huge hill of rock. The room was great, albeit on the second floor which made it a bit tricky with our two smaller dogs. Very clean and roomy. The view from the window was of the man made hill of rock. The beds were super comfortable. The free breakfast was the typical frenzied expericnce with people faced with free food unable to make adult decisons. The quality of the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We've stayed in Houghton so many times, and we've come back to the Holiday Inn Express for most of those stays. The staff is friendly, check in is quick and easy, the rooms have always been clean. This last stay was no different. Though everything was up to "snuff", the reason for the 4, versus 5 point rating is the fact that the bath fan comes on automatically when you turn on the bath light.. Petty? I suppose, but I like a HOT shower and a WARM bathroom when I am done showering. The bath fan sucks out all the heat in the room----I end up cold (wah!). I am an adult, quite capable of turning on a bath fan to clear the humidity in a room------WHEN I'M DONE. The fan was VERY loud, and since there was no outlet in the bathroom to plug a night light in, it meant switching on that LOUD FAN in the middle of the night-thus waking up dear hubby. This is small and petty, but a big turnoff to me.
The rest of the stay was very nice-and quiet too!
I will always stay here, but the fan----well, that's gotta go!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing