We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relaxing getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houghton Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lagoon Resort & Motel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I go up there every Memorial weekend with a group of people and have a blast. The owner Don is a great guy and will help you out with whatever you need. The resort is right on the lake for easy boat access for boating and fishing and all the swimming you want. The upkeep on the cabins and land is nice and clean so no worries about the cleanness of the cabins. Great View of the lake with a nice fire pit for night time fires and fun right on the water. Would recommend this for all families and friends. Keep up the great work Don!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobluecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was great - completely blew away me and my family's already lofty expectations.

Don, the owner, is an extremely kind, entertaining, and helpful owner. He went out of his way many times to ensure my family's stay was comfortable.

The upkeep of the facilities is great. The lake front view is amazing and they even have a nice area for you to go fishing if you don't want to hop on a boat to do so.

Will definitely return. Thank you, Don, for giving me and my family an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: The apartments are comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the Lagoon Resort first week of Feb. to get in some Ice fishing. Had an amazing time. Don and Brian went out of their way to help. Brian even delivered pizza to us out on the frozen lake.Talk about great service. Room was clean, warm and provided all our needs. Would and will recommend this place to anyone who will listen. I always come here for a week in the summer and now it looks like a week in Feb will become a tradition also..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed at Lagoon Resort & Motel for Tip Up Town for the weekend.Me & my family stayed for a week in august and had a great vacation then too at Lagoon.The cabins are family friendly & all we needed to bring on both trips were food & clothes.The beach was clean and the lake access was perfect for fishing.We plan on visiting every summer from now on & also for Tip Up Town.
Highly recommend Lagoon Resort & Motel for a wonderful vacation to Houghton Lake.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had stopped in to see if they had anything available on the busiest weekend of the winter, and the owners were very helpful and allowed us to stay one night instead of the entire weekend like most of the resorts in the area. very COMFORTABLE AND LOTS OF FUN.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocco48310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We rented two cabins for a family bow hunting trip. The cabins were clean and cozy, and ready on time. The kitchen was well supplied. The location was excellent with millions of acres of state land within a 15 minute drive. The owner was very friendly. We plan on returning for another hunt and a summer vacation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeareWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weeks vacation up at Houghton Lake and stayed at the Lagoon Resort. The grounds were kept up, and the cottage, while not new, was clean and very comfortable. We rented one that had a lake view. Don, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful. He even allowed me to tie up my small aluminum fishing boat to his dock saving me trips to the DNR launch site about two miles away. We will definitely be spending more time at the Lagoon Resort in the future. Thanks Don for a very pleasant stay. Ric and Betty H. Romeo, MI

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
1.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
392 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Resort & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Resort & Motel

Address: 6578 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round 3 Acre lakefront cottage resort with 2 and 3 bedroom cottages, 2 bedroom apartments and 2 motel rooms. Huge playground areas w/swings,teeter totter,volley ball,shuffleboard,horseshoe pits,and large water slide in the lake. Large above ground fire pit by the lake. We have 14ft boats with 15hp motors and pontoon boats you can rent. Bait shop next door. Many childrens toys on the beach. We are walking distance to 2 amusement parks and a restaurant. We also have boat slips in the lagoon and a long dock. Your children will love this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lagoon Resort & Motel Houghton Lake, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing