We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houghton Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lagoon Resort & Motel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have vacationed there for 15 yrs or so.
Nice family space and very relaxing. Volleyball area. Slide and swings for the kids great beach area and sand toys. Nice dock area for the boats.
But the best thing my kids say is the slide in the water!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just spent 10 days here and the only bad thing about the Lagoon is leaving. Don and Brian keep
everything beautiful and running smooth. This is my third summer here and I honestly would not stay anywhere else in Houghton Lake but here. This place is my little slice of heaven on earth. Clean cabins, clean grounds and conveniently located. Yep I have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I can't tell you how many years we have been going to the Lagoon resort but we all look forward to it every year. The cabins are clean and maintained. The property is beautiful. Great place for family time. The kids spend all day playing in the lake, on the playground and they love the slide in the lake. There's a great beach area and lots of lounge chairs for relaxing and catching some sun! The cabins have everything you need. Also the kids love being within walking distance to Funland and go carts. Fishing is great with easy access for boats. I have taken kids on other vacations and all they talk about is Houghton Lake! The owner Don is very helpful and accommodating. He feels like family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at lagoon resort. We had a rough start to our trip and were not able to get up there til way late. We called to let Don know, he was very understanding. He left the cabin open for us and the out side light on so we were able to find our cabin. Even though it was so late of coming in he was actually still up and greated us when we arrived. The next morning he was very help full. We had rented the pontoon for the day and went out on the lake it was very relaxing and he was super friendly. Don and his son Brian we very helpful an accomidating. They helped give my husband a place to clean the fish and were very friendly towards our daughter. Very kid friendly place with lots for kids to do. Very clean, and very nicly kept up. Reasonable for price and Don and his brian were always there for help.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampier818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I go up there every Memorial weekend with a group of people and have a blast. The owner Don is a great guy and will help you out with whatever you need. The resort is right on the lake for easy boat access for boating and fishing and all the swimming you want. The upkeep on the cabins and land is nice and clean so no worries about the cleanness of the cabins. Great View of the lake with a nice fire pit for night time fires and fun right on the water. Would recommend this for all families and friends. Keep up the great work Don!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobluecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was great - completely blew away me and my family's already lofty expectations.

Don, the owner, is an extremely kind, entertaining, and helpful owner. He went out of his way many times to ensure my family's stay was comfortable.

The upkeep of the facilities is great. The lake front view is amazing and they even have a nice area for you to go fishing if you don't want to hop on a boat to do so.

Will definitely return. Thank you, Don, for giving me and my family an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: The apartments are comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the Lagoon Resort first week of Feb. to get in some Ice fishing. Had an amazing time. Don and Brian went out of their way to help. Brian even delivered pizza to us out on the frozen lake.Talk about great service. Room was clean, warm and provided all our needs. Would and will recommend this place to anyone who will listen. I always come here for a week in the summer and now it looks like a week in Feb will become a tradition also..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
1.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
392 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Resort & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Resort & Motel

Address: 6578 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round 3 Acre lakefront cottage resort with 2 and 3 bedroom cottages, 2 bedroom apartments and 2 motel rooms. Huge playground areas w/swings,teeter totter,volley ball,shuffleboard,horseshoe pits,and large water slide in the lake. Large above ground fire pit by the lake. We have 14ft boats with 15hp motors and pontoon boats you can rent. Bait shop next door. Many childrens toys on the beach. We are walking distance to 2 amusement parks and a restaurant. We also have boat slips in the lagoon and a long dock. Your children will love this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lagoon Resort & Motel Houghton Lake, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing