We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the changes :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I had been there a few years ago when it was still under Best Western~back then I sort of felt like we were just a reservation number~not a guest...My son had only one day to take some sort of mini-vacation so I thought we would give this place one more try~glad we did...staff was very friendly, room was clean, and even though we showed up way before check in time, they were able to get us into our room and didnt act like we were an inconvience. My only hint/suggestion would be that when I use to stay there under Best Western, at check out the receipt was valid for a slight discount for next stay...I definitely plan on coming back~but a little savings is a nice incentive for any traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront room on ground level...being greeted by ducks at our patio door was just too fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geckogirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel has made great quality upgrades and is doing fine upkeep. The property is awesome - ask for a lake view room - they are all good! Two days of sitting by the water and enjoying beautiful Houghton Lake was great therapy for our tired bodies and frazzled emotions. The staff went out of their way to meet every need.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Truthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Room was clean, breafast very subpar, little effort by staff, not very personable. Site states hotel was refurbished but staff claims they only cleaned the hotel and patched holes in wall. That I can see. This would be an awesome hotel if they updated at least the bedding and decor in the rooms. Low budget hotel.

Our fridge was not working, full of water, screen door on balcony was off track, both issues were rectified quickly, but surprised they entered the room when the dnd sign was on the door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlienohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My family and I stayed here for the weekend, and it made us feel like we were right at home. The hotel has been by far the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff provided excellent service in a timely fashion. The rooms and amenities exceeded every expectation. The view of lake from the balcony is unbelievable, and all of this at an extremely reasonable price. I have found the location i will be staying at every time I visit Houghton Lake. Beachfront Hotel is A+++++ rating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babbyc1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a nice, clean Hotel on the water. The staff was nice. The Location is 2nd to none. The kids had a great time outside and at the indoor pool. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Houghton Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phonebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Checked in on a Thursday and elevator was broken,told it would be fixed by 2:00PM that day. Went out for awhile and when we returned after 2:00pm was told elevator would have part for it till 7:30 am next day. Husband has bad knees and we were on ground floor which ment going up and down 3 flights of stairs every time we went out!! Elevater did not come up until after 11:00AM next day. On check out price I was comfirmed was not what I paid, Didn't notice till I got home and saw. Called back and was told there no such rate even though I gave them my conformation number and told them this was quoted as AARP/AAA rate. I was told no such rate and when we checked in they went over rate with us. I stated no one went over rate with me or I would not have agreed as they sent me conformation with rate of $99.00 not 109/129.00 on it. Will never stay here again and will not recommed it to anyone I know!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmamooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachfronthoughton, Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

We apologize for the inconvenience the elevator not working caused you during your recent stay. We were in constant contact with the Elevator Company trying to get the repairs done in a timely manner. Providing Excellent Customer Service is our number one priority and we apologize that we fell short of that goal. We have taken care of the Elevator issue and hope that you will consider staying with us during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: os mais baixos, dão acesso a praia, e os mais altos mais quietos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cacilda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
392 reviews
4.0 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Houghton Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing