We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful overnight stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this independent hotel for one night enroute to Traverse City. Our room was a very pleasant surprise. It was spotlessly clean. It opened to a lovely balcony overlooking the lake. There was a nice bonfire at night. Great little beach and swimming area. nice loungers and umbrellas. Indoor pool needs a bit of updating and the whirlpool tub was scorching hot but I enjoyed both!
The staff works very hard- everywhere you turned someone was working on something- cleaning, washing etc..... They are a dedicated and friendly staff. Recommendations for restaurants and golf courses were great. The rate was incredible for a balcony room overlooking beach and lake. Beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for top floor-- an end unit if you want quiet and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We got 2 Queen beds for 2 adults and 2 kids. Very nice, no complaints. The common areas were nice and clean, not high end and not trashy either.

The included complimentary breakfast could have been better and healthier. It was definitely an afterthought. Housekeeping was a bit lacking too - sheets were not dusted, and new cups were not provided.

We used this as a base to visit Traverse City and Sleeping Bear. Yes, it is a 1.5-2 hour trek....but for 1/3 the price...it was worthwhile for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdynumnum43214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After a terrible experience in West Branch, MI we called the Beachfront Hotel and were able to get two rooms for the rest of the week. The staff at Beachfront was very helpful in making sure that we had everything that we needed for our stay. Since we were staying while we were working, I was very happy to have a quiet stay. Some hotels the noise levels don't quiet until midnight or later, but by 10 pm at the Beachfront, it is quiet. I stayed in this hotel last year for business and since then it has been renovated. The hotel was very nice before the renovation and now it is spectacular!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatgirl0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Beachfront Hotel is a freshly renovated place right on the shore of Houghton Lake. There is a nice indoor pool and hot tub, but no access to any kind of outdoor deck or yard for sunning. The continental breakfast was plain, but typical. 1 elevator that was really slow and busy. Stairs far away. Very pleasant staff.
The beach front walk outs are the way to go. There are firepits, grills, and private lounge chairs with table and umbrella. as well as a table and chairs on the patio itself. Big ole party going on on the grass there, but they were very respectful. Fun!
Rooms were clean and there was no moldy smell that you associate with wet beach carpeting. It was a really nice room with a large stainless stell fridge/freezer, microwave and coffee. Nice bathroom and shower. Poor timing on the lawn watering. Happened just as we were waking up, before checkout. We'd have like to had our coffee out there, but it was soaked. We could have gone the extra 50 ft to the beach. The beach and surrounding area were sandy, not a lot of muck or seaweed. Lots of little shells and a great depth for little ones to jump off the dock.
We would have been able to have a half day check out had the place not been so popular, but our room was already reserved. The people were mostly on the water and beach, The pool was very quiet and had a nice temperature. Even though we could not keep our room, we could maintain access to the pool, bathrooms, beach, parking and dock for the day, which I thought was very nice,
Great place to go party!
Sidenote: The lake is shallow and has a mud bottom, I found the lake itself, while very large, to be overused and dirty. It is a very popular lake due to its close proximity to the big cities, GR, Lansing, Detroit. Lots of seaweek, Great for fishing but not swimming. Also has a sandbar area where people like to hang out and visit. Was nice to tool around in, but is very shallow in a lot of places.I am more spoiled by lakes like Lake Michigan, Torch Lake, Burt Lake and Mullet Lake.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the beach walk outs. There are 3 other floors of balconies on the lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Beachfront Hotel in Houghton Lake Michigan. I spent many summers growing up in Houghton Lake and cannot remember a hotel as nice as this one. The views from the private balcony are breathtaking. The place was so clean I was convinced they just built it. All of the staff was friendly and helpful in every manner. The rooms were simple, clean and served their purpose. The Hotel has a beach with a dock, nice lawn furniture, fire pit and a neat little cook-out area with both Propane and Charcoal BBQ s.

Room Tip: Choose the beach side over the Jacuzzi room on the street side unless you really enjoy a slightly la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPranger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds, great staff. View of the lake is wonderful.
Plan to visit here again.
On the other side you are facing the street and parking lot.

The interesting thing about Trip Advisor is that they won't let this review go through without more text. I hope that this is enough.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a lake view room on a higher floor. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very well kept property on the shores of Houghton Lake. The room was nicely done, and we had a nice balcony, but were on the street side not the lake side. Kind of an unusual layout as you enter on what is the 3rd floor on the street side. Very nice beach setup and there were fireworks all over the lake tonite! Service was good, breakfast only OK. We would stay again, with a lakeside room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
48 reviews
20 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
24.6 mi away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Houghton Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing