We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended for Beautiful Scenery, Relaxation & Responsive Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Even before we arrived we called to make sure that we could get a crib to the room, and accommodation was immediately made. The woman at the desk was very friendly and easy to talk to. She was willing to answer all of our questions without making us feel rushed and explained all of her answers with patience and clarity.

The room was clean and pretty. The balcony was awesome, and it was great to be able to open the door and let the air blow in, see the amazing lake, and take in the breathtaking scene and the air.

Any issues we had were quickly resolved. From the people at the desk to the maid service to any uniformed staff we ran into over the 3 days we stayed for a wedding event were friendly and willing to help--from getting another set of towels; to recommending places to eat; to taking a moment to show our Littles (2, 5, 7 years of age) where to find the toys for the beach that we didn't bring ourselves...

We enjoyed the breakfast (especially the waffles) every day and meeting other guests as we ate. We enjoyed letting the Littles play on the hotel's play equipment (a really nice play set) near the beach. We enjoyed camp fires at night. We enjoyed the tidily kept and landscaped beach by day.

I've recommended to my parents to take a getaway at the Beachfront Hotel in Houghton Lake.

Now, I recommend it to you. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Either get a lake front room or a room with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacelya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a friend's wedding a couple of weeks ago. We took up about 90% of the hotel, and we were all so excited to see each other that I'm sure we were more than a "handful" for the staff...who somehow managed to stay on top of everyone's needs (from children to party-minded adults), AND were incredibly friendly!! Rooms were clean and well laid out, and they managed to juggle all the room swaps that happened over the four days.
The location was gorgeous, right on the lake, and they have a bonfire area, where we made lots of memories :) It was a wonderful, memorable long weekend. If you're not into lake water, there's even a swimming pool and hot tub...these guys have thought of everything. Facilities aside, though, it's the staff that made the experience so amazing. Thank you, Crystal! And thank you to everyone else whose names I didn't get!

Room Tip: Rooms on the "first floor" (not lobby!) lead right out onto the grass towards the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laichloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Beachfront Hotel and Hotel Manager Samantha and her staff were amazing. They went over and beyond to think about and plan so many details of my wedding. We filled the hotel and I'm sure they had a lot of special requests coming from guests. They took care of everyone. Everyone was so happy. The hotel even threw me a girls night before my wedding. It was so incredible. The location and private beach is spectacular. They have a bonfire pit and dock. You won't be sorry if you visit this great hotel. Thank you Beachfront!!

Room Tip: Beachfront walk out rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Starting with the front desk they are friendly, and very helpful. With their reasonable prices it is a very nice place to stay in Houghton Lake. If the breakfast was a bit better this place would be over the top.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Frank11177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm from Houghton Lake and once in awhile my husband and I like to just get away. This is where we go. The reason: because the service is amazing and always friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the view of the lake is awesome! Truly a great place to stay if your in the area.

Room Tip: If possible, get a lake view room. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debea1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed on a Saturday, to celebrate our anniversary and were overcharged at checkout. There were alive June Bugs in the room when we entered. And the noise was redicolous, from an "apparent" family reunion!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Wish I knew all the names of the 3 or 4 girls we dealt with, but only know Melissa. Thank you so much to all of you. My family had a wonderful weekend. We will definitely stay at Beachfront next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1973beb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
392 reviews
4.0 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
47 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Houghton Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing