We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean accomodations, Very nice pontoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
American Oak Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Waterford, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean accomodations, Very nice pontoon”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We rented a cabin for the week of the June 27th thru July 5th. The cabin was nicely furnished and close to grocery stores and places to eat. We had a family of 5. The firepit was nice at night and the kids watched a movie at the outdoor theater. They were playing vollyball one night close to dark and one of the owners can an turned on a light for them. We took a pontoon and Joe waited on us had and foot. We gassed up a couple times beacuse we were pulling the kids on a tube. We called him and he met us every time we came in. Being novice boat people this was a huge help as we didnt want to hit the dock. The boat was like new inside and it ran great. The only downfall was all the fuel we used pulling the kids tubing. We went thru 15 gallons. One of the swingsets was broken by the kids twisting the swings and Joe and the owner were fixing it the next day. Joe was always doing something and he was very personable. Tracie took care of our boat paperwork and explaind everything nicely but in a cautious way as she didnt want us to damage the propellor and have to charge us. We had a great time and will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    1
    3
    20
See reviews for
36
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Arrived mid afternoon on Saturday and checked in and then did a little site seeing. After dinner we returned to our room to find our that the only toilet we had did not flush. After calling the front office they sent over their maint. he attempted to clear the line after an hour of him plunging he was unsucessful. He said that they'd might have to call a plumber. Around 10 pm that same night the maint. came to our room & said the next day we would be able to move to the cabin across from us since the family that was staying there were moving due to no water pressure in the shower. The next day we had rented onecof their pontoon boats. After reviewing the operating instructions they said there was no ladder to get on/off the boat & it took quite a long time to find the anchor & additional gas tank. After being on the water all day we went to change gas tanks & we were unable to since the extra gas tank they gave us did not have the correct connections. After we moved from 1 cabin to another they had moved new people into the one with no working toilet a few hours later and left them with no toilet but at least offering them a vacant cabin to use the bathroom. After inspection of our cabin before checking out they had the nerve to mention that we didn't make the bed like they wanted us to leave it cleaner than we got it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpaskie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awjens, Manager at American Oak Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
This guest was here for three days. There was a problem with a slow toilet, and we did call Maple Valley plumbing to see if they could come and use their camera and inspect the drain. They said they would call if they could get to us. They failed to mention Joe plunged it that night and said if you have any more trouble we will move you tomorrow. The next morning we asked them if they used the toilet and they said no, they were afraid because it was slow. We had the guest move to another cabin which was upgraded with a 42" flatscreen and air conditioning. They claimed the previous guest left for low water pressure, but did not have any problems with water pressure once they checked into that cabin. That guest in fact upgraded to a chalet for an additional charge and was here all week in Chalet 21. All of the cabins were updated this spring with all new flooring, carpet and living room furniture including the sofa sleepers. We rented a powered snake to clean the drain from Express rentals at 1pm. While this was happening another guest arrived to check in (early). We allowed them to use another cabin while the repair was being made. Joe completed the drain cleaning by 5PM and the check in is 3PM, the problem was solved.The cabin we moved this guest to was no more than 20 feet from the cabin we switched them from. We asked them if they were ok and she explained that she managed several hundred rental units in lower Michigan and they were fine, they understood. They rented a pontoon, they took the 20 Foot Sweetwater (MC 2967RN) pontoon. It has been completely refurbished this spring. They were the first guests to use it. It has new carpet, decking, furniuture, engine, stereo and LED lighting. We took a video of this boat on Sunday July 7th after reading their review. They called this pontoon "shabby at best". This video has been uploaded to Tripadvisor. This is one of four pontoon boats we complely refurbished this year. Look for the Sweetwater video, it starts with a picture of the local newspaper from July 4th this year, and it is 1 minute long. We took this video with the newspaper for legal reasons. If you watch this video and think this boat is "shabby at best" then we will not be able to meet your standards and we understand we can't make everyone happy. We hovever believe anyone who watches it will see that "the proof is in the pudding". As far as anyone asking them to make beds, it never happened. All the cabins are cleaned after each guest leaves. This review is one of two by the same guests on the same day that will absolutely be challenged in court. These claims are false and this guest is trying to get something for free. I would expect the next thing they will do is deny credit card charges. When the current guests check out of the two cabins they occupied, we will upload those as well. We updated 30 plus pictures of boats and grounds this evening. All of the cabins are occupied but new pictures will be posted on checkout days. The most disturbing part of this review is that Joe spoke to these guests several times and bent over backwards for them. He took this to heart and we took it personal. The extra gas tank he gave them was not one we normally put on this boat. It was to give them a safety margin if they ran out as they were clueless about boats. It was quickly swapped for the correct one when they came in for a lunch break. They did not run out, they were not inconvenienced in any way. The anchor was a second anchor for the back of the pontoon, again not something we normally supply. We told them that guests were not required to be back at 7 with boats and to call him and let him know when they would be returning. Joe did the walk thru on checkout and they told him everything was fine. There is a live webcam on our web page. If you watch it you will see people hard at work doing our very best to supply fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houghton Lake hotels

Livonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Absolutely horrible. Broken picnic tables, serious fire code violations, bed on rocks, and dirty.
Boats break down pontoon seats are outdoor chairs not fastened down Nobody to help when needed. The most horrible experience and the Owners don't care....bad attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

My family and I travelled the weekend of Labor Day with our two pets. We had a fabulous time. The cabin had everything you could need. It was clean and cozy! My family and I rented a pontoon and cruised the lake. We enjoyed every morning waking up, walking to water and sitting on edge of dock enjoying the calm water and warmth of the sun. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a getaway with simple features. We will definitely come back and stay. Looking forward to coming back in the winter to enjoy those activities!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brooke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Had a great time clean rooms friendly people. And close to ATV trails.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had yet another great time in Houghton Lake and enjoyed our stay at American Oak Resort. It's nice to be able to stay at a place that is not only affordable but has everything you need. Family owned, they put a lot of their own time and money sponsoring TIP-UP-TOWN and grooming the snowmobile trails. Not many people understand how the grooming system works, so just so you know that this owner spends a lot of his own time grooming, when he could be riding and doesn't get paid to do it. So when you see the groomer on the trails there's a good chance that it might be the owner of American Oak Resort. So the next time you want to spend sometime in Houghton Lake, think about what the other place do for you. I just looked at the sponsors for TIP-UP and I don't see the big Hotels even donating towards the even. As people always say buy American, well I say support those that support what we enjoy. So if you ride a sled, ice fish or even enjoy coming up in the summertime support those who support what we enjoy to do. I recommend staying at American Oak Resort...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulding, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for three days in late Oct. 2011. Everything was ready when we arrived. Denise, the attendant was very helpfull and attentive. We stayed in cabin# 6. It was well maintained and very clean. We have already made plans to return for vacation and this will be our choice to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
4.4 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
4.5 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
42 reviews
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Oak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Oak Resort

Property: American Oak Resort
Address: 112 Jefferson, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — American Oak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your American Oak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Oak Hotel
American Oak Resort Houghton Lake, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing