We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, hosts and appartment”
Review of Essence Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Town B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, hosts and appartment”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. It was very clean and well equipped for a week long stay. Use of the pool and main deck are included, providing access to the best views and cooling breezes.

Eric and Annie, the owners are fantastic, very friendly and give good advice on places to eat, visit, and otherwise on how to make the most of your time on the island.

The house overlooks the sea, beach, Belham Valley (now recovering and green again), whilst the volcano steams away in the middle distance.

Essence is easy to recommend to any one making a trip to this fantastic Island.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hoho0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We (couple) rented the bottom 1bedroom apartment suite and it was just perfect! The linens and towels were changed every couple of days and we had plenty of beach towels to bring with us to the beach or lounge upstairs at the pool. The decor was really nice, showers were awesome; huge shower head to cool down after a day outside. There was a huge balcony upstairs that we would have our meals with a great view of belham valley and Isle bay beach. The pool was also very well kept as Eric would come everyday to clean it. There was even an outdoor shower for cleaning up all the sand from the beach.
Our friend who joined us later rented the studio suite upstairs and it looked every nice also, with vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan. As far as I could tell, the shower upstairs was also very nice :) Both suites also had their own patio that we could just sit and cool down in the constant breeze. there were plenty of fruit trees around the property, coconuts, mangoes, breadfruit and tons of flowers. All the foliage provided a lot of privacy. The house itself is only about 4.5 minutes from the beach!
Eric and Annie were both very friendly and they obviously put a lot of time into making guests feel at home. There is nothing that I could complain about. Would definitely return, can't wait already!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkstrwbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Loved Essence Guesthouse - great location with spectacular views over to Soufriere Hills. Eric and Annie are really friendly and will do all they can to help you make the most of your stay. The accommodation is really comfortable and reasonable in comparison to other places we stayed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Eric and Annie's little place is everything you could ask for. I stayed in the guestroom upstairs. It includes a refrigerator, widescreen television, sink, toaster oven and utensils. The rooms is comfortable (ceiling fan included) and immaculately clean. But why stay inside when there is a dream-like swimming pool on the porch attached to the house? On one side of the pool you can look at the volcano and mountains, and on the other side you look at the beach. Chances are, you'll probably have pool to yourself--there's only one other unit in the house.

Simply put, this is the best value of any place i have ever paid to stay on vacation.

The location is on the very southern end of the habitable part of the island. You'll have the beach to yourself, as is common on Montserrat. Eric and Annie are well-connected on the island and can give good tips on how to make your vacation the best. They have a driver that will pick you up from the airport for a reasonable price (he will also rent you a car for $35/day and give you a tour for $25/hour, both well worth it).

They loaned me suncreen (be sure to bring it, as it's not commonly sold on Montserrat), snorkeling gear and even a cell phone. I wish I could rave more about the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benedijw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I are just back from a dream vacation that included Essence Guest House on Montserrat. The island of Montserrat is very interesting with the volcano, but there is so much more to the island. The first thing would be your host and hostess at Essence, Eric and Annie. These lovely people welcome you one of their homes, either Essence at the beach or their home near the rain forest. We stayed at Essence which is a short walk to Old Road Beach, a beautiful black sand beach. Many days we were the only ones on this beach, some days we had to share it with a few local fishermen. Essence has 2 different accommodations. We stayed in the guest room which is a large bedroom, nice bathroom that also has a small refrigerator, toaster oven, coffee pot and hot pot. There is also a TV in the room for those that just cannot get away! There is a private seating area just outside the room, but you have free access to the lovely pool, decks and porch. (The other accommodation is a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and living room area.) Eric and Annie can direct you to anything from a great rental car from Winston to restaurants like The Olveston House where we had a lovely dinner to MVO , the volcano observatory. The view from Essence is one of the best on the island. To the right you look at the beautiful Caribbean and sunsets. To the left you look at the volcano, an ever changing site . The other great finds, in the island of Montserrat, are the warm generous people of Montserrat. John at People’s Place, a small local restaurant at the top of Center Hills, warmly welcomes you sit and enjoy anything from a local roti to grilled fresh fish. Stop anytime for a cold beer! John Ponteen’s Beach View Bar in Little Bay is also a must. He is open most days for lunch. The beaches are spectacular, especially if you like to be the only one meandering along with your feet in the ocean. Take the short 20 minute flight to Montserrat, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I spent one full month in Essence guesthouse in march/april 2012 and everything was perfect.

Eric and Annie are very friendly people, allways ready to help, and they gives very good advices. The two houses they own are really amazing places :
- in Old Town, the view is amazing an the Volcano, the Belham river and the sea. Each appartment has its own private entrance.
- in Woodlands, the view is nice too, but the main point is that you really are IN the forest, (that means you can go for a hike just by crossing the road, or see an agouti in the garden).

I can't choose between both, so I suggest everyone to try both, you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Absolutely loved this place.Annie and Eric made our stay enjoyable, they arranged our pickup from and to the guesthouse. The guesthouse (apartment) was very relaxing, truly a home away from home minus the stresses of everyday living. The place is clean, and welcoming. We will be returning to Essence soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Essence Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Guesthouse

Property: Essence Guesthouse
Address: Old Towne Bluff Drive, Old Town, Montserrat
Region: Caribbean > Montserrat > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Annie and Eric, a Belgian couple enjoying life in the Caribbean. The Essence is situated on the hillside of Old Towne, offering a great view of the Belham valley up to the beach. It is just a 5-minute stroll to the beach. From the pool deck and patio you have fantastic views on the volcano, the beach and the Belham valley. We are looking forward to sharing this little piece of paradise with you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing