We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essence Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Town B&B and Inns
St. John's, Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Essence Guest House was really relaxing and offered a wonderful view of the Volcano and the nearby beach below. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The Guest house came with a small kitchenette (i.e. a small, sink, toaster, electric kettle, toaster oven, plates, cups and a mini fridge). If you are spending a few days in Montserrat I would definitely recommend the Essence Guest House since both it is both relaxing and because Eric and Annie were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and my fiancée travelled nine Caribbean islands in three weeks, and this was by far the highlight of our holiday. The room we got was perfect. Big lounge, nice kitchen, spacy bedroom. The swimming pool was great, perfect postcard view of the volcano. I genuinely have never stayed in a nicer place. Hope the volcano behaves and this paradise can stay just as it is. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QwertyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My boyfriend & I can't say enough about this place! Not only are Eric & Annie such a nice couple, but they have thought of it all! The apartment is so nice, clean, and modern. Everything I needed they already thought of so I felt like I was home! I absolutely loved the fact we could swim in the pool and see the volcano and the ocean at the same time.
The Essence is a fantastic name as someone else said, "the essence of relaxation". I was so comfortable and truly at peace. We had the entire house to ourselves and Annie & Eric were kind enough to let us cook downstairs in the apartment, since the guestroom is not efficiency style but has everything for a continental breakfast setup. It just so happened that during the holidays most venues were closed and so cooking was our only option, which we hadn't planned on. This is a must-stay place. Quiet, peaceful, and beautiful!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJTripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Essence for 7 days and it was fabulous! Our apartment was clean, comfortable and very affordable. The second floor veranda/deck had the most beautiful view that looked out at the volcano, green tree valley and out to the beach. We spent many mornings enjoying our breakfast and looking out at the scenery in awe (this was also done poolside!). Lots of fun things to do close by i.e. beaches, hiking trails, lookouts, and restaurants. Annie and Eric were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. They took time to answer our questions and advise us on things to do and how to get around. It really made our vacations so enjoyable. If you're looking for a nice place to stay with nice people, stay at the Essence!

Room Tip: We stayed at the bottom floor apartment and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. It was very clean and well equipped for a week long stay. Use of the pool and main deck are included, providing access to the best views and cooling breezes.

Eric and Annie, the owners are fantastic, very friendly and give good advice on places to eat, visit, and otherwise on how to make the most of your time on the island.

The house overlooks the sea, beach, Belham Valley (now recovering and green again), whilst the volcano steams away in the middle distance.

Essence is easy to recommend to any one making a trip to this fantastic Island.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hoho0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We (couple) rented the bottom 1bedroom apartment suite and it was just perfect! The linens and towels were changed every couple of days and we had plenty of beach towels to bring with us to the beach or lounge upstairs at the pool. The decor was really nice, showers were awesome; huge shower head to cool down after a day outside. There was a huge balcony upstairs that we would have our meals with a great view of belham valley and Isle bay beach. The pool was also very well kept as Eric would come everyday to clean it. There was even an outdoor shower for cleaning up all the sand from the beach.
Our friend who joined us later rented the studio suite upstairs and it looked every nice also, with vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan. As far as I could tell, the shower upstairs was also very nice :) Both suites also had their own patio that we could just sit and cool down in the constant breeze. there were plenty of fruit trees around the property, coconuts, mangoes, breadfruit and tons of flowers. All the foliage provided a lot of privacy. The house itself is only about 4.5 minutes from the beach!
Eric and Annie were both very friendly and they obviously put a lot of time into making guests feel at home. There is nothing that I could complain about. Would definitely return, can't wait already!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkstrwbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Loved Essence Guesthouse - great location with spectacular views over to Soufriere Hills. Eric and Annie are really friendly and will do all they can to help you make the most of your stay. The accommodation is really comfortable and reasonable in comparison to other places we stayed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Essence Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Guesthouse

Property: Essence Guesthouse
Address: Old Towne Bluff Drive, Old Town, Montserrat
Region: Caribbean > Montserrat > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Annie and Eric, a Belgian couple enjoying life in the Caribbean. The Essence is situated on the hillside of Old Towne, offering a great view of the Belham valley up to the beach. It is just a 5-minute stroll to the beach. From the pool deck and patio you have fantastic views on the volcano, the beach and the Belham valley. We are looking forward to sharing this little piece of paradise with you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing