We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Hudsonville
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hudsonville
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Price”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I am not a fancy traveler. My only requirements are that a hotel is clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. This hotel met that criteria.

This place used to be an Amerihost, and I noticed it had received many poor reviews (including bedbugs) in the past, so I was a little nervous..but everything was fine. The furniture in the room was somewhat worn (even the curtains seemed to be a little moth eaten), but everything was clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. It was also $40 cheaper than the hotel we were looking at in Grand Rapids.

We got to breakfast 30 minutes before it was over, and the milk/yogurt/etc were at room temperature at that point, so I wouldn't eat them. They did have a selection of sausage/eggs/waffles that my husband enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
32
21
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was a bit leary about staying here due to some of the reviews, but was very pleasntly surprised at the accommodations. It's pretty much what you would get at most Quality Inns across the country. The room was a bit dated, but clean and everything worked. The separate heating unit built into the wall worked well, and though not as quiet at newer models, was not a bother whatsoever. And the price was excellent - $56.99 including a decent breakfast.. I would not hesitate to stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headingsomeplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We used to stay here when it was amerihost inn and it was fine. Now it is not. The fan made a loud clicking noise so sleep was hard. Bed was comfortable but had 4 baby pillows for a king size bed. Sink faucet had no knob so had to turn the little pin by hand. Breakfast at 7:00 was non existent . I could tell there had been eggs and some kind of meat but no more. Only decaf coffee left which was better than nothing as in the room. Had a coffee pot but no coffee and just 1 tea bag in our room. We made reservation but they could not find it when we checked in probably because clerk spoke very little English.
Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hudsonville hotels

Alanson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our daughter is on a traveling sports team, and this hotel was booked for the team to stay at. I looked at reviews and pictures on line and was very hesitant, so I called the hotel to ask how old the property was or if it had been recently renovated. The person I talked to had no idea. Upon arrival at the hotel, we found that the reviews were on target. We were scheduled to stay two nights but went to a different hotel the second night. Hallway carpet was very badly stained, room smelled like smoke, walls and ceilings stained, wallpaper peeling off walls, plugged sink (which the hotel staff tried to fix with Liquid Plumber. It helped, but didn't solve the problem), moldy shower curtain and very luke warm coffee in the morning. They did offer to let us change rooms, but based on the condition of the hotel as a whole we didn't bother. Front desk was nice but didn't know much, and breakfast was on ice in garbage cans in the vending room the night before. Won't make this mistake twice. Should have trusted my instincts and not booked the room in the beginning. And the wifi didn't work either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at... No hot water for 3 days, no AC in hallways, wall paper falling off walls, moth eaten curtains you could see straight through. I contacted Choice Hotels with no response, they should be ashamed of letting this franchise stay in business. If you have a wedding at Pinnacle, don't stay here, worth the cab ride to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieHersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed in July 2011. This was the 2nd time we tried this hotel in one year. First time was terrible, but chalked it up to a one time thing. 2nd time was just as bad.

Assigned room at check-in strongly smelled of smoke, but they did allow us to change. Once in the new room, turned down sheets to find obvious black stains on 6 out of 8 pillow cases, a large yellow stain (bigger than a dinner plate) and multiple smaller stains on the bedsheets. I asked for and received new, but they also were stained.

Clogged sink drain, no drain stopper in tub, I had to wash the shower curtain it stunk so bad, no fan in bathroom, had to have room keys reset twice, breakfast was less than adequate, desk clerk being gone from desk and leaving a 'Will return shortly' sign, part of door lock missing,and I could go on and on.

I realize this sounds as if I am being not picky; however, I am the opposite. I am willing to overlook a thing or two, but this was one thing after another. I would have gone elsewhere, but booked a non-refundable Internet rate.

Just glad I didn't wake up with bug bites (only reason it didn't get a '1' rating). Will be surprised if this place is still open in 5 years.

Definitely will pay the extra to stay in Holland next trip. Gave them two fair chances. Never here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank threesooners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here due to its close proximity to the reception hall for a wedding we were attending. I checked in and my room had the strongest smoke odor I've ever encountered in a hotel room. The AC was cranking so I hoped that would help lessen the smell by the time we would return from our event.

Shortly after checking in, I was getting ready for our event when I heard someone inserting a key card into our door. The door flew open and there was a staff member staring back at me. Mortified as I had JUST gotten dressed, she apologized and said she was just looking for an empty room with a king bed. She hadn't known the room had been given out yet. Maybe they should have a policy where they KNOCK first?

After our event, we returned around 1:30 am and my husband was completely disgusted as well with the odor. Since this was the first time he had been in the room, he called the front desk and asked to be moved to a new one. They refused saying they were completely booked, but could of course bring us some 'spray' and would take $10 off our room. We ended up going down the hall to my sister's room and sleeping in her extra bed. Her room smelled like a mixture of mildew/smoke too, but it was much more tolerable than ours.

The icing on the cake is when we crawled into bed, the sheets were wet! It was disgusting and it reminded me of camping. My husband went to the front desk the next morning to try to get our room paid for. We were told the best they could do for us would be to knock $60 off our $100 room. Excuse me, you're still going to make us pay for a room we didn't even sleep in???

I plan on following up during business hours to speak with a manager regarding this as it was by far one of the worse hotel experiences I've ever encountered.

Bottom line is if you're going to the Pinnacle Center and plan on getting wasted, you'll probably be able to pass out here and be ok. There's no bars near by and we ended up driving to Grandville after the reception. However, I'm nearly 6 months pregnant and could not tolerate the horrible odors or wet sheets. We completely regret not driving home and wasting our money on this stay.

For a hotel that is probably surviving solely on the fact that the Pinnacle Center does so many events, they could definitely stand to do some major renovations and updating to their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edowns88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudsonville
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 4 in Grandville
105 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grandvillage Inn
Grandvillage Inn
#4 of 4 in Grandville
114 reviews
12.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
823 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hudsonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hudsonville

Property: Quality Inn Hudsonville
Address: 3301 Highland Dr, Hudsonville, MI 49426-1914 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn Hudsonville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Hudsonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hudsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hudsonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Hudsonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hudsonville Hotel Hudsonville
Hudsonville Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing